

Leadership, Ex-officio non-voting members			
Chair of the System CouncilJuergen Voegele Ph.D(Serves for a 4-year term effective from 12 July 2016)Senior Director, Agriculture World Bank			
Co-Chair	Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members		

### 20 Voting members, July 2016 – June 2019

#### \* Denotes one of the five developing country constituencies of the System Council

No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
1	African Development Bank	<b>Dr. Chiji Ojukwu</b> Director of Agriculture	Mr. Ken Johm Lead Agricultural Economist
2	Australia	Mr. Andrew Campbell Chief Executive Officer Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	Ms. Mellissa Wood General Manager, Global Programs ACIAR
3	Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Mr. Tony Cavalieri Ph.D Senior Program Officer, Agriculture Development	
4	Canada	Mr. Michel Gagnon Director, Food Security Division Global Issues and Development Branch Global Affairs Canada	Mr. Christophe Kadji Deputy Director, Global Programs and Initiatives Food Security Division Global Issues and Development Branch Global Affairs Canada
5	East Asia and Pacific* (China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand)	CHINA <b>Dr. Gong Xifeng</b> Director of International Cooperation Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)	INDONESIA Dr. Henry Bastaman MES Head of Research, Development and Innovation Agency, Ministry of Environment and Forestry



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
6	European Commission	Mr Bernard Rey Deputy Head of Unit, Unit C1 – Rural Development, Food Security, Nutrition – European Commission, DG International Cooperation and Development	
7	Germany and Belgium	Mr. Dr. Stefan Schmitz Head of Directorate 12, Food, Agriculture and Rural Development, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development	Dr. Nathalie Francken Advisor to the Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation
8	Japan	Ms. Satomi Okagaki Senior Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan	Ms. Masashi Takizawa Deputy Director Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Japan Global Issues Cooperation Division
9	Latin America and Caribbean* (Brazil, Colombia and Peru)	COLOMBIA <b>Mr. Juan Lucas Restrepo Ibiza</b> Executive Director Corporación Colombiana de Investigación Agropecuaria (CORPOICA)	PERU Dr. Benjamin Quijandria Vice Minister of Agriculture of Peru
10	Mexico	Mr. Jorge Rueda Sousa Minister Counselor of Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU	Mr. Miguel Narvaez Agricultural Counselor for Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU
11	Netherlands	Mr. Melle Leenstra (PhD) Senior Policy Officer Food & Nutrition Research	



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
12	Norway	<b>Mr. Daniel van Gilst</b> Senior Adviser Norad	
13	<b>South Asia*</b> (Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka)	INDIA <b>Mr. Shri Chhabilendra Roul</b> AS(D) & Secretary, ICAR Dept. of Agricultural Research & Education Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare	BANGLADESH (July 2016 – December 2017) Dr. Abul Kalam Azad Executive Chairman, Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council SRI LANKA (January 2018 – June 2019)
14	<b>Sub-Saharan Africa*</b> (Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)	NIGERIA <b>Prof. Ambrose Voh (Jnr)</b> Acting Executive Secretary Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria	KENYA Dr. Eliud Kireger Director General Kenya Agricultural & Livestock Research Organization (KALRO)
15	Sweden	Mr. Philip Chiverton Associate Professor Research Secretary Unit of Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency	Dr. Renée Ankarfjärd Research Secretary
16	Switzerland	Mr. Michel Evéquoz Senior Advisor Global Program Food Security Swiss Development Cooperation	
17	United Kingdom	<b>Mr. Alan Tollervey</b> Team Leader Agriculture Research, Research and Evidence Division, DFID	Mr. Howard Standen DFID



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
18	United States	Mr. Robert Bertram Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security USAID	Mr. Eric Witte Senior International Affairs Specialist USAID
19	West Asia & North Africa* (Turkey and Iran; Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)	TURKEY <b>Dr. Nevzat Birişik</b> Director General Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Livestock General Directorate of Agricultural Research and Policies	IRAN Prof. Javad Mozafari Director General, Academic Relations and International Affairs Agricultural Research, Education and Extension Organization
20	World Bank	<b>Mr. Mark Cackler</b> Practice Manager Global Practice for Agriculture	

#### Ex-officio non-voting members

The following 6 System Council seats are additional to the 2 ex-officio non-voting members held by the System Council Chair and the Co-Chair, the latter of whom is appointed by the System Council each meeting from amongst the voting members.

\*\* Denotes Interim appointment for 2<sup>nd</sup> System Council meeting

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
21	Chair of the System Management Board	Dr. Marco Ferroni	
22	Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization	Mr. Elwyn Grainger-Jones, Executive Director	
23	Representative appointed by the Centers - 1	Ms. Nicole Birrell Convener of the Center Board Chairs	



No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
24	Representative appointed by the Centers - 2	<b>Dr. Matthew Morell</b> Convener of the Center Directors General	
25	Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations	<b>Dr. Ren Wang</b> Assistant Director General	Samy Gaiji AGDR Head Research and Extension
26	International Fund for Agricultural Development	<b>Mr. Perin Saint Ange</b> Associate Vice President Programme Management Department	Malu Ndavi Lead Technical Specialist Programme Management Department

#### Active Observers

Active Observers have the right to participate in deliberations of the System Council and to propose agenda items and make presentations for such deliberations. Active Observers do not have the right to vote.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
27	Global Forum on Agricultural Research	Ms. Bongiwe N. Njobe GFAR Chair	Dr. Mark Holderness GFAR Executive Secretary
28	CGIAR Independent Evaluation Arrangement	Ms. Rachel Sauvinet-Bedouin Head, IEA	
29	CGIAR Independent Science and Partnership Council	<b>Prof. Maggie Gill</b> ISPC Chair	

#### Invited Guests

*Representatives of each of the following are invited to System Council meetings:* 

- France, in its capacity as the Host Country of the CGIAR System Organization
- The World Bank, in its capacity as trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund
- The Chair of the System Council's Audit and Risk Committee (if that person is not already a member of the System Council)