

Leadership, Ex-officio non-voting members			
Chair of the System CouncilJuergen Voegele Ph.D(Serves for a 4-year term effective from 12 July 2016)Senior Director, Agriculture World Bank			
Co-Chair	Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members		

20 Voting members, July 2016 – June 2019

* Denotes one of the five developing country constituencies of the System Council

No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
1	African Development Bank	Dr. Chiji Ojukwu Director of Agriculture	Mr. Ken Johm Lead Agricultural Economist
2	Australia	Mr. Andrew Campbell Chief Executive Officer Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	Ms. Mellissa Wood General Manager, Global Programs ACIAR
3	Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Member nomination pending	Mr. Tony Cavalieri Ph.D Senior Program Officer, Agriculture Development
4	Canada	Mr. Michel Gagnon Director, Food Security Division Global Issues and Development Branch Global Affairs Canada	Mr. Christophe Kadji Deputy Director, Global Programs and Initiatives Food Security Division Global Issues and Development Branch Global Affairs Canada
5	East Asia and Pacific* (China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand)	CHINA Dr. Feng Dongxin Director of International Cooperation Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)	INDONESIA



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
6	European Commission	Mr Bernard Rey Deputy Head of Unit, Unit C1 – Rural Development, Food Security, Nutrition – European Commission, DG International Cooperation and Development	
7	Germany (and Belgium)	Mr. Dr. Stefan Schmitz Head of Directorate 12, Food, Agriculture and Rural Development, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development	
8	Japan	Ms. Satomi OKAGAKI Senior Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan	Ms. Masashi TAKIZWA Deputy Director Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Government of Japan Global Issues Cooperation Division
9	Latin America and Caribbean* (Brazil, Colombia and Peru)	Member nomination pending	
10	Mexico	Mr. Jorge Rueda Sousa Minister Counselor of Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU	Mr. Miguel Narvaez Agricultural Counselor for Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU
11	Netherlands	Mr. Marcellinus Beukeboom Head, Food & Nutrition Security Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Mr. Melle Leenstra (PhD) Senior Policy Officer Food & Nutrition Research
12	Norway	Daniel van Gilst Senior Adviser Norad	



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
13	South Asia* (Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka)	INDIA Shri Chhabilendra Roul AS(D) & Secretary, ICAR Dept. of Agricultural Research & Education Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare	BANGLADESH (July 2016 – December 2017) Dr. Abul Kalam Azad Executive Chairman, Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council SRI LANKA (January 2018 – June 2019)
14	Sub-Saharan Africa* (Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)	NIGERIA Prof. Baba Yusuf Abubakar Executive Secretary Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria	KENYA Dr. Eliud Kireger Director General Kenya Agricultural & Livestock Research Organization (KALRO)
15	Sweden	Philip Chiverton Associate Professor Research Secretary Unit of Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency	Renée Ankarfjärd Research Secretary
16	Switzerland	Michel Evéquoz Senior Advisor Global Program Food Security Swiss Development Cooperation	
17	United Kingdom	Alan Tollervey Team Leader Agriculture Research, Research and Evidence Division, DFID	
18	United States	Robert Bertram Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security USAID	Eric Witte Senior International Affairs Specialist USAID



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
19	West Asia & North Africa* (Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)	TURKEY Dr. Nevzat Birişik Director General Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Livestock General Directorate of Agricultural Research and Policies	IRAN Prof. Javad Mozafari Director General, Academic Relations and International Affairs Agricultural Research, Education and Extension Organization
20	World Bank	Mr. Mark Cackler Practice Manager Global Practice for Agriculture	

Ex-officio non-voting members

The following 6 System Council seats are additional to the 2 ex-officio non-voting members held by the System Council Chair and the Co-Chair, the latter of whom is appointed by the System Council each meeting from amongst the voting members.

** Denotes Interim appointment for 2nd System Council meeting

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
21	Chair of the System Management Board	Prof. Dr Martin Kropff, Interim Chair, System Management Board	
22	Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization	Mr. Elwyn Grainger-Jones, Executive Director	
23	Representative appointed by the Centers - 1	To be appointed	
24	Representative appointed by the Centers - 2	To be appointed	



No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
25	Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations	Dr. Ren Wang Assistant Director General	
26	International Fund for Agricultural Development	Perin Saint Ange Associate Vice President Programme Management Department	

Active Observers

Active Observers have the right to participate in deliberations of the System Council and to propose agenda items and make presentations for such deliberations. Active Observers do not have the right to vote.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
27	Global Forum on Agricultural Research	Mr. Juan Lucas Restrepo Ibiza Executive Director of the Colombian Corporation of Agricultural Research (Corpoica)	
28	CGIAR Independent Evaluation Arrangement	Ms. Rachel Sauvinet-Bedouin Head, IEA	
29	CGIAR Independent Science and Partnership Council	Prof. Maggie Gill ISPC Chair	

Invited Guests

Representatives of each of the following are invited to System Council meetings:

- France, in its capacity as the Host Country of the CGIAR System Organization
- The World Bank, in its capacity as trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund
- The Chair of the System Council's Audit and Risk Committee (if hat person is not already a member of the System Council)