

# Record of decisions<sup>1</sup>

### System Management Board Closed session deliberations, 24 and 28 July 2020

### Part A - Background

- 1. Pursuant to article 9.9 of the Charter of the CGIAR System Organization ('Charter')<sup>2</sup>, the System Management Board ('SMB') met via closed session over the course of two virtual sessions on Friday 24 and Tuesday 28 July 2020 to consider the report and recommendations of the SMB's ad hoc Search Committee ('AHSC') on a proposed inaugural Executive Management Team for CGIAR and related considerations.
- 2. Pursuant to Paragraph 15 of the SMB-approved <u>Terms of Reference for the AHSC</u>, the SMB agreed that the deliberations on the Executive Management Team would be amongst only the six non-Director General voting members of the SMB, and that only those members of the SMB would receive the AHSC report, which would be held as an in-confidence record of the SMB. This earlier 19 May 2020 decision of the full SMB amended the standing quorum requirements for SMB meetings (set out at Article 9.3 of the Charter). Both closed sessions were quorate.
- 3. On the invitation of the Chair, and with the agreement of the other SMB members present, also in attendance were the SMB Secretary; representatives of the AHSC-appointed recruitment firm as subject matter experts; and an operational support officer.
- 4. Prior to the SMB's deliberations, to ensure objectivity and confidentiality to the same standard already adopted by the AHSC, each SMB member signed a declaration of independence and confidentiality and declared any potential conflicts or instances of attempted lobbying in advance of the meetings. The contract with the external recruitment firm, and the operational staff, were bound by similar duties of confidence and independence.
- 5. The SMB agreed that the AHSC report met the requirements of paragraph 15 of the Terms of Reference for the AHSC, building on the <u>EMT Candidate Information Pack</u>, and thanked the AHSC members through the Chair of the AHSC.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Prepared pursuant to Article 9.9 of the Charter of the CGIAR System Organization, and article 9.2 b) of the <u>Rules of</u> <u>Procedure</u> of the System Management Board. Issued by the SMB Secretary under the authority of the SMB Chair.

 <sup>&</sup>lt;u>https://cgspace.cgiar.org/bitstream/handle/10947/4370/Charter%20CGIAR%20Organization.pdf?sequence=11</u>

The meeting recalled that by decision of the General Assembly of Centers effective on
 6 July 2020<sup>3</sup> the SMB was authorized take an appointment decision on the inaugural
 Executive Management Team for CGIAR under Article 8.2 of the Charter.

#### Part B - Record of decisions taken by the SMB

**<u>SMB/M17A/DP1</u>**: The System Management Board:

- i. <u>Agreed to appoint</u> the following three persons to form the inaugural CGIAR Executive Management Team for a two-year term from 1 September 2020:
  - <u>Claudia Sadoff</u>, as EMT Convener, and Managing Director, Research Delivery and Impact,
  - <u>Elwyn Grainger-Jones</u>, as Managing Director, Institutional Strategy and Systems, and
  - <u>Kundhavi Kadiresan</u>, as Managing Director, Global Engagement and Innovation.
- ii. <u>Confirmed</u> the accountability and reporting line of the three Managing Directors as being direct to the SMB and their employment by the CGIAR System Organization from the 1 September start date, with the opportunity to review the geographic distribution of the EMT members based on arising operational needs after commencement; and
- iii. <u>Delegated</u> to the SMB Chair, the authority to finalize contractual terms with the three proposed appointees on the principle of equality in salary; announce the appointment decision on behalf of the SMB across CGIAR; and take such other steps as appropriate to ensure an on-time commencement of the Executive Management Team.

SMB Members*	
Marco Ferroni	Voting member and SMB Chair
Isatou Jallow	Voting member and AHSC member
Kanayo F. Nwanze	Voting member
Namanga Ngongi	Voting member and AHSC Chair
Hilary Wild	Voting member
Yvonne Pinto	Voting member

## Part C - List of participants

\* SMB voting members who also serve as Center Directors General recused themselves from deliberations and decisionmaking on this matter and were therefore not in attendance. None of the SMB's non-voting members or active observers were in attendance, by prior agreement of the SMB.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> <u>General Assembly Decision Reference GA/M3A/EDP7</u>: Pursuant to Article 8.2 of the Charter of the CGIAR System Organization and in furtherance of the implementation of One CGIAR, a key element of which is the appointment of a One CGIAR Executive Management Team ("EMT") with, initially, three Managing Directors, the General Assembly authorized the System Management Board to:

<sup>•</sup> Appoint the inaugural EMT pursuant to the timetable set out in the EMT Candidate Information Pack; and

Put in place initial delegations of authorities to the EMT consistent with part C.i of the EMT Candidate Information
Pack that will remain in place until such time as the One CGIAR Common Board becomes operational and agreed
delegations of authority as between the EMT and Directors General based on relevant SMB and Center/Alliance
board decisions come into effect.

#### Invited subject matter experts

Natasha Zoltie	Senior Consultant, Perrett Laver (28 July)
Siobhan Doherty	Senior Consultant, Perrett Laver (24 July)

#### SMB Secretary and operational support

Karmen Bennett	Secretary to the System Management Board, and
	Director, Board and Council Relations, CGIAR System Organization
Olwen Cussen	Board and Council Relations Officer, CGIAR System Organization