10th System Council meeting

10-11 June 2020 – Virtual



Participants list

Chair: Juergen Voegele, Vice President for Sustainable Development, World Bank

Members and Alternates

Constituency/Country	Name	Role
AfDB	Martin Fregene	Member
Australia	Andrew Campbell	Member
	Julianne Biddle	Alternate
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Tony Cavalieri	Member
	Rinn Self	Additional delegate
Canada	Stephen Potter	Member
	Alexandra Johnson	Alternate
	Santiago Alba Corral	Additional delegate
East Asia and Pacific	Hao Weiping	Member (China)
	Zhai Lin	Additional delegate (China)
	Yanzhou Qi	Additional delegate (China)
European Commission	Christophe Larose	Member
Germany & Belgium	Sebastian Lesch	Member (Germany)
	Carol Durieux	Alternate (Belgium)
	Michel Bernhardt	Additional delegate (Germany)
	René Franke	Additional delegate (Germany)
Japan	Koichi Nakagawa	Member
	Motoaki Komiya	Alternate
	Masa Iwanaga	Additional delegate
	Hiroshi Honjo	Additional delegate
	Shintaro Kobayashi	Additional delegate
Latin America and Caribbean	Jorge Mario Diaz Luengas	Member (Colombia)
	Pedro Machado	Alternate (Brazil)
The Netherlands	Wijnand van IJssel	Member
Norway	Even Stormoen	Member
	Daniel van Gilst	Alternate
South Asia	Trilochan Mohapatra	Member (India)
Sub-Saharan Africa	Garba Sharubutu	Member (Nigeria)
Sweden	AnnaMaria Oltorp	Member
	Philip Chiverton	Alternate
	AnnaKarin Norling	Additional delegate
Switzerland	Michel Evéquoz	Member
United Kingdom of Great Britain and	Alan Tollervey	Member
Northern Ireland		
United States of America	Rob Bertram	Member
	Eric Witte	Alternate
West Asia & North Africa	Rasoul Zare	Member (Iran)
	İlhan Aydın	Alternate (Turkey)
	Merve Altan	Additional delegate (Turkey)
World Bank	Mark Cackler	Member
	Michael Morris	Alternate

Non-voting Ex-Officio Members

Organization/Role	Name
System Management Board, Chair	Marco Ferroni
System Organization, Executive Director	Elwyn Grainger-Jones
Center Representative 1: Convener of the Chairs of Center Boards of Trustees	Nicole Birrell
Center Representative 2: Convener of the Center Directors General	Gareth Johnstone
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Bukar Tijani (Member)
	Selvaraju Ramasamy (Alternate)
International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)	Malu Ndavi (Alternate)

Active Observers

Organization/Role	Name
CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council (ISDC)	Holger Meinke (Chair)

Invited guests

Organization/Role	Name
Trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund (the World Bank)	Darius Stangu
	Chalida Chararnsuk
	Jorge Fuentes Lanza
	Lydia Tietz
	Marizmelda Dugayo
France, Chair of CRAI (Commission de la Recherche Agricole Internationale)	Bernard Hubert
France, Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation	Frederic Lapeyrie
CGIAR System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee (AOC), Chair	Saad Bounjoua
CGIAR Standing Panel on Impact Assessment (SPIA), Chair	Karen Macours

Additional Invitees

Organization	Name
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Ireland	Chris Sommerville
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Denmark	Mike Speirs
CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council (ISDC)	Andrew Ash
CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council (ISDC)	Chris Barrett

Session specific invitees

Organization	Name
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	James Birch - Agenda item 6 only
United States of America	Maura Barry – Agenda item 4
	only
MOPAN	Mitch Levine; Francis Watkins -
	Agenda item 4 only

Unconfirmed as of 10 June 2020

Members		
Constituency/Country	Name	Role
Mexico	Jorge Rueda Souza	Member
	Miguel Narvaez	Alternate
Active Observers		
Global Forum on Agricultural Research (GFAR)	GFAR Chair or designat	te

SC Secretary

Karmen Bennett, Secretary to the System Council, and Director, Board and Council Relations, CGIAR System Organization

Technical resource/operational support

Organization	Name/Role
European Initiative for Agricultural Research	Nathalie Oberson, Executive Secretary
for Development (EIARD)	
World Bank	Jonathan Wadsworth, Lead Climate Change Specialist
CGIAR Advisory Services Shared Secretariat	Allison Grove Smith, Director
CGIAR System	Madina Bazarova, Head, Internal Audit Function
CGIAR System Organization	Jamie Craig, Director, Financial and Digital Services
(Technical inputs for sessions; meeting	Elise Perset, Director, Legal and Office Services
management; logistics support)	Sonja Vermeulen, Director, Programs
	André Zandstra, Director, Funder and External Engagement
	Kristina Röing de Nowina, Deputy Director, Funder and External
	Engagement
	Andrew Smith, Deputy Director, Board and Council Relations
	Georgios Solomos, Senior Advisor, Risk Management
	Roland Sundstrom, Senior Advisor, Executive Director's Office
	Nadia Manning-Thomas, Board and Council Relations Manager
	Olwen Cussen, Board and Council Relations Coordinator
	Victoria Pezzi, Meetings and Events Coordinator

Session specific technical resource/operational support

Organization	Name/Role
CGIAR Advisory Services Shared Secretariat	Amy Beaudreault, Senior Manager - Agenda item 4 only
CGIAR System Organization	Jules Colomer, Senior Manager, Results & Program Performance
(Technical inputs for sessions; meeting	Agenda Item 4 only
management; logistics support)	Ekaterina Krivonos, Deputy Director, Programs -
	Agenda item 2 only