

Special notice on 'Consent Agenda' status of this document

This item is presented to the System Council according to Article 7.1(a) of the System Council's Rules of Procedure, permitting a 'consent agenda' consisting of items that require formal System Council decision but are submitted as a group for adoption by the System Council without discussion.

<u>Further to the rules of procedure</u>, should a System Council member or Active Observer wish to remove an individual item from the Consent Agenda, that request should be communicated to the Secretary of the System Council by close of business Paris time on Wednesday 3 June 2020. Matters not so removed, will be taken as a group, and approved together, rather than separate items.

Document: SC10-09 Issued: 27 May 2020

Membership of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee

<u>Purpose</u>: This document sets out the background and rationale for a proposed extension of the term of two of the five members of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee, to provide for continuity of membership during implementation of One CGIAR.

Action requested: The System Council is requested as part of the SC10 Consent Agenda, to approve the following decision point:

The System Council <u>approves</u> the extension of the membership terms of Saad Bounjoua and Maurice Goddard on the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee to 30 June 2021 (to align with the end of an initial 3 year term), unless earlier determined by the System Council.

<u>Document category</u>: Working document of the CGIAR System Council. This document can be shared without restriction

Prepared by: CGIAR System Management Office



1. Background: Current Membership

The Terms of Reference for the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee ('AOC') provide for a maximum <u>five</u> persons, with a <u>majority of independent members</u> and others selected from the System Council's voting member constituencies

Member

Saad Bounjoua (Independent), Chair

Maurice Goddard (Independent)

Muriel Uzàn (Independent)

Daniel van Gilst (Norway)

Stephen Potter (Canada)

Term

Until 31 July 2020

Until 31 July 2020

Until 31 July 2021

Until 30 June 2021

Until 31 December 2020

1st term of two independent members due to shortly expire



2. Basis of recommendation to extend terms until 30 June 2021

Background

- The AOC was formed in 2018, with the initial terms of its three independent members approved with effect from July 2018.
- At that time, it was thought prudent to include some staggering of the terms of the independent members to allow for flexibility in membership rotations, to be revisited at an appropriate moment.

Movement to One CGIAR

- Transition Advisory Group 3 Unified Governance ('TAG-3') has within its mandate, reflecting on, and advising the Transition Consultation Forum, on what an optimal approach to audit and assurance work might be under One CGIAR. The views of the independent AOC members, via the AOC Chair (Saad Bounjoua), are an important consultation point into this process.
- The AOC Chair is also a standing member of TAG-1 (Cross-cutting matters) and is working closely with the SMB's Audit and Risk Committee on overall system-wide risk management.

Extension permissible under Article 9 - AOC Terms of Reference

• All members can serve terms of up to three years. This extension proposal is in line with that Article.