

Leadership,	Ev officio	non voting	mamhars
Leauer Silip,	EX-OTTICIO	HOH-VOLING	IIIGIIIDGI S

Chair of the System Council (Serving a second 4-year term effective from 12 July 2020)

Co-Chair

Juergen Voegele

Vice President for Sustainable Development, World Bank

Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members

20 Voting members, July 2016 – June 2021*

^{**} Denotes one of the five developing country constituencies of the System Council

No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
1	African Development Bank	Martin Fregene Director of Agriculture	Ken Johm Lead Agricultural Economist
2	Australia	Andrew Campbell Chief Executive Officer, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	Julianne Biddle Director Multilateral Engagement, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)
3	Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Tony Cavalieri Senior Program Officer, Agriculture Development	Enock Chikava Deputy Director, Agriculture Development
4	Canada	Stephen Potter Director, Agriculture and Food Systems Division, Global Issues and Development Branch, Global Affairs Canada	Alexandra Johnson Senior Policy Advisor, Agriculture and Food Systems Division, Global Issues and Development Branch, Global Affairs Canada
5	East Asia and Pacific** (China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand)	CHINA (July 2016-End 2019) Hao Weiping Deputy Director General, Department of International Cooperation (CAAS)	INDONESIA (July 2016-End 2019) Djati Wicaksono Director of Research Center for Social Economy Policy and Climate Change

^{*} Based on decision SC/M7/DP4 to extend reconciliation of Funder seating



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
6	European Commission	Christophe Larose Head of Sustainable agriculture sector, DEVCO C1, European Commission	
7	Germany and Belgium	Sebastian Lesch Head of Division "International Agricultural Policy, Agriculture, Innovation", Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development	Carol Durieux Attaché, expert agriculture, food security and water, FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation
8	Japan	Koichi Nakagawa Negotiator, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation, Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Fumiaki Sato Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation, Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
9	Latin America and Caribbean** (Brazil, Colombia and Peru)	COLOMBIA (2020) Jorge Mario Diaz Luengas Executive Director, Agrosavia, The Colombian Corporation for Agricultural Research	BRAZIL (2020) Pedro Luiz Oliveira de Almeida Machado Coordinator, Embrapa Labex Europe, Brazilian Agriculture Research Corporation, Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Food Supply
10	Mexico	Jorge Rueda Sousa Minister Counselor of Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU	Miguel Narvaez Agricultural Counselor for Mexico's Agricultural Office for Europe / SAGARPA Mission of Mexico to the EU
11	The Netherlands	Wijnand van IJssel Knowledge Policy Coordinator Food Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
12	Norway	Even Stormoen Senior Adviser, Section of Energy, Climate and Food Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Daniel van Gilst Senior Adviser, Norad
13	South Asia** (Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka)	INDIA T. Mohapatra Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)	BANGLADESH (2020-2021) SRI LANKA (Jan. 2018-End 2019)
14	Sub-Saharan Africa** (Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)	NIGERIA (July 2016-End 2019) Garba Hamidu Sharubutu Executive Secretary of the Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria (ARCN)	SUDAN (Jan. 2018-End 2019) Adil Omer Salih Abdelrahim Acting Director General, Agricultural Research Corporation KENYA (July 2016-Dec. 2017)
15	Sweden	AnnaMaria Oltorp Head, Unit for Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)	Philip Chiverton Senior Consultant to Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA) on CGIAR matters, C/O Unit of Research Cooperation
16	Switzerland	Michel Evéquoz Senior Advisor, Global Program Food Security Swiss Development Cooperation	
17	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Alan Tollervey Team Leader, Agriculture Research, Research and Evidence Division, DFID	Howard Standen Climate Change (Resilience and Inclusion) Adviser, DFID



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
18	United States	Robert Bertram Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security, USAID	Eric Witte Senior International Affairs Specialist, USAID
19	West Asia & North Africa** (Turkey and Iran; Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)	IRAN (From 1 July 2018) Rasoul Zare Vice President, Agricultural Research, Education & Extension Organization (AREEO)	TURKEY (From 1 July 2018) ilhan Aydın Deputy Director General, Agricultural Research and Policies, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (Note: previously member from July 2016-June 2018)
20	World Bank	Mark Cackler Practice Manager Global Practice for Agriculture	

Ex-officio non-voting members

The following 6 System Council seats are additional to the 2 ex-officio non-voting members held by the System Council Chair and the Co-Chair, the latter of whom is appointed by the System Council each meeting from amongst the voting members.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
21	Chair of the System Management Board	Marco Ferroni	
22	Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization	Elwyn Grainger-Jones Executive Director	
23	Representative appointed by the Centers - 1	Nicole Birrell Convener of the Center Board Chairs	
24	Representative appointed by the Centers - 2	Gareth Johnstone Convener of the Center Directors General	



No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
25	Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations	Bukar Tijani Assistant Director-General, Agriculture and Consumer Protection Department (AG)	Selvaraju Ramasamy Head, Research and Extension Unit (AGDR)
No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
26	International Fund for	Paul Winters	Malu Ndavi

Active Observers

Active Observers have the right to participate in deliberations of the System Council and to propose agenda items and make presentations for such deliberations. Active Observers do not have the right to vote.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
27	Global Forum on Agricultural Research	GFAR Chair (or designate)	
28	CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council	Holger Meinke ISDC Chair Strategic Research Professor for Global Food Sustainability, University of Tasmania	

Invited Guests

Representatives of each of the following are invited to System Council meetings:

- France, in its capacity as the Host Country of the CGIAR System Organization
- The Chair of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee
- The Chair of the Standing Panel on Impact Assessment
- The Trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund (the World Bank)