

**Special notice on 'Consent Agenda' status of this document** This item is presented to the System Council according to Article 7.1(a) of the System Council's Rules of Procedure, permitting a 'consent agenda' consisting of items that require formal System Council decision but are submitted as a group for adoption by the System Council without discussion.

<u>Further to the rules of procedure</u>, should a System Council member or Active Observer wish to remove an individual item from the Consent Agenda, that request should be communicated to the Secretary of the System Council by close of business Paris time on Wednesday 2 June 2021. Matters not so removed, will be taken as a group, and approved together, rather than separate items.

Document SC13-06a

For approval Issued: 26 May 2021

# Membership terms of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee

**Purpose**: This document sets out the background and rationale for a proposed extension of four members of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee, to provide for continuity of membership during implementation of One CGIAR.

Action requested: The System Council is requested review, and if thought appropriate, approve the following decision point on a no objection basis:

The System Council <u>approves</u> the extension of the terms of the following membership on the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee until 30 June 2022, unless earlier determined by the System Council:

- Saad Bounjoua
- Maurice Goddard
- Muriel Uzàn
- Daniel van Gilst

**Document category**: Working document of the CGIAR System Council. This document can be shared without restriction **Prepared by**: CGIAR System Council Secretariat



## 1. Background: Current Membership and ToR Provisions

- The Terms of Reference for the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee ('AOC') provide for a maximum <u>five</u> persons, with a <u>majority of</u> <u>independent members</u> and others selected from the System Council's voting member constituencies
- The Terms of Reference (in Article 9) provide:
  - That members shall serve on the committee for up to three years, and <u>shall serve until</u> <u>their successor shall be duly designated</u> or until such member's earlier resignation or removal by decision of the Council
  - That <u>AOC members may be renewed as</u> <u>determined by the Council</u>.

#### Member

Saad Bounjoua (**Independent**), <u>Chair</u> Maurice Goddard (**Independent**) Muriel Uzàn (**Independent**) Daniel van Gilst (Norway) Stephen Potter (Canada) **Term** Until 30 June 2021 Until 30 June 2021 Until 31 July 2021 Until 30 June 2021 Until 30 June 2021

- The AOC was formed in 2018 and has had its current complement of members since January 2019.
- The terms of three of the its members (including the Chair) were extended during 2020 out to end-June 2021 to provide for continuity in membership at a time of significant change for CGIAR.
- All current members' terms are due to expire in mid-2021.



## 2. Basis of recommendation to extend member terms

### Assurance needs under One CGIAR

- The AOC met on 19 March 2021, during which it discussed the need for work during the latter half of 2021 and into 2022 to evaluate the future assurance needs for the System Council, and future structures to provide oversight in this regard.
- That work will build on the work of Transition Advisory Group 3 ('TAG-3') and work on common Committees across the boards of CGIAR's legal entities (which is underway with a common Audit, Finance and Risk Committee for the System Organization and all One CGIAR Centers/Alliances taking up its mandate from 1 June 2021).
- **Continuity of stewardship and inputs** from the System Council's standing committees during the remainder of 2021 will be important over the coming months as future assurance needs and structures are considered.



## 3. Recommendation for System Council approval

- Stephen Potter has advised that due to a change in his role, he will not be able to continue under a renewed term. Noting the plans to evaluate the future assurance needs for the System Council, and future structures to provide oversight it is not proposed to appoint a replacement fifth member at this time for a relatively short term..
- It is therefore proposed to extend the terms of the following four AOC members until 30 June 2022, or earlier should a proposal on a future Committee structure and membership be put forward before that time:
  - Saad Bounjoua (Independent)
  - Maurice Goddard (Independent)
  - Muriel Uzàn (Independent)
  - Daniel van Gilst (Norway)

#### **Extension permissible under Article 9 - AOC Terms of Reference**

• Noting that members serve until their successors are appointed, and that renewal is at the discretion of the Council, this extension proposal is in line with the ToR.