

Laadarshin	Ly officia	non wating	mambara
Leadership,	EX-OHICIO	non-voung	members

Chair of the System Council (Serving a second 4-year term effective from 12 July 2020) Juergen Voegele

Vice President for Sustainable Development, World Bank

Co-Chair Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members

20 Voting members, July 2016 –2022*

^{**} Denotes one of the five developing country constituencies of the System Council

No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
1	African Development Bank	Martin Fregene Director Department of Agriculture and Agro-Industry	Laouali Garba Ag. Manager, Production, Research and Sustainability Division, Department of Agriculture and Agro-Industry
2	Australia	Andrew Campbell Chief Executive Officer, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	Julianne Biddle Director, Multilateral Engagement Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)
3	Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Ruben Echeverria Senior Advisor, Agriculture Development	Renee Lafitte Deputy Director, Crops R&D
4	Canada	Hong-Won Yu Director of Food Security Global Affairs Canada	Flora Mak Deputy Director Agriculture and Food Systems Division (MSF) Global Affairs Canada
5	East Asia and Pacific** (China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand)	CHINA Hao Weiping Deputy Director General, Department of International Cooperation, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)	INDONESIA Djati Wicaksono Director of Research Center for Social Economy Policy and Climate Change

^{*} Based on decision SC/M12/DP5 to extend reconciliation of Funder seating



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
6	European Commission	Christophe Larose Head of Sustainable agriculture sector, DEVCO C1, European Commission	
7	Germany and Belgium	Sebastian Lesch Head of Division, International Agricultural Policy, Agriculture, Innovation, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development	Carol Durieux Attaché, expert agriculture, food security and water, FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation
8	Japan	Akiko Tejima Senior Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Takuma Kojima Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
9	Latin America and Caribbean** (Brazil, Colombia and Peru)	BRAZIL (2022) Pedro Luiz Oliveira de Almeida Machado Coordinator, Embrapa Labex Europe, Brazilian Agriculture Research Corporation, Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Food Supply	COLOMBIA (2022) Jorge Mario Diaz Luengas Executive Director, AGROSAVIA
10	Mexico	Adriana Ivette Herrera Moreno Agricultural Attaché of the Mexican Mission to the European Union	
11	The Netherlands	Wijnand van IJssel Knowledge Policy Coordinator Food Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
12	Norway	Even Stormoen Senior Adviser, Section of Energy, Climate and Food Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Daniel van Gilst Senior Adviser, Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norad)
13	South Asia** (Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka)	INDIA Trilochan Mohapatra Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) & Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)	BANGLADESH (2020-2021) S.M. Bokhtiar Executive Chairman, Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council (BARC) SRI LANKA (Jan. 2018-end 2019)
14	Sub-Saharan Africa** (Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)	NIGERIA Garba Hamidu Sharubutu Executive Secretary Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria (ARCN)	KENYA (Jan. 2020-end 2021) Eliud Kireger Director General Kenya Agricultural & Livestock Research Organization (KALRO) SUDAN (Jan. 2018-end 2019)
15	Sweden	AnnaKarin Norling Senior Research Advisor, Unit for Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)	Philip Chiverton Consultant, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)
16	Switzerland	Michel Evéquoz Senior Advisor, Global Program Food Security, Swiss Development Cooperation	
17	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Alan Tollervey Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office (FCDO)	



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
18	United States	Robert Bertram Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security, United States Agency for International Development (USAID)	
19	West Asia & North Africa** (Turkey and Iran; Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)	TURKEY (From 1 July 2020) Nevzat Birişik Director General, TAGEM Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry	IRAN (From 1 July 2020) Mohammad Reza Balali Senior Advisor to the Deputy Minister and Head, Agricultural Research, Education & Extension Organization (AREEO) (Note: previously member from July 2018-June 2020)
20	World Bank	Martien Van Nieuwkoop Global Director, Agriculture and Food	Michael Morris Lead Agriculture Economist

Ex-officio non-voting members

The following 6 System Council seats are additional to the 2 ex-officio non-voting members held by the System Council Chair and the Co-Chair, the latter of whom is appointed by the System Council each meeting from amongst the voting members.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
21	Chair of the System Board	Marco Ferroni	
22	Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization	Khuloud Odeh Interim Executive Director	
23	Representative appointed by the Centers - 1	Elsa Murano Convener of the Center Board Chairs	
24	Representative appointed by the Centers - 2	Jean Balié Convener of the Center Directors General	



No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
25	Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations	Ismahane Elouafi Chief Scientist	Selvaraju Ramasamy Head, Research and Extension Unit (AGDR)
26	International Fund for Agricultural Development		Malu Ndavi Lead Technical Specialist Programme Management Department

Active Observers

Active Observers have the right to participate in deliberations of the System Council and to propose agenda items and make presentations for such deliberations. Active Observers do not have the right to vote.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
27	Global Forum on Agricultural Research	Ravi Khetarpal Chair	Hildegard Lingnau Executive Secretary
28	CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council	Holger Meinke ISDC Chair	

Invited Guests

Representatives of each of the following are invited to System Council meetings:

- France, in its capacity as the Host Country of the CGIAR System Organization
- The Chair of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee
- The Chair of the Standing Panel on Impact Assessment
- The Trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund (the World Bank)