

Leadership, Ex-officio non-voting members		
Chair of the System Council (Serving a second 4-year term effective from 12 July 2020)	Juergen Voegele Vice President for Sustainable Development, World Bank	
Co-Chair	Appointed by the System Council for each meeting from amongst its voting members	
23 Voting members*		

* As per the last update on 27 June 2024

** Denotes one of the five developing country constituencies of the System Council

*** Denotes Funders that meet the criteria as per Annex B, CGIAR System Framework

No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
1	African Development Bank	Martin Fregene Director Department of Agriculture and Agro-Industry	Innocent Musabyimana Chief Agricultural Technologies Officer and TAAT Coordinator
2	Australia	Wendy Umberger Chief Executive Officer, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)	Bosibori Bett Acting Director, Multilateral Engagement, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)
3	Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation	Ruben Echeverria Senior Advisor, Agriculture Development	Renee Lafitte Deputy Director, Crops R&D
4	Canada	Hong-Won Yu Director of Food Security Global Affairs Canada	Flora Mak Deputy Director Agriculture and Food Systems Division (MSF) Global Affairs Canada
5	Crop Trust & IFAD	Stefan Schmitz Executive Director of The Crop Trust	Ron Hartman Director for Global Engagement, IFAD
6	East Asia and Pacific** (China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, and Thailand)	CHINA Zhai Lin Deputy Director General, Department of International Cooperation, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS)	INDONESIA Pending confirmation of representation

CGIAR System Council Composition



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
7	European Commission	Christophe Larose Head of Sector – Sustainable Agriculture Directorate-General for International Partnerships European Commission	
8	Germany	Jens Busma Head of Agriculture, rural development, BMZ	Felicitas Röhrig Senior Policy Officer, BMZ
9	Latin America and Caribbean** (Brazil, Colombia and Peru)	PERU Christian Alejandro Garay Torres Vice-Minister of Agrarian Development Policy and Supervision	BRAZIL Pedro Luiz Oliveira de Almeida Machado Coordinator, Embrapa Labex Europe, Brazilian Agriculture Research Corporation. Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Food Supply
10	The Netherlands	Timmo Gaasbeek Senior Policy Officer Food Security, Department for Inclusive Green Growth, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	
11	Norway	Daniel van Gilst Senior Adviser, Department for Climate and Environment, Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norad)	Lutgart Lenaerts Senior Adviser, Department for Climate and Environment, Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norad)
12	South Asia** (India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka)	INDIA Himanshu Pathak Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), and Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)	BANGLADESH S.M. Bokhtiar Executive Chairman, Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council (BARC) SRI LANKA

CGIAR System Council Composition



No	Constituency/ Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
13	Sub-Saharan Africa** (Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda)	NIGERIA Garba Hamidu Sharubutu Executive Secretary Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria (ARCN)	KENYA Eliud Kireger Director General Kenya Agricultural & Livestock Research Organization (KALRO) SUDAN
14	Sweden	AnnaKarin Norling Senior Research Advisor, Unit for Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)	Madeleine Jönsson Unit for Research Cooperation, Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)
15	Switzerland	Manfred Kaufmann Global Programme Climate Change and Environment Swiss Development Cooperation (SDC)	
16	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Alan Tollervey Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office (FCDO)	
17	United States	Robert Bertram Chief Scientist, Bureau for Food Security, United States Agency for International Development (USAID)	Jerry Glover United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
18	West Asia & North Africa** (Türkiye and Iran; Member and Alternate rotates each 2 years)	TÜRKIYE Mustafa Altuğ Atalay Director General for Agriculture Research and Policies, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry	IRAN Mohammad Ali Ebrahimi Director General of Academic Relations and International affairs, Agricultural Research, Education & Extension Organization (AREEO)
19	World Bank	Renaud Seligmann Director of Strategy and Operations, Sustainable Development Practice Group	Julian Lampietti Manager, Global Engagement Agriculture and Food Global Practice

CGIAR System Council Composition



No	Constituency/Country	Member	Alternate (optional)
20	Belgium	Carol Durieux Attaché, expert agriculture, food security and water, FPS Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and Development Cooperation	
21	Denmark	Hanne Carus Chief Adviser, Department for Evaluation, Learning and Quality	
22	Ireland	Patrick McManus Deputy Director, Policy Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Ireland	
23	United Arab Emirates	Mariam Almheiri Chair, International Affairs Office, Presidential Court	Fatema AlMulla Director of Partnerships and Special Projects at the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment

Additional Temporary Voting members***

Ex-officio non-voting members

The following 5 System Council seats are additional to the 2 ex-officio non-voting members held by the System Council Chair and the Co-Chair, the latter of whom is appointed by the System Council each meeting from amongst the voting members.

No	Organization	Member	
24	Chair of the System Board	Lindiwe Majele Sibanda Chair of the CGIAR System Board	
25	Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization	Ismahane Elouafi CGIAR Executive Managing Director and Executive Director of the CGIAR System Organization	
26	Representative appointed by the Alliance/Centers - 1	Roel Merckx Representative of the Alliance/Center Board Chairs	
27	Representative appointed by the Alliance/Centers - 2	Mark Smith Representative of the Alliance/Center Directors General	
28	Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations	Selvaraju Ramasamy Head, Research and Extension Unit (AGDR) Pending nomination of official member	



Active Observers

Active Observers have the right to participate in deliberations of the System Council and to propose agenda items and make presentations for such deliberations. Active Observers do not have the right to vote.

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
30	Global Forum on Agricultural Research	Ravi Khetarpal Chair	Hildegard Lingnau Executive Secretary
31	CGIAR Independent Science for Development Council	Holger Meinke ISDC Chair	

Invited Guests

Representatives of each of the following are invited to System Council meetings:

No	Organization	Member	Alternate (optional)
32	France (holding voting rights)	Bernard Hubert Chair, CRAI (Commission pour la Recherche Agronomique Internationale)	Jean Albergel Executive Secretary, CRAI (Commission pour la Recherche Agronomique Internationale)
33	Japan	Akiko Tejima Senior Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs	Kosuke Minakuchi Deputy Director, Global Issues Cooperation Division, International Cooperation, Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
34	Mexico	Juan Bernardo Orozco Sanchez Director of Economic Studies of the Agri-Food Sector, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development	

- The Chair of the System Council's Assurance Oversight Committee
- The Chair of the Standing Panel on Impact Assessment
- The Trustee of the CGIAR Trust Fund (the World Bank)