# Regular Meeting of the Academic and Student Affairs Committee Wednesday, August 30, 2023 – 6:00 p.m.

#### **Trustees Present:**

Ms. Anntoinette White-Richardson, chair

Ms. Mignon Clyburn, trustee

Dr. Mildred Musgrove, trustee

Mr. Barrington Scott, trustee

President Maurice Edington, ex-officio

#### **Trustees Absent:**

Dr. Esther Barazzone, trustee

Dr. Charlene Drew Jarvis, trustee

Dr. Anthony Tardd, trustee

#### **Executive Cabinet Present:**

Lawrence T. Potter, Jr., Ph.D., chief academic officer
Kelly McMurray, Ph.D., chief of staff
William Latham, Ph.D., chief student development and success officer
Avis Russell, general counsel
David Franklin, chief operating officer

## **Staff Participants:**

Melba Broome, director, Learning Resources Division
Devdas Shetty, dean, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Denise Slaughter, special assistant, Office of the Chief Academic Officer

## **Call to Order and Roll Call**

Trustee Anntoinette White Richardson called the meeting to order at 6:04 p.m. Ms. Slaughter called the roll and determined a quorum was present.

## **Approval of Minutes**

Motion to approve the May 31, 2023 Academic and Student Affairs committee meeting minutes was presented and seconded. The motion carried unanimously, and the minutes were approved.

### **Action Items**

Dr. Potter introduced a resolution for tenure for faculty member in the Learning Resources Division, Professor Michael Fitzgerald. Dr. Broome then shared Professor Fitzgerald's qualifications and work at the University that led to his promotion and being presented for tenure. Trustee Scott made a motion to approve the resolution and it was seconded. The motion carried with a roll call vote.

Dr. Potter presented the resolution for the, "Establishment of A University Distinguished Chair In Energy Education." He said that the University was gifted \$250,00 from the Department of Energy in 1996 and the endowment has matured to allow the University to create the position and activities that involve energy education. The recommendation is to name Dr. Devdas Shetty as the inaugural chair. Dr. Musgrove made a motion to approve and it was seconded. The motion carried with a roll call vote.

### **Report from the Chief Academic Officer**

Dr. Potter shared a PowerPoint presentation that updated the trustees of the work within the academic units of the University. He talked about the five PhD graduates, new faculty members, faculty awards, and gave congratulations to faculty who received tenure and promotion. He gave an update on the Katherine G. Johnson Math Teacher Training Institute. He also talked about the work of the Colleges

within the University and highlighted grants received and research dollars awards. He concluded his report with an update on accreditation activities.

# Report from the Chief Student Development and Success Officer

Dr. Latham reported on a document shared with the Trustees that listed points of pride within the Office of Student Development and Success. He said the registration model had been redesigned and enrollment goals were met. He also talked about the students featured in the document. He updated the Trustees on improvements in the Navigate App and noted the work of staff within the division.

# **Closing Remarks**

There were continued comments and discussion around the reports. Trustee White Richardson thanked all for their participation and asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. A motion was made to adjourn, and it was seconded. Ms. Slaughter called roll on the motion to adjourn. The motion was approved unanimously.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:13 p.m.