

Providing Outstanding Service Since 1963

August 24, 2020

Raymond Tjulander, Vice Chair
Jane Nye, Director
Janna Orkney, Director
Leon Shapiro, Director

Board of Directors

James Wall, Chair

Board of Directors Triunfo Water & Sanitation District Ventura County, California

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – VENTURA LAFCO INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT REGULAR MEMBER

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended the Board:

- A. Receive the Ventura LAFCo letter of August 5, 2020, calling for nominations to fill the regular member position;
- B. If desired, direct staff to return to the next board meeting with a Resolution nominating a regular member to the Ventura LAFCo for Board adoption; and
- C. Authorize the General Manager to transmit the Resolution and required documents to Ventura LAFCo; or
- D. Provide alternate direction to staff.

SUMMARY

This call for nominations begins the process to elect one Ventura County Independent Special District member to serve on the Ventura County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) as a Regular Member.

BACKGROUND/ANALYSIS

The term of LAFCo special district regular member Mary Anne Rooney will expire on December 31, 2020. As such, an appointment must be made for the subsequent four-year term (January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2024) (Govt. Code § 56334). Pursuant to state law, LAFCo special district members are appointed by the independent special district selection committee, which consists of the presiding officer of the legislative body of each independent special district in the county (Govt. Code § 56332).

If the District wishes to nominate a Board member to be a candidate for the LAFCo regular member and alternate member, the District must do the following:

Board of Directors August 24, 2020 Page 2

- 1. Nominate one candidate for the position;
- 2. Adopt a resolution specifying the name of the nominee;
- 3. Submit the signed resolution and a candidate's statement or resume of no more than one page to the Executive Officer of Ventura LAFCo via certified mail (or email for districts that have previously consented).

The deadline for submitting elections is September 25, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. Enclosed is LAFCo's letter calling for nomination to fill the Special District regular member position.

FISCAL IMPACT

There is no financial impact to Triunfo Water & Sanitation District. LAFCo Commissioners are paid a stipend of \$50 per meeting, plus mileage reimbursement to and from meetings at \$0.575 per mile (current IRS standard mileage rate).

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me by phone at (805) 658-4642 or via email at JulietRodriguez@vrsd.com.

JULIET RODRIGUEZ - CLERK OF THE BOARD

REVIEWED AND APPROVED

Mark Norris, General Manager

Attachments: 1. August 5, 2020 LAFCo Correspondence

VENTURA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

801 S. VICTORIA AVENUE, SUITE 301 ● VENTURA, CA 93003
TEL (805) 654-2576 ● FAX (805) 477-7101
WWW.VENTURA.LAFCO.CA.GOV

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS LAFCO SPECIAL DISTRICT REGULAR MEMBER

August 5, 2020

Chair of the Board Triunfo Water & Sanitation District 1001 Partridge Dr. Ste 150 Ventura, CA 93003-0704

RE: CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – Ventura LAFCo Special District Regular Member

Dear Chair of the Board:

The term of LAFCo special district regular member Mary Anne Rooney will expire on December 31, 2020. As such, an appointment must be made for the subsequent four-year term (January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2024) (Govt. Code § 56334). Pursuant to state law, LAFCo special district members are appointed by the independent special district selection committee, which consists of the presiding officer of the legislative body of each independent special district in the county (Govt. Code § 56332).

Pursuant to Govt. Code 56332(f), I have determined that a meeting of the committee for the purpose of selecting a regular member to LAFCo is not feasible due to the likelihood that a quorum will not be achieved. Thus, both the nominating process and the election itself will be conducted by mail (some special districts have consented to conducting the election via electronic mail).

If your district wishes to nominate an individual to be a candidate for the regular member on LAFCo, please submit a nominating resolution (attached is a sample resolution for your use) and a candidate's statement or resume of no more than one page to Kai Luoma, Executive Officer, at Ventura LAFCo either by mail or via email (for those districts that have previously consented to email – see attached list).

The deadline for submitting nominating resolutions and candidate statements/resumes is 5 P.M., Friday, September 25, 2020. Any nomination submitted after the deadline will not be considered.

If at the end of the nominating period only one candidate is nominated, that candidate shall be deemed appointed. If two or more candidates are nominated, LAFCo staff will prepare and deliver a ballot and voting instructions to each eligible district. For the election to be valid, a quorum of the 29 independent special districts must submit valid ballots.

Chair of the Board, Triunfo Water & Sanitation District CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – Ventura LAFCo Special District Regular Member August 5, 2020

Page 2

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Please let me know if you have any questions or require additional information.

Sincerely,

Kai Luoma

Executive Officer

c: General Manager

VENTURA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

801 S. VICTORIA AVENUE, SUITE 301 • VENTURA, CA 93003
TEL (805) 654-2576 • FAX (805) 477-7101
WWW.VENTURA.LAFCO.CA.GOV

INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICTS IN VENTURA COUNTY

As of August 2020

- 1. Bardsdale Public Cemetery District
- 2. Bell Canyon Community Services District*
- 3. Blanchard/Santa Paula Library District*
- 4. Calleguas Municipal Water District
- 5. Camarillo Health Care District*
- 6. Camrosa Water District*
- 7. Casitas Municipal Water District
- 8. Channel Islands Beach Community Services District
- 9. Conejo Recreation & Park District*
- 10. El Rancho Simi Public Cemetery District
- 11. Fillmore-Piru Memorial District
- 12. Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency*
- 13. Hidden Valley Municipal Water District
- 14. Meiners Oaks Water District*
- 15. Ojai Valley Sanitary District*
- 16. Ojai Water Conservation District
- 17. Oxnard Drainage District No. 1*
- 18. Oxnard Drainage District No. 2*
- 19. Oxnard Harbor District*
- 20. Piru Public Cemetery District
- 21. Pleasant Valley County Water District
- 22. Pleasant Valley Recreation & Park District*
- 23. Rancho Simi Recreation & Park District
- 24. Saticoy Sanitary District*
- 25. Triunfo Sanitation District*
- 26. United Water Conservation District
- 27. Ventura County Resource Conservation District
- 28. Ventura Port District*
- 29. Ventura River County Water District*

^{*} Special Districts that have provided written consent to conduct the election via email as of August 5, 2020.

This page is intentionally blank