

Board of Directors Janna Orkney, Chair Susan Pan, Vice Chair Leon Shapiro, Director Raymond Tjulander, Director James Wall, Director

Providing Outstanding Service Since 1963

November 26, 2018

Board of Directors Triunfo Sanitation District Ventura County, California

BALLOT FOR ELECTION OF A SPECIAL DISTRICT REGULAR MEMBER AND AN ALTERNATE MEMBER TO THE VENTURA LAFCO

SUMMARY

This ballot is to elect one Ventura County Independent Special District member to serve on the Ventura County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) as a Regular Member and elect one Ventura County Independent Special District member to serve on LAFCo as an Alternate Member. The ballot must be returned by received by LAFCO by 5:00 p.m. Friday, December 14, 2018 to be counted.

FINANCIAL IMPACT

There is no financial impact to the Triunfo Sanitation District

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended the Board:

- A. Receive the Ventura Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) letter of October 23, 2018, with the Official Ballot for the election of a Special District Regular Member and a Special District Alternate Member to the Ventura LAFCO for new, four-year terms beginning January 1, 2019 and ending January 1, 2023; and;
- B. Vote for one of the two candidates to the Ventura Local Agency Formation Commission for election of a Special District Regular Member; and
- C. Vote for one of the three candidates to the Ventura Local Agency Formation Commission for election of a Special District Alternate Member; and
- D. Authorize the President to sign the ballot; and
- E. Direct staff to email a copy of the signed ballot to LAFCo.

Board of Directors November 26, 2018 Page 2

Please contact me at 805-658-4621 or email <u>marknorris@vrsd.com</u> if you have any questions or need additional information.

REVIEWED AND APPROVED:

Mark Norris - General Manager

Attachment: 1. October 23, 2018 LAFCo Correspondence



VENTURA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

County Government Center • Hall of Administration 800 S. Victoria Avenue, L# 1850 • Ventura, CA 93009 Tel (805) 654-2576 • Fax (805) 477-7101 www.ventura.lafco.ca.gov

October 23, 2018

President/Chair of the Board Triunfo Sanitation District 1001 Partridge Dr. Ste 150 Ventura, CA 93003-0704

RE: Ballot for Election of a Special District Regular Member and an Alternate Member to the Ventura LAFCo

Dear President/Chair of the Board:

Enclosed please find your <u>Official Ballot</u> for the election of a special district regular member and a special district alternate member to the Ventura LAFCo for new, four-year terms beginning January 1, 2019 and ending January 1, 2023. This election is being conducted by mail pursuant to California Government Code Section 56332 (or by email, if consent has been received by your District - see enclosed list of those districts which have consented to email). A total of two candidates have been nominated for the regular member position and three for the alternate position. The candidates are listed alphabetically on the Official Ballot and a copy of each candidate's statement is enclosed.

INSTRUCTIONS

- Use the enclosed Official Ballot to <u>vote for only one</u> candidate for each position.
- The Ballot must be signed and dated by the district president/chair or presiding officer.
- All ballots being returned via US Mail must be returned to the Ventura LAFCo at the address listed above. Districts that have previously consented to conduct elections via email can email a copy of the signed ballot to: <u>kai.luoma@ventura.org</u>.
- BALLOTS MUST BE RECEIVED BY 5:00 p.m. FRIDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2018. (Ballots received after 5:00 p.m. Friday, December 14, 2018 will not be counted.)

There are 30 independent special districts eligible to vote in this election. At least 16 districts must return completed/signed ballots to achieve a quorum. If a quorum is achieved, the candidate receiving the most votes for each position will be considered elected. In the event of a tie for the most votes, the outcome will be determined by lot. The election results will be mailed to each district no later than Friday, December 21, 2018. Please let us know if you have questions.

Sincerely,

Kai Luõma Executive Officer

Enclosures c: General Manager This page is intentionally blank

OFFICIAL BALLOT - 2018 INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICTS SELECTION COMMITTEE Regular Special District Member and Alternate Special District Member to the Ventura LAFCo

Triunfo Sanitation District

This is the Official Ballot for the Independent Special Districts Selection Committee for the purpose of electing the following positions to the Ventura LAFCo:

- 1. Elect one special district regular member to the Ventura LAFCo for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2019 and ending January 1, 2023; and
- **2.** Elect one special district alternate member to the Ventura LAFCo for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2019 and ending January 1, 2023.

The election consists of two candidates for the special district regular member and three candidates for the special district alternate member (listed below in alphabetical order). Please vote for only one candidate for each position. A minimum of 16 qualified votes must be returned by the deadline to establish a quorum of the independent special districts. The candidate receiving the most votes of the quorum shall be elected. In the event of a tie vote, the outcome will be determined by lot.

<u>PLEASE RETURN THIS SIGNED BALLOT</u> to the Ventura LAFCo, 800 S. Victoria Avenue, L#1850, Ventura, CA 93009, or if previous consent has been given to conduct elections via e-mail, send your signed ballot to <u>kai.luoma@ventura.org</u>. All Ballots <u>MUST</u> be signed by the district president/chair or presiding officer of the board and received by 5 P.M. <u>Friday, December 14, 2018</u> to be considered.

As the District President, Chair or Presiding Officer, I duly certify that the Triunfo Sanitation District does hereby cast its ballot as follows:

1. REGULAR LAFCo SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER FOR A FOUR-YEAR TERM BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2019 (vote for one)		
	Russ Baggerly	Ojai Valley Sanitary District
	Elaine Freeman	Rancho Simi Recreation and Park District

2. ALTERNATE LAFCo SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER FOR A FOUR-YEAR TERM BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2019 (vote for one)			
	John (Jack) Curtis	Ojai Valley Sanitary District	
	Neal Dixon	Pleasant Valley Recreation and Park District	
	Andy Waters	Calleguas Municipal Water District	

Board President/Chair/Presiding Officer (print name)

Board President/Chair/Presiding Officer (Signature)

Date

This page is intentionally blank