

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(February 7, 2013) ncbwa.com

Contact: Judy Willson (jwillson@themwc.com or 719-488-4052)
NCBWA First Vice President/Associate Director of Communications, Mountain West

NCBWA NAMES PRESEASON STOPPER OF THE YEAR WATCH LIST

COLORADO SPRINGS, **Colo**. (NCBWA) --- Seventy-five players have been named to the initial watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association on Friday.

Oregon junior **Jimmie Sherfy**, a 2012 Stopper of the Year Award finalist, and Texas junior **Corey Knebel**, the 2011 winner of the Stopper of the Year Award, headline the list of preseason nominees for the 2013 award. Sherfy recorded 19 saves and went 5-3 with a 2.20 ERA and 93 strikeouts as the Ducks advanced to the 2012 Super Regionals. Last season as a sophomore, Knebel collected nine saves and went 4-5 with a 2.08 ERA and 68 strikeouts in 73.2 innings pitched for the Longhorns.

Joining Sherfy, a first team preseason All-American by the NCBWA, and Knebel on the watch list is NCBWA 2013 first teamer **Jonathan Holder** from Oregon State and Michael Wagner of San Diego, a preseason first team selection. Holder had nine saves a year ago with a 2-1 record and 0.32 ERA in 24 appearances as a freshman, while Wagner had 19 saves.

Among the other most notable nominees are members of the NCBWA preseason All-American second team (Michael Lorenzen of Cal State Fullerton, Tyler Webb of South Carolina, David Berg of UCLA and Tyler Burgess of Missouri State), along with third team member Colby Suggs of Arkansas.

The Southeastern Conference and the Pacific-12 Conference led the way with seven players each on this year's watch list, while the Big South had six pitchers on the list.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

2013 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

Pitcher	School	Yr.
Brady Anderson	Florida Gulf Coast	So.
Barrett Astin	Arkansas	Jr.
Kyle Bartsch	South Alabama	Sr.
David Berg	UCLA	So.
Josh Biggs	Evansville	Sr.
Tony Bryant	Oregon State	Sr.
Michael Burchett	Sam Houston State	Sr.
Nick Burdi	Louisville	So.
Tyler Burgess	Missouri State	So.
Aaron Burke	Coastal Carolina	Sr.
Chase Byerly	Butler	Sr.
Gunnar Carroll	Army	Jr.
Will Chesney	East Tennessee State	Jr.
Pat Christensen	LaSalle	Sr.
Adam Cimber	San Francisco	Sr.
Ryan Connolly	Coastal Carolina	Sr.
Bret Dahlson	Loyola Marymount	Jr.
Ryan Deeter	UČLA	Jr.
Josh Dezse	Ohio State	Jr.
Matt Dunbar	Arizona State	Sr.
Todd Eaton	Southern Illinois	Jr.
Eric Eck	Wofford	Jr.
Alex Facundus	Tulane	Jr.
Scott Firth	Clemson	Sr.
Max Garner	Baylor	Sr.
John Garrett	VMI	Sr.
Michael Gomez	FIU	Sr.
Joe Goodman	High Point	So.
John Gorman	Boston College	So.
Trevor Gott	Kentucky	Jr.
Zack Hartman	UNLV	Jr.
Preston Hatcher	Western Carolina	Sr.
Taylor Haydel	Western Kentucky	Sr.
Nate Hill	Troy	Sr.
Dylan Hills	Southeastern Louisiana	Jr.
Jonathan Holder	Mississippi State	So.
Brett Huber	Mississippi	Sr.
Chris Huffman	James Madison	So.
Kyle Kingsley	North Dakota State	Sr.
Corey Knebel	Texas	Jr.
Clark Labitan	Virginia Tech	Sr.
Steven Leasure	South Florida	Sr.
Brett Loeding	Northern Kentucky	Sr.
Michael Lorenzen	Cal State Fullerton	Jr.
Ryan Mattes	Campbell	Sr.
Justin McCalvin	Kennesaw State	So.
Hobie McClain	New Mexico	Sr.
Ronnie Muck	Illinois	Jr.
Jake Naumann	Evansville	Sr.

Saint Louis	So.
George Washington	Sr.
Dartmouth	So.
UC Irvine	Sr.
East Carolina	Jr.
Navy	Sr.
Southern Miss	So.
Illinois	So.
Northwestern	Jr.
Miami (Fla.)	Jr.
California	Sr.
Oregon	Jr.
Notre Dame	Jr.
Dallas Baptist	Sr.
USC Upstate	So.
Arkansas	Jr.
Fordham	Jr.
Mercer	Sr.
Cornell	So.
Stanford	Jr.
Nebraska	Sr.
San Diego	Jr.
South Carolina	Sr.
Kansas State	So.
Creighton	Sr.
Elon	Sr.
	George Washington Dartmouth UC Irvine East Carolina Navy Southern Miss Illinois Northwestern Miami (Fla.) California Oregon Notre Dame Dallas Baptist USC Upstate Arkansas Fordham Mercer Cornell Stanford Nebraska San Diego South Carolina Kansas State Creighton

--NCBWA.com--