Arizona State's Jon Rahm, Texas coach John Fields headline Golfweek men's postseason honors

- Share
- Tweet
- Email
- Print



Arizona State's Jon Rahm during the NCAA Championship at Eugene Country Club. - (Golfweek/Tracy Wilcox)

Texas men's coach John Fields took his team to the top of college golf this season. In the end for Texas, the journey came up ever so short.

Fields was named Golfweek's men's college coach of the year.

After a sluggish start in which Texas finished fourth or worse in its three fall starts, the Longhorns won seven times in the spring, including the Big 12 and NCAA Nashville Regional titles. Texas finished the year at No. 1 in the *Golfweek*/Sagarin College Rankings.

The Longhorns won the stroke play at the NCAAs before losing to host Oregon on its home course in a playoff for the national title.

"The coaches and players across the board at the collegiate level are among the finest ever," said Fields, who also was *Golfweek*'s top coach in 2012. "Our team this year enjoyed extraordinary success. I am so appreciative of my team and their desire to win."

Arizona State's Jon Rahm, by virtue of his No. 1 spot in the *Golfweek*/Sagarin College Rankings, edged Beau Hossler for Golfweek's Player of the Year award. Rahm, 21, won four times during a senior season in which he was a model of consistency: 13 top-10s in as many starts. Rahm, 21, of Barrika, Spain, won the Pac-12 Conference and NCAA Albuquerque Regional titles and placed third at the NCAAs.

• • •

2016 Division I All-Americans

FIRST TEAM

Jon Rahm, Sr. (Arizona State)

Beau Hossler, Jr. (Texas)

Maverick McNealy, Jr. (Stanford)

Charlie Danielson, Sr. (Illinois)

Aaron Wise, Soph. (Oregon)

Sam Horsfield, Fr. (Florida)

Lee McCoy, Sr. (Georgia)

Robby Shelton, Jr. (Alabama)

Michael Johnson, Sr. (Auburn)

Matthias Schwab, Jr. (Vanderbilt)

SECOND TEAM

Matthew NeSmith, Sr. (South Carolina)

Rico Hoey, Jr. (USC)

Zach Wright, Sr. (LSU)

Thomas Detry, Sr. (Illinois)

Doug Ghim, Soph. (Texas)

Will Gordon, Fr. (Vanderbilt)

Gavin Hall, Jr. (Texas)

Stephen Behr, Sr. (Clemson)

K.K. Limbhasut, Soph. (California)

Adrian Meronk, Sr. (East Tennessee State)

THIRD TEAM

Nahum Mendoza III, Jr. (San Diego State)

Chase Koepka, Sr. (South Florida)

Greyson Sigg, Jr. (Georgia)

Jordan Niebrugge, Sr. (Oklahoma State)

Tyler McDaniel, Soph. (Kentucky)

Gordon Neale, Fr. (Florida)

David Boote, Sr. (Stanford)

Stratton Nolen, Jr. (Oklahoma State)

Kristoffer Ventura, Soph. (Oklahoma State)

Max McGreevy, Jr. (Oklahoma)

HONORABLE MENTION

Alejandro Tosti, Soph. (Florida)

Patrick Martin, Fr. (Vanderbilt)

Luis Gagne, Fr. (LSU)

Hank Lebioda, Sr. (Florida State)

Taylor Moore, Sr. (Arkansas)

Davis Riley, Fr. (Alabama)

Collin Morikawa, Fr. (California)

Antoine Rozner, Sr. (Missouri-Kansas City)

Dylan Meyer, Soph. (Illinois)

Corey Pereira, Jr. (Washington)

Derek Bard, Jr. (Virginia)

Robin Petersson, Sr. (Augusta)

Austin Langdale, Jr. (Clemson)

Sepp Straka, Sr. (Georgia)

Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Sr. (Louisville)

Charles Huntzinger, Fr. (Penn State)

Jared DuToit, Jr. (Arizona State)

Franklin Huang, Soph. (Stanford)

Will Zalatoris, Soph. (Wake Forest)

Paul Barjon, Sr. (TCU)

• • •

Golfweek Player of the Year

Listed by year

- 2016 Jon Rahm, Arizona State
- 2015 Maverick McNealy, Stanford
- 2014 Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
- 2013 Michael Kim, California
- 2012 Justin Thomas, Alabama
- 2011 Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
- 2010 Russell Henley, Georgia
- 2009 Matt Hill, N.C. State
- 2008 Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
- 2007 Jamie Lovemark, USC
- 2006 Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
- 2005 Ryan Moore, UNLV
- 2004 Bill Haas, Wake Forest
- 2003 Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State
- 2002 Graeme McDowell, Alabama-Birmingham
- 2001 Bryce Molder, Georgia Tech
- 2000 Charles Howell III, Oklahoma State
- 1999 Luke Donald, Northwestern

• • •

Golfweek Coach of the Year

Listed by year

- 2016 John Fields, Texas
- 2015 Chuck Winstead, LSU
- 2014 Alan Murray, Alabama-Birmingham
- 2013 Steve Desimone, California
- 2012 John Fields, Texas
- 2011 Mike McGraw, Oklahoma State
- 2010 Josh Gregory, Augusta State
- 2009 Matt Thurmond, Washington
- 2008 Chris Zambri, USC
- 2007 Conrad Ray, Stanford
- 2006 Mike McGraw, Oklahoma State
- 2005 Rod Myers, Duke

2004 – Steve Desimone, California

2003 – Larry Penley, Clemson

2002 – Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech

2001 – Buddy Alexander, Florida

2000 – Mike Holder, Oklahoma State

1999 – Chris Haack, Georgia