### **CONTACT INFORMATION:**

Ian Gilliam
Director of Communications
Golf Coaches Association of America
(847) 533-4800
ian@collegiategolf.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 7/17/19



## GCAA Announces 2018-19 Outstanding Team Academic Award Winners

Newberry wins overall Academic National Championship

**NORMAN, Okla** — New Mexico (Division I), Newberry (Division II), Augsburg (Division III), SCAD - Atlanta (NAIA), Dodge City (NJCAA DI), and North Central Missouri (NJCAA DII) were all named Academic National Champions for finishing with the top GPA in their respective divisions, announced by the GCAA.

Newberry finished with the top overall GPA in all divisions, finishing the 2018-19 season with a 3.84 team GPA.

This is the first Academic National Champion Award for Newberry, while they are also the first Division II school to win the award since its inception.

A total 193 schools submitted GPA's of 3.0 or above, with 32 of those schools earning Presidents Special Recognition Honors, finishing with a team GPA of 3.5 and above.

"We are very pleased to have earned this award, and to be recognized by the GCAA as the Academic National Champion for men's golf," said Newberry Head Coach Howard Vroon. "Collegiate golf is incredibly time consuming for the student-athlete. This 2018-19 team worked extremely hard in the classroom and on the golf course, and this award will be very well received here on our campus," Vroon continued. "Many thanks to the GCAA for organizing this award and for recognizing our student-athletes for their hard work and impressive achievement in the classroom."

To be eligible for GCAA Outstanding Team Academic honors a college or university must submit GPAs for each player on their official squad list for the academic year.

-cont-

#### **Academic National Champions**

Division I – New Mexico Division II – Newberry Division III – Augsburg NAIA – SCAD – Atlanta NJCAA I – Dodge City NJCAA II – North Central

# President's Special Recognition (3.5 GPA or above)

## **Division I**Baylor

Davidson Duke

East Tennessee State

Harvard

Loyola (Chicago) Loyola (Maryland) Robert Morris

Seattle Seton Hall SMU Cincinnati New Mexico Pennsylvania

Weber State

Yale

Youngstown State

## **Division II**

Newberry

West Texas A&M Florida Southern

Maryville

## **Division III**

Augsburg Edgewood Kalamazoo Swarthmore UT-Dallas Wabash

Washington & Lee

Webster

## NAIA

SCAD - Atlanta

### NJCAA I

**Dodge City** 

#### **NJCAA II**

North Central Missouri

# All-Academic Teams (3.0 GPA or better)

### **Division I**

Abilene Christian

Akron Air Force Arizona

**Arkansas State** 

Baylor Belmont Boston College Bowling Green Bradley

California California Baptist

Cincinnati

Coastal Carolina

Colgate Holy Cross Colorado State

Cornell Davidson DePaul

**Detroit Mercy** 

Drake Duke

East Carolina East Tennessee Eastern Michigan

Elon Evansville Florida

Florida Atlantic Florida State Francis Marion

Furman

George Mason
George Washington

Georgetown
Georgia Southern
Georgia State
Hartford
Harvard
Hawaii
High Point
Houston Baptist

Illinois Illinois State

Incarnate Word

Indiana Iowa State

-cont-

**IUPUI** 

James Madison

Kennesaw State

Longwood Louisiana Tech Louisville

Loyola (Chicago) Loyola (Maryland)

Marquette Marshall Miami – Ohio Michigan State Minnesota Missouri State

New Mexico

New Mexico State Northern Illinois

Northwestern North Alabama

North Carolina

Northern Colorado

Northern Kentucky

Oakland
Ohio State
Old Dominion
Oral Roberts
Pennsylvania

Presbyterian
Purdue Fort Wayne

Radford Rhode Island

Rice

Robert Morris Saint Joseph's

San Jose State Seattle

Seton Hall SMU

Southern Illinois

Southern Illinois - Edwardsville

South Alabama South Carolina South Florida

Southern Mississippi

Stanford Tennessee

Tennessee at Chattanooga Texas Rio Grand Valley

Texas Tech

UNC Charlotte
UNC Greensboro

**UNC Wilmington** 

UNLV

**USC** - Upstate

Utah

Utah Valley Virginia Valparaiso Vanderbilt

VCU Villanova Weber State West Virginia Winthrop Wisconsin

Wisconsin Green Bay

Wofford Wyoming Xavier Yale

Youngstown State

**Division II** 

Academy of Art

Barry Barton CSU East Bay Central Missouri

Findlay Florida Tech Florida Southern

Harding

**Henderson State** 

Hillsdale Indianapolis

Kentucky Wesleyan

Lee

Lincoln Memorial

Maryville Missouri S&T Newberry

Northeastern State Ohio Dominican Palm Beach Atlantic

Rockhurst

Saginaw Valley State

Saint Leo St. Edwards

Texas A&M International

Tiffin USCA

Valdosta State Wayne State

-cont-

West Texas A&M

Wingate

**Division III** 

Arcadia

Augsburg

Benedictine (III.)

Carnegie Mellon

Dominican

Earlham

Edgewood

**Gustavus Adolphus** 

Hope

Illinois Wesleyan

Kalamazoo

Kenyon

Maryville (Tenn.)

McMurry

Mount St. Joseph

North Central

Ohio Wesleyan

Rhodes

Saint John's (Minn.)

St. Thomas

Swarthmore

**UT Dallas** 

Trine

**UMass Dartmouth** 

Wabash

Washington & Lee

Webster

Willamette

**NAIA** 

Carroll

Doane

Duant

Keiser

Midland

Morningside

Taylor

SCAD - Atlanta

**Wayland Baptist** 

**NJCAA I** 

**Dodge City** 

**NJCAA II** 

North Central Missouri

Scottsdale

Southwestern

South Mountain

###