

## LAST FOUR HIGH SCHOOL NAISMITH WINNERS GO HEAD TO HEAD IN 2012 NAISMITH COLLEGE PLAYER OF THE YEAR MIDSEASON 32

**ATLANTA (Feb. 29, 2012)** – They grow up so fast. Connecticut freshman Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Stanford sophomore Chiney Ogwumike, Notre Dame junior Skylar Diggins and Delaware junior Elena Della Donna – respectively, the last four Naismith High School Girl's Player of the Year recipients – are all in contention for the 2012 Naismith Women's College Player of the Year award presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

They are joined by more than two dozen of the top players in women's college basketball. Notre Dame leads the list with three nominees, and nine schools have two players each. The Big East hosts the most nominees with eight, followed by the ACC and the Big 10 at five apiece.

The midseason 32 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the 2011-12 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, will be awarded on April 1, 2012 at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Denver.

"We're used to seeing some of the same names from the high school awards reappear on the college level, but to have the last four high school winners in contention for this year's college player of the year award is pretty special," said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. "We wish them, along with the rest of the nominees, the best of luck in the final stretch of their seasons."

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

"With such a great line-up of women athletes, AT&T is proud to sponsor the 2012 Women's Naismith Trophy," said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. "Just as each athlete has her own set of skills, each fan has their own opinion on who they think deserves the award. That's why AT&T is happy to continue the tradition of allowing fans to vote for who they believe is the most deserving player."

2012 Naismith Trophy Midseason 30

Last Name	First Name	School	Class	Position
Last Name	FIISLINAIIIE	3011001	Class	POSITION
Bentley	Alex	Penn State	Junior	Guard
Delle Donne	Elena	Delaware	Junior	Forward
Diggins	Skylar	Notre Dame	Junior	Guard
Evans	Shante	Hofstra	Junior	Forward
Gray	Chelsea	Duke	Sophomore	Guard
Griner	Brittney	Baylor	Junior	Center
Hartley	Bria	Connecticut	Sophomore	Guard
Hill	Tayler	Ohio State	Junior	Guard

Hooper	Jordan	Nebraska	Sophomore	Forward
Hurt	Courtney	VCU	Senior	Forward
Jenkins	Jessica	St. Bonaventure	Senior	Guard
Johnson	Glory	Tennessee	Grad Student	Forward
Johnson	Shenise	Miami	Senior	Guard
Lucas	Maggie	Penn State	Sophomore	Guard
Martin	Anna	DePaul	Junior	Guard
Mathies	A'dia	Kentucky	Junior	Guard
Moore	Lindsey	Nebraska	Junior	Guard
Mosqueda- Lewis	Kaleena	Connecticut	Freshman	Forward
Novosel	Natalie	Notre Dame	Senior	Guard
Ogwumike	Chiney	Stanford	Sophomore	Forward
Ogwumike	Nneka	Stanford	Senior	Forward
Peters	Deveraux	Notre Dame	Grad Student	Forward
Prahalis	Samantha	Ohio State	Senior	Guard
Rayburn	Brittany	Purdue	Senior	Guard
Rodgers	Sugar	Georgetown	Junior	Guard
Rushdan	Khadijah	Rutgers	Senior	Guard
Sims	Odyssey	Baylor	Sophomore	Guard
Stricklen	Shekinna	Tennessee	Senior	Guard/Forward
Thomas	Alyssa	Maryland	Sophomore	Forward
Williams	Elizabeth	Duke	Freshman	Center
Williams	Riquna	Miami	Senior	Guard
Wojta	Julie	Wisconsin- Green Bay	Senior	Guard/Forward

Notable Naismith Women's College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, Tina Charles and last year's winner, Maya Moore. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's player of the year.

## **ABOUT THE ATLANTA TIPOFF CLUB**

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club, founded during the 1956-57 season, has presented the Naismith Trophy every year since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and contribution to the game.

###

## Contact:

Jonathan Carl, MSL Atlanta 404.870.6874 jonathan.carl@mslgroup.com