

# BIG TEN ADDITION OF JOHNS HOPKINS AND MEN'S AND WOMEN'S LACROSSE FACT SHEET

#### **GENERAL FACTS**

- On Sunday, June 2, the Big Ten Council of Presidents/Chancellors (COP/C) met and voted to extend an invitation to Johns Hopkins to become a sport affiliate member of the Big Ten in men's lacrosse; Johns Hopkins accepted the invitation later that day.
- On Monday, June 3, the Big Ten announced the institution of men's and women's lacrosse as the conference's 27th and 28th official conference sports and that Johns Hopkins has accepted an invitation to become a sport affiliate member for men's lacrosse only beginning with the 2014-15 academic year.

### SPORT AFFILIATE MEMBERSHIP FACTS

- Johns Hopkins is the first school to become a sport affiliate member of the Big Ten.
- An affiliate member is for a single sport affiliation only, not full conference membership.
- Johns Hopkins will be invited to take part in annual business meetings for men's lacrosse coaches, but will not take part in COP/C, Joint Group or other administrative business meetings.
- Membership in the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) is separate from a Big Ten sport affiliate
  membership. The process of joining the CIC is managed by the provosts of CIC member institutions. Johns
  Hopkins plans to contact the CIC to discuss potential membership.

# JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY FACTS

- Johns Hopkins University opened in 1876.
- Johns Hopkins is an outstanding institution with a tremendous academic reputation.
- For the 2011-12 academic year, Johns Hopkins undergraduate enrollment was 5,066, while graduate school enrollment was 1,981.
- Johns Hopkins students represent all 50 states and 71 different countries.
- Johns Hopkins faculty members, and their research colleagues at the university's Applied Physics
   Laboratory, have each year since 1979 won more federal research and development funding than any
   other university.
- Johns Hopkins has nine academic divisions and campuses throughout the Baltimore-Washington area.
- When considered in partnership with its sister institution, the Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System, the university is Maryland's largest employer and contributes more than \$10 billion a year to the state's economy.

## JOHNS HOPKINS MEN'S LACROSSE FACTS

- Johns Hopkins athletic teams are known as the Blue Jays.
- Johns Hopkins has competed as an independent in men's lacrosse since the program began play in 1883.
- The Blue Jays have produced 44 national championships, nine NCAA titles, 183 First Team All-Americans and 65 members of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.



- The Blue Jays rank first nationally in overall national titles, First Team All-Americans and Hall of Fame inductees, while their nine NCAA titles rank second all time.
- Johns Hopkins has appeared in 41 of the 43 all-time NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournaments since the NCAA began sponsoring the national championship in 1971.

#### **BIG TEN MEN'S LACROSSE FACTS**

- The six men's lacrosse programs will be:
  - Johns Hopkins (first year of competition was 1883)
  - o Maryland (first year of competition was 1924)
  - Michigan (first year of competition was 2012)
  - Ohio State (first year of competition was 1953)
  - Penn State (first year of competition was 1913)
  - Rutgers (first year of competition was 1887)
- The six programs comprising Big Ten men's lacrosse boast 56 national championships.
  - o Johns Hopkins leads all schools with 44 national championships.
  - o Maryland has claimed 11 national championships.
  - o Rutgers has claimed one national championship.
- The NCAA began sponsoring the men's lacrosse championships in 1971.
  - Johns Hopkins ranks second among all schools with nine NCAA championships (1974, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1984, 1985, 1987, 2005, 2007).
  - Maryland has claimed two NCAA championships (1973, 1975).
- Maryland, Ohio State and Penn State each qualified for the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship this season, with the Buckeyes advancing to the quarterfinals.

# **BIG TEN WOMEN'S LACROSSE FACTS**

- The six women's lacrosse programs will be:
  - Maryland (first year of competition was 1974)
  - o Michigan (first year of competition will be 2014)
  - Northwestern (first year of competition was 1982, became club program in 1993, returned to varsity status in 2002)
  - Ohio State (first year of competition was 1996)
  - o Penn State (first year of competition was 1965)
  - Rutgers (first year of competition was 1977)
- The six programs comprising Big Ten women's lacrosse have won 23 national championships and 19 of the
   32 NCAA championships, including eight of the last nine.
  - Maryland has claimed 11 national championships (AIAW in 1981), including 10 NCAA championships (1986, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2010).
  - Northwestern has claimed seven NCAA championships (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012).



- Penn State has claimed five national championships (AIAW in 1978, 1979, 1980), including two NCAA championships (1987, 1989).
- The Terrapins, Wildcats and Nittany Lions earned berths in the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship this season. Penn State advanced to the quarterfinals, Northwestern reached the national semifinals and Maryland was edged in triple overtime in the national championship game.