

Annual Meeting Host

WHEREAS, the California Veterinary Medical Board is an engaged Member Board of the AAVSB;

WHEREAS, the California Veterinary Medical Board submitted an invitation to host the 2024 AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference;

WHEREAS, the California Veterinary Medical Board graciously welcomed all the AAVSB Member Boards to the 2024 AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB, on behalf of its members, proclaims its thank you to the California Veterinary Medical Board for hosting the 2024 AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference.



Honoring Ms. Leslie Knachel, Immediate Past President

- WHEREAS, Leslie Knachel, MPH, has served the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) with the highest distinction and dedication since 2011;
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel attended every AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference since 2011 and, after serving as the voting Delegate for the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine at her first AAVSB meeting, has been active in volunteering with the AAVSB;
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel served as a member of the Finance Committee from 2011 to 2014.
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel served on the PAVE for Veterinarians Committee from 2014 to 2015.
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel served on the Student Outreach Task Force from 2017 to 2024, serving as Chair from 2019 through 2021.
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel became the first Affiliate Member to serve on the Board of Directors when appointed to an unexpired term as Director in January 2015.
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel was elected to serve on the Board of Directors as Director from 2015 to 2019 and was elected as President-Elect in 2021 to 2022 and then served as President from 2022 to 2023;
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel currently serves as the Immediate Past President on the Board of Directors through September 28, 2024;
- WHEREAS, Ms. Knachel served as Executive Director of the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine in addition to two other health regulatory boards from 2009 to 2024 and agency policy board from 2021 to 2024;
- THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB, on behalf of its members, formally acknowledges the leadership and contributions made by Ms. Knachel over the last 14 years; and
- THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB Board of Directors proclaims its sincere appreciation to Ms. Knachel for her commitment to the AAVSB, veterinary regulation, and volunteerism.



Honoring Dr. Roger Redman Departing Nominating Committee Chair

- WHEREAS, Roger Redman, DVM, is the current chair of the Nominating Committee, a position served since September 2023, and is an elected member of the Committee since September 2022;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Roger Redman served on the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board from 2006 to 2016, serving as Vice President in 2008 and President in 2009;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Redman has served the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) with distinction since 2010;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Redman served as an initial member of the Finance Committee from 2010 to 2011, as a member of the Bylaws Committee from 2011 to 2013, and as Chair of the Leadership Development Task Force from 2018 to 2019;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Redman served as a Director on the AAVSB Board of Directors from 2013 to 2018, as President-Elect from 2018 to 2019;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Redman served as President of the AAVSB from 2019 to 2021 and Immediate Past President from 2021 to 2022 leading the organization during the pandemic;
- THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB, on behalf of its members, formally acknowledges the leadership and contributions made by Dr. Redman; and
- THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB Board of Directors proclaims its sincere appreciation to Dr. Redman for his commitment to the AAVSB.



Honoring Dr. Judy Currie Departing PAVE for Veterinary Technicians Committee Chair

- WHEREAS, Judy Currie, DVM, was instrumental in the exploration for and creation of the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence for Veterinary Technicians (PAVE for Veterinary Technicians);
- WHEREAS, since the formalization of the PAVE for Veterinary Technicians Committee in 2018, Dr. Currie has served as a member;
- WHEREAS, in preparation for a term as Chair of the PAVE for Veterinary Technicians Committee, Dr. Currie served as Chair-Elect in 2021;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Currie has served as Chair of the PAVE for Veterinary Technicians Committee since 2022 with her term ending on December 31, 2024;
- WHEREAS, as a member and Chair of the PAVE for Veterinary Technicians Committee, Dr. Currie brought her expertise in regulation and the veterinary technician profession initially to the Committee as Registrar of the Saskatchewan Veterinary Medical Association and as a former registered veterinary technician prior to her entering the veterinarian profession;
- THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB, on behalf of its members, formally acknowledges the leadership and expertise Dr. Currie has brought to the PAVE for Veterinary Technicians Committee;
- THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB is in debt to the enormous contributions both to the AAVSB and to the regulation of veterinary medicine made by Dr. Currie; and
- THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB Board of Directors proclaims its sincere appreciation to Dr. Currie for her commitment to the AAVSB.



Honoring Dr. Vern Otte Departing RACE Committee Chair

- WHEREAS, Vern Otte, DVM began volunteering with the AAVSB by serving as a member of the RACE Committee starting in 2017;
- WHEREAS, Dr. Otte served as a member of the RACE Committee from 2017 through 2024;
- WHEREAS, in 2020, Dr. Otte became the Chair of the RACE Committee, a position served through December 31, 2024;
- THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB, on behalf of its members, formally acknowledges the leadership and contributions made by Dr. Otte both to the AAVSB and to continuing education in the veterinary profession; and
- THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the AAVSB Board of Directors proclaims its sincere appreciation to Dr. Otte for his commitment to the AAVSB.