

Iowa Cross Country Contact: Natalie Johnson

November 22, 2004

<u>IOWA CROSS COUNTRY</u> IOWA FINISHES 13TH AT NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS

Terre Haute, IN – The University of Iowa men's cross country team competed at the NCAA Championship today hosted by Indiana State University. Iowa finished in 13th place (30 teams) with 371 team points. The Hawkeye's 13th place finish is the highest Coach Wieczorek has coached his squad to in his duration as head coach. Iowa was the second Big Ten team to cross the finish line beating Minnesota (18th), Indiana (19th), Ohio State (22nd), Michigan (26th), and Michigan State (28th). Wisconsin took second place with 94 team points. This is the third time in seven years that Iowa has competed at the championship. Iowa recorded a 21st place finish in 1998 and 29th place in 2002.

Sophomore **Micah VanDenend** led the Hawkeyes in the men's 10,000-meter placing 52nd (242 runners) in 32:21. Freshman **Eric MacTaggart** finished 59th in 32:27. Senior teammate **Matt Esche** finished just three places behind **MacTaggart** in 32:28 for 62nd place. Sophomore **Adam Roche** placed 69th in 32:32. Senior **Tony Rakaric** ran 33:17 for 129th place. Sophomore **Jeff Kent** and junior **Dan Haut** finished 144th and 152nd respectably in 33:27 and 33:30.

The University of Colorado was crowned the NCAA champions with 90 team points. The Buffaloes were led by two top five competitors, fourth place finisher Brent Vaughn (30:49) and fifth place finisher Bret Schoolmeester (30:57). Wisconsin's Simon Bairu won the individual title in a time of 30:38, leading Wisconsin to its second place finish. Arkansas placed third with 202 team points.

<u>MEN'S TEAM RESULTS</u> (top five plus IOWA)		<u>MEN'S INDIVIDUAL RESULTS</u> (top three plus IOWA)	
2. Wisconsin	94	2. Matt Gonzales (New Mexico)	30:41
3. Arkansas	202	3. Josphat Boit (Arkansas)	30:42
4. Butler	243	52. Micah VanDenend (IOWA)	32:21
5. Brigham Young	267	59. Eric MacTaggart(IOWA)	32:27
13. IOWA	371	62. Matt Esche (IOWA)	32:28
		69. Adam Roche (IOWA)	32:32
		129. Tony Rakaric (IOWA)	33:17
		111 Ioff Kont (IOWA)	33.77

 144. Jeff Kent (IOWA)
 33:27

 152. Dan Haut (IOWA)
 33:30



R