

January 17, 2007

IOWA'S HALUSKA A CANDIDATE FOR SENIOR CLASS AWARD

IOWA CITY, IA - - University of Iowa senior basketball player Adam Haluska is one of 30 candidates for the 2007 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. The award is presented annually to an NCAA Division I male and female senior basketball player who excel both on and off the court.

An acronym for *Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School*, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who remain committed to their university and pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bring. The award was conceived by sportscaster Dick Enberg, who continues to serve as Honorary Chairman.

Finalists will be selected based on personal qualities that define a complete student athlete. These areas of excellence are identified under the categories of classroom, character and community, as well as the candidate's performance on the court.

Haluska, a native of Carroll, IA has started every game in his college career. Through 18 games he leads the Big Ten Conference in scoring (20.3), while averaging 4.1 rebounds a game. He ranks among Big Ten leaders in free throw percentage (89.1%), three-point field goals per game (3.0) and steals (1.4). He has scored 1,591 career points and ranks 15th in career scoring at Iowa with 1,307 points.

Earlier this season he was the recipient of the 2006-07 Anson Mount Scholar/Athlete Award, earning a \$5,000 donation to the University of Iowa general scholarship fund. He is also on the Watch List for the John R. Wooden all-America team and the Naismith Award. He earned academic all-Big Ten honors as both a sophomore and junior and earned CoSIDA academic all-America honors a year ago.

A national media committee will select 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in February as the conference season hits its peak. Those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote during the NCAA Tournament in March. Fan balloting will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the male and female recipients. Winners will be announced during the men's respective Final Four weekends.



