

March 10, 2008

IOWA'S FREEMAN EARNS ALL-BIG TEN RECOGNITION

IOWA CITY, IA - - University of Iowa junior guard Tony Freeman has been named to the all-Big Ten third team, as selected by head coaches in the Big Ten Conference. Freeman earned honorable mention recognition by a vote of Big Ten media.

Senior center Kurt Looby was also honored as part of the Big Ten all-conference teams, earning the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. One member of each Big Ten team is recognized with the Sportsmanship Award at the conclusion of each season.

Freeman (6-1, 190) is a native of Maywood, IL and a former prep at St. Joseph's HS. He leads Iowa in scoring with a 14 point average in 21 games. Freeman missed 10 non-conference games after suffering a stress fracture in Iowa's exhibition contest in early November. Freeman also averages 3.4 assists and leads the team with 22 steals.

Freeman started all 18 Big Ten games for the Hawkeyes, averaging 14.2 points, 3.6 assists and 3.1 rebounds. He had a career-high 28 points in a win at Michigan. He has led the Hawkeyes in scoring in eight games and assists in 11 games. He has scored in double figures in 15 of 21 outings.

"It is always rewarding to receive recognition from the coaches within the league," said Iowa Coach Todd Lickliter, regarding Freeman's honor. "Kurt's recognition is well deserved as well. He is a guy who has worked hard to improve every day and to help his teammates improve."

Looby, a native of St. John's Antigua, attended Tyler, TX Community College before joining the Iowa program. In two seasons Looby has blocked 96 shots, ranking seventh in Iowa's career list. He has played in all 31 games this season, with 12 starts, averaging 4.7 rebounds and 3.7 points per game.

Indiana senior D.J. White was named Player of the Year by both the coaches and media. The coaches and media also named Purdue's Matt Painter Coach of the Year and Indiana's Eric Gordon Freshman of the Year. The coaches selected Chris Kramer of Purdue as the Defensive Player of the Year and Jason Bohannon of Wisconsin the Sixth Man of the Year.

White and Gordon were first team selections by both coaches and media. The remainder of the coach's first team includes Drew Neitzel of Michigan State, Robbie Hummel of Purdue and Wisconsin's Brian Butch. The media first team named Jamar Butler of Ohio State in place of Neitzel.





Gordon is joined on the all-Freshman team by Hummel and E'Twaun Moore of Purdue, Kosta Koufos of Ohio State and Michigan's Manny Harris. Kramer is joined on the all-Defensive team by Ekpe Udoh of Michigan, Michigan State's Travis Walton and Michael Flowers and Joe Krabbenhoft of Wisconsin.

Iowa begins play in the Big Ten Conference Tournament Thursday against Michigan. Game time is 11:05 a.m. CT on the Big Ten Network.



2007-08 All-Big Ten Men's Basketball Team

As selected by Big Ten coaches

(players names in ALL CAPS have 2008-09 eligibility)

FIRST TEAM

ERIC GORDON, Indiana D.J. White, Indiana* Drew Neitzel, Michigan State ROBBIE HUMMEL, Purdue Brian Butch, Wisconsin

SECOND TEAM

MANNY HARRIS, Michigan RAYMAR MORGAN, Michigan State Jamar Butler, Ohio State E'TWAUN MOORE, Purdue MARCUS LANDRY, Wisconsin

THIRD TEAM

ARMON BASSETT, Indiana TONY FREEMAN, Iowa Lawrence McKenzie, Minnesota KOSTA KOUFOS, Ohio State Michael Flowers, Wisconsin

HONORABLE MENTION

Shaun Pruitt, Illinois DESHAWN SIMS, Michigan KALIN LUCAS, Michigan State Dan Coleman, Minnesota KEVIN COBLE, Northwestern JAMELLE CORNLEY, Penn State KEATON GRANT, Purdue CHRIS KRAMER, Purdue TREVON HUGHES, Wisconsin

ALL-FRESHMAN TEAM

ERIC GORDON, Indiana MANNY HARRIS, Michigan KOSTA KOUFOS, Ohio State ROBBIE HUMMEL, Purdue E'TWAUN MOORE, Purdue

ALL-DEFENSIVE TEAM EKPE UDOH, Michigan TRAVIS WALTON, Michigan State CHRIS KRAMER, Purdue Michael Flowers, Wisconsin JOE KRABBENHOFT, Wisconsin

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: D.J. White, Indiana*

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: CHRIS KRAMER, Purdue

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: ERIC GORDON, Indiana

SIXTH MAN OF THE YEAR: JASON BOHANNON, Wisconsin

COACH OF THE YEAR: Matt Painter, Purdue

*Denotes unanimous selection

As selected by Big Ten media (players names in ALL CAPS have 2007-08 eligibility)

FIRST TEAM

ERIC GORDON, Indiana* D.J. White, Indiana* Jamar Butler, Ohio State ROBBIE HUMMEL, Purdue Brian Butch, Wisconsin

SECOND TEAM

MANNY HARRIS, Michigan RAYMAR MORGAN, Michigan State Drew Neitzel, Michigan State E'TWAUN MOORE, Purdue Michael Flowers, Wisconsin THIRD TEAM

Shaun Pruitt, Illinois ARMON BASSETT, Indiana KOSTA KOUFOS, Ohio State JAMELLE CORNLEY, Penn State CHRIS KRAMER, Purdue MARCUS LANDRY, Wisconsin

HONORABLE MENTION

JAMARCUS ELLIS, Indiana TONY FREEMAN, Iowa KALIN LUCAS, Michigan State Dan Coleman, Minnesota Lawrence McKenzie, Minnesota KEVIN COBLE, Northwestern CRAIG MOORE, Northwestern KEATON GRANT, Purdue TREVON HUGHES, Wisconsin **PLAYER OF THE YEAR:** D.J. White, Indiana

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: ERIC GORDON, Indiana

COACH OF THE YEAR: Matt Painter, Purdue

*Denotes unanimous selection

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Brian Randle, Illinois; Adam Ahlfeld, Indiana; Kurt Looby, Iowa; Ron Coleman, Michigan; Drew Neitzel, Michigan State; Spencer Tollackson, Minnesota; Sterling Williams, Northwestern; Jon Diebler, Ohio State; Mike Walker, Penn State; Bobby Riddell, Purdue; Brian Butch, Wisconsin.