

Men's Gymnastics Contact: Andrea Breen

April 23, 2006

## IOWA MEN'S GYMNASTICS HAWKEYES HONORED AT ANNUAL BANQUET

**IOWA CITY** – The Iowa men's gymnastics team celebrated its 2006 season Sunday night with the team's annual Dr. C. E. Obermann Awards Banquet.

Sophomore **Curtis Kleffman** was honored with the N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member award. He was named an all-American on pommel horse, after placing fourth at the NCAA Event Finals. He holds Iowa's school record on pommel horse as well. Kleffman is a two-time letterwinner and will serve as 2006-07 team captain with senior **Bryan Bourland**.

Michael Reavis was honored with the Dr. C. E. Obermann Outstanding Senior Award. He was crowned the Big Ten Floor Exercise Champion for the second year in a row and was named to the all-conference team. After being named Big Ten Gymnast of the Week four times this season, Reavis also took home the Biggest Contributor Award for the fourth, and final time in his career at Iowa. He was also a nominee for the Nissen-Emery Award, or the Heisman Trophy of gymnastics. Reavis was named to the U.S. Senior National Team after placing first on floor exercise at the Winter Cup. A three-time NCAA all-American, Reavis holds the University of Iowa records on floor exercise, parallel bars and the all-around.

Freshman **Geoff Reins** was also recognized as an all-American after he finished seventh on floor exercise at the NCAA Championships and was awarded the Best Competitor in the RED ZONE. Reins is a first-time letterwinner for Iowa.

Sophomore **Jacob Becker** and senior **Jacques Bouchard** are 2004-05 Academic all-Americans and named to the Academic all-Big Ten team. Bouchard, a three-time letterwinner, served as team captain for the 2006 season, recording a school record on rings. Becker is a two-time letterwinner for Iowa.

Seniors **Bryan Bourland** and **Dan Proudfoot**, juniors **Reid Vancelette** and **Drew Ignoto**, and sophomore **Tom Buese** were named to the Academic all-Big Ten team as well.

Freshman **Ben Gonsoulin** received the Academic Excellence Award while Bourland received the 2006 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for Iowa's men's gymnastics and the Coaches Appreciation Award. Gonsoulin is a first-time letterwinner and Bourland is a three-time letterwinner for Iowa.

## **SPECIAL RECOGNITION**

**2004-05** Academic all-Americans: Jacob Becker and Jacques Bouchard

2005-06 Academic all-Big Ten: Jacob Becker, Jacques Bouchard, Bryan Bourland, Tom Buese,

Drew Ignoto, Dan Proudfoot and Reid Vancelette

**2006 all-Big Ten Team:** Michael Reavis in the all-around and floor exercise

**2006 Senior National Team**: Michael Reavis

2006 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award (for Iowa men's gymnastics): Bryan Bourland

**2006 NCAA all-Americans:** Curtis Kleffman, pommel horse Geoff Reins, floor exercise









**2006-07 Team Captains**: Bryan Bourland and Curtis Kleffman

2006 Central Region Head and Assistant Coaches of the Year: Tom Dunn and Alex

Kolyvanov

2006 Big Ten Co-Coach of the Year: Tom Dunn

## **TEAM AWARDS**

Dr. C.E. Obermann Outstanding Senior: Michael Reavis

Academic Excellence: Ben Gonsoulin Best Work Ethic: Jacques Bouchard

Best Competitor in the RED ZONE: Geoff Reins Coaches Appreciation Award: Bryan Bourland

**Biggest Contribution:** Michael Reavis

N.R. Holzaepfel Most Valuable Team Member: Curtis Kleffman



