

August 17, 2010

JOHNSON-KOULIANOS NAMED TO HORNING WATCH LIST

LOUISVILLE, KY - - University of Iowa senior wide receiver Derrell Johnson-Koulianos is one of 48 of the nation's top collegiate players named to the inaugural Paul Horning Award, which will be presented to the most versatile player in college football. The Watch List was announced Tuesday by the Louisville Sports Commission. The list includes 25 seniors, 18 juniors and five sophomores.

Johnson-Koulianos (6-1, 200) has led the Hawkeyes in receiving in each of the last three seasons. His career totals include 127 receptions for 1,871 yards and seven touchdowns. He ranks seventh in career catches and yards. No player has led been Iowa's leading receiver in all four years. He totaled 45 receptions for 750 yards and two scores last season.

DJK has also been used on special teams throughout his career and he led the team with 12 KO returns for 378 yards in 2009. He had a 99-yard return for a touchdown in an overtime loss at Ohio State last season. He led Iowa with 1,128 all-purpose yards a year ago.

DJK earned second team all-Big Ten honors as a junior and was named national Kick Return Performer of the Week for his play at Ohio State. DJK is also on the preseason Watch List for the Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the top receiver in the nation.

Johnson-Koulianos is one of six Hawkeyes to be named to various preseason Watch Lists for the upcoming season, joining junior DE Broderick Binns (Ted Hendricks), senior DE Adrian Clayborn (Walter Camp, Ted Hendricks, Chuck Bednarik, Rotary Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski), senior punter Ryan Donahue (Ray Guy), senior DT Karl Klug (Outland) and junior DB Tyler Sash (Jim Thorpe, Chuck Bednarik, Lott Trophy, Bronko Nagurski).

Johnson-Koulianos is one of six Big Ten players on the preseason Horning list, joining Tandon Doss of Indiana, David Galbreath of Wisconsin, Keshawn Martin of Michigan State, and Ohio State's DeVier Posey and Terrelle Pryor.

The Paul Horning Award selection committee will narrow the field to approximately 10 to 15 finalists at the end of the regular season and will select the award winner at or near the end of the bowl season in early January.

