

Track Contacts: Traci Wagner, Aaron Blau

January 31, 2004

IOWA TRACK AND FIELD HAWKEYES CROWN FIVE CHAMPIONS

CEDAR FALLS, IA -- The University of Iowa men's track and field teams crowned three individual champions at the UNI Invitational in Cedar Falls, IA, this afternoon, while the women's team had one event winner in Cedar Falls and another at the Illinois Invitational in Champaign, IL. The women's team placed fourth at Illinois with 51 points with their split squad, while host Illinois won the meet with 160. The Hawkeye men's team recorded 19 top-five finishes, while the women's team recorded 13.

Senior Shellene Williams won an event for the third consecutive week, winning the 60 meters at the Illini Invitational with a collegiate-best 7.50. Freshman Chloe Millward was the women's winner at the UNI Invitational, taking first in the 800 meters (2:24.07). For the men, senior **Derrick Burks** won the 60 meters for the second time this season, posting a season-best 6.87 in the finals. Senior **Brad Daufeldt** won the weight throw (59-9 1/2) and junior Tony Rakaric won the mile (4:17.83). Placing second for Iowa were senior Michelle Lahann in the mile (4:52.73), senior Zach Digney in the 60 (6.94) and 200 meters (21.86), freshman Rob Long in the 600 meters (1:21.48) and junior Matt O'Hollearn in the 800 meters (1:57.37).

Iowa's next competition will be at the co-ed 21-team Sevigne Husker Invitational Saturday, February 7 in Lincoln, NE.

Wo	men's Results at Illinois	Invitational (Winr	ner Plus Iow	a Placers)		
Team Standings			200	200 Meters		
1.	Illinois	160	1.	Yvonne Mensah (ILL)	24.85	
2.	Southeast Missouri State	141	7.	Erin Sheeley (I)	26.12	
3.	Southwest Missouri State	e 83				
4.	Iowa	51	800	800 Meters		
			1.	Amber Larsen (UNAT)	2:12.98	
60]	Meters	4.	Aisha Hume (I)	2:14.62		
1.	Shellene Williams (I)	7.50	14.	Monica Mims (I)	2:28.36	
6.	Peaches Roach (I)	7.70				
				Mile		
60-	Meter Hurdles		1.	Casey Owens (SWMO)	4:52.50	
1.	Perdita Felicien (UNAT)	7.99	2.	Michelle Lahann (I)	4:52.73	
3.	Tiffany Johnson (I)	8.77	3.	Nikki Chapple (I)	4:54.92	
5.	Latoya Stiffend (I)	9.12	5.	Sarah Arens (I)	5:02.33	
			9.	Jordan Laney (I)	5:22.92	
Wo	omen's Results at UNI In	vitational (Winner	Plus Iowa P	lacers)		
60]	Meters		Mile	Mile		
1.	Shuntia Lucas (WIS)	7.77	1.	Randi Burns (UNI)	5:16.16	
	LaToya Banks (KSU)	7.77	4.	Ashley Merry (I)	5:20.97	
3.	Stacy Lawrence (I)	7.97	5.	Jenni Capista (I)	5:22.58	
7.	Kyndra Middleton (I)	8.23	6.	Laura Spencer (I)	5:30.44	
			7.	Vanessa Menze (I)	5:37.37	
200	Meters					
1.	Shuntia Lucas (WIS)	25.01	Pole	e Vault		
5.	Stacy Lawrence (I)	26.73	1.	Breanna Eveland (KSU)	12-5 1/2	
8.	Kyndra Middleton (I)	27.64	T12	. Sarah Burgett (I)	10-0	
800	Meters					
1.	Chloe Millward (I)	2:24.07				
	T 1 T 1 (T)					
3.	Leah Koesters (I)	2:27.95				



Director: Phil Haddy Associate Director: Steve Roe Assistant Directors: Traci Wagner, Matt Weitzel, Tony Wirt

THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA

Men's Results at UNI Invitational (Winner Plus Iowa Placers)

60 Meters			<u>5.</u>	Dan Dziubski (I)	1:58.22
1.	Derrick Burks (I)	6.87			
2.	Zach Digney (I)	6.94	1,000 Meters		
T6.	Robert Beach (I)	7.13	1.	Tibor Vegh (UNI)	2:30.73
			4.	Ben Lloyd (I)	2:34.49
200	200 Meters				
1.	Dirk Homewood (UNI)	21.59	Mil	e	
2.	Zach Digney (I)	21.86	1.	Tony Rakaric (I)	4:17.83
7.	Robert Beach (I)	22.64	3.	Dan Trainor (I)	4:23.38
	Derrick Burks (I)	22.64			
9.	Warren Holloway (I)	22.94	3,000 Meters		
			1.	Velibor Radojevic (UNI)	8:16.38
400	Meters		3.	Stephen Traphagen (I)	8:53.72
1.	Dirk Homewood (UNI)	47.83			
3.	Juan Coleman (I)	48.58	1,600-Meter Relay		
5.	Ryan Strang (I)	48.75	1.	Northern Iowa A	3:14.83
6.	Jason Nolting (I)	49.35	3.	Iowa B	3:20.04
			4.	Iowa A	3:23.28
600	600 Meters				
1.	Kyle Smith (UNI)	1:18.88	She	ot Put	
2.	Rob Long (I)	1:21.48	1.	T.J. Staab (KSU)	56-10 1/4
3.	Josh Tweedy (I)	1:22.31	3.	Andy Banse (I)	53-6 1/4
4.	Tony Leick (I)	1:23.01	4.	Robby Beyer (I)	53-5 1/2
800 Meters			Weight Throw		
1.	Adam Hinders (UNI)	1:54.20	1.	Brad Daufeldt (I)	59-9 1/2
2.	Matt O'Hollearn (I)	1:57.37	3.	Chris Voller (I)	57-10 1/2
3.	Jason Wakenight (I)	1:57.92	7.	Tim Brodersen (I)	54-0 1/2

Director: Phil Haddy Associate Director: Steve Roe Assistant Directors: Traci Wagner, Matt Weitzel, Tony Wirt

157 Carver-Hawkeye Arena Iowa City, IA 52242-1020 P: 319.335.9411 F: 319.335.9417 e-mail: sportsinfo@hawkeyesports.com