

May 26, 2004 Contact: James Allan

## <u>IOWA BASEBALL</u> PAIR OF HAWKEYES EARN ALL-BIG TEN HONORS

**IOWA CITY** – The Big Ten Conference announced today that starting pitcher **Nathan Johnson** and outfielder **Nate Yoho** were named to the 2004 all-Big Ten teams.

Johnson, a senior from Oskaloosa, IA, was a named to the first team after being a third team selection a year ago. This season, Johnson was the ace of the Iowa staff, going 6-4 with a 3.36 ERA. The righthander was a workhorse on the hill and logged a conference best 96 1/3 innings with a superb 73/16 strikeout-to-walk ratio. In conference games, Johnson was third in the league with a 2.28 ERA and had five complete games, including one shutout.

Yoho, a junior from Des Moines, IA, was the only Hawkeye to start all 55 games this season. The rightfielder finished the Big Ten season with 31 RBIs, which was second most in league games. On the year, Yoho was second on the team with a .312 batting average and led the team in doubles (15), home runs (4), RBIs (48).

Johnson is the first Hawkeye to be selected to the first team since the 2002 season when Brad Carlson was honored. He is the first pitcher to earn the accolades since Kurt Belgar was honored in 1995.

The Hawkeyes finished the 20-35 overall this season with a 12-20 record in the conference.

## First Team

- 1B Andy Hunter, Minnesota
- 2B Chris Getz, Michigan
- SS Seth Bynum, Indiana
- 3B James Moreno, Michigan State#
- OF Travis Gulick, Michigan State
- OF Sam Steidl, Minnesota#
- OF Steve Caravati, Ohio State#
- DH Brandon Roberts, Michigan
- C Chris Robinson, Illinois
- P Nathan Johnson, Iowa
- P Jim Brauer, Michigan\*
- P Glen Perkins, Minnesota#
- P J.A. Happ, Northwestern
- P Josh Newman, Ohio State\*
- RP Adam White, Michigan State

## Second Team

- 1B Kyle Bohm, Michigan
- 2B Drew Anderson, Ohio State
- SS Mitch Koester, Purdue
- 3B Simon Klink, Purdue
- OF Kevin Mahar, Indiana
- **OF** Nate Yoho, Iowa
- OF Jacob Howell, Ohio State
- DH Mike Mee, Minnesota
- C Jake Elder, Minnesota
- P Paul Hammond, Michigan
- P Bryan Gale, Michigan State
- P Craig Molldrem, Minnesota
- P Sean Stidfole, Penn State
- RP Trae Darby, Purdue

Player of the Year – Steve Caravati, Ohio State Pitcher of the Year – Glen Perkins, Minnesota Freshman of the Year – Jacob Howell, Ohio State Coach of the Year – John Anderson, Minnesota

# Unanimous selection

\* Additional honorees due to ties

Director: Phil Haddy Associate Director: Steve Roe Assistant Directors: Traci Wagner, Matt Weitzel, Tony Wirt

