

February 13, 2004

IOWA TRACK AND FIELD HAWKEYES QUALIFY DISTANCE MEDLEY TEAM

AMES, IA – The University of Iowa men's and women's track teams competed in day one of the ISU Classic on Friday. The women's distance medley team of Michelle Lahann, Shellene Williams, Shannon Stanley, and Sarah Arens provisionally qualified for the NCAA Indoor Championships. This marks the second week in a row the Hawkeye women's track team has provisionally qualified an athlete for the NCAA Championships.

The Hawkeye women had not competed in the distance medley until Friday night. Lahann and Williams are both provisionally qualified in two events. Lahann qualified last week in the mile while Williams has qualified twice in the 200 meters. Freshman **Nikki Chapple** continued her hot streak, winning the 5,000 meters with a time of 16:48.21. She placed first last week in the 3,000 meters with a provisionally qualifying time.

The Hawkeye men's team finished the day with a trio of eighth place finishes. Matt Esche finished eighth in the 5,000 meters with a time of 14:18.43 while the distance medley team also came in eighth. **Brad Daufeldt** finished eighth in the weight throw with a toss of 59-5 (18.11 m).

Competition will conclude on Saturday at the ISU Classic. Start time for Saturday is set for 10:15 a.m.

Women's Results (Winner plus Iowa Placers)

200 Meters

	Beau Walker (ALA)	23.82
50.	Latoya Stiffend (I)	26.24

5000 Meters

1.	Nikki Chapple (I)	16:48.21
17.	Georgia Millward (I)	17:41.09

Distance Medley

1.	IOWA A	11:30.36
	Lahann, Williams	s. Stanley, Arens

Pole Vault

1.	Jennifer Bennett (MIS)	12-5 ½ (3.80 m)
5.	Jessie Strand (I)	11-11 ¾ (3.65 m)
17.	Sarah Burgett (I)	10-6 (3.20 m)

Long Jump

29.	Angie Hensel (I)	17-4 ¹ / ₄ (5.29 m)
1.	Sheila Burrell (UNAT)	20-2 ½ (6.16 m)

Men's Results (Winner plus Iowa Placers)

200 Meters

1.	Andre Morris (HAW TR)	21.42
11.	Zach Digney (I)	21.90
45.	Omar Isaacs (I)	22.72

5000 Meters

	Matt Tegenkamp (WISC)	13:56.65
8.	Matt Esche (I)	14:18.43

Distance Medley

1.	Minnesota A	9:39.70
8.	IOWA A	10:02.09
12.	IOWA B	10:17.09

Weight Throw

1.	Lynden Reder (MINN)	66-8 (20.32 m)
8.	Brad Daufeldt (I)	59-5 (18.11 m)
18.	Eric Rothwell (I)	54-8 ¾ (16.68m)



