

October 23, 2006

IOWA'S HALUSKA EARNS ANSON MOUNT SCHOLAR/ATHLETE AWARD

IOWA CITY, IA - - Iowa senior basketball player Adam Haluska has been named the recipient of the 2006-07 Anson Mount Scholar/Athlete Award. The award is presented by Playboy Magazine and recognizes a student-athlete who excels in the classroom and on the court. The magazine will donate \$5,000 to the University of Iowa general scholarship fund.

Haluska (6-5, 210) is a native of Carroll, IA who has started every Iowa game over the past two seasons and all 98 games in his three-year career. He has scored 1,225 career points, including 941 while at Iowa. A year ago he averaged 13.9 points and 4.7 rebounds a game, helping Iowa post a 25-9 overall record while winning the 2006 Big Ten Tournament title. He shot 41.7% from the field, 34.6% from three-point range and 84.8% from the free throw line

"Adam is an outstanding person who takes great pride in his performance, both on the court and with his academics," said Coach Steve Alford. "To be singled out and recognized with a national award as one of the top student-athletes in the nation is a credit to Adam and a great reflection on the type of person he is."

Haluska has earned the Chris Street Award in each of the past two seasons. He earned CoSIDA academic all-America honors last season and has twice earned academic all-Big Ten recognition. On the court as a junior he earned third team all-Big Ten honors and was selected to the NABC District 12all-District second team. Haluska was named to the all-tournament team at the Hawkeye Challenge and the Guardians Classic last season as well.

As a junior Haluska earned honorable mention all-Big Ten honors and was named to the CoSIDA District VII academic all-America team after averaging 14.7 points and four rebounds per game.

This marks the 20th year Playboy Magazine has recognized an Anson Mount Scholar/Athlete in both football and men's basketball, and Haluska is the first Hawkeye player to earn the award. Iowa has had two Playboy all-Americans in basketball and 15 football Playboy all-Americans. Iowa football coaches Forest Evashevski, Jerry Burns and Kirk Ferentz have each been recoginized as Playboy's national Coach of the Year.



