

## 25 Athletes Named as Semi-Finalists for the 93<sup>rd</sup> AAU James E. Sullivan Award

Star-studded line up of nominees includes Olympians and national champions

**NEW YORK (July 12, 2023)** – Twenty-five athletes have been chosen as semi-finalists for the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award.

The AAU James E. Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding athlete at the collegiate or Olympic level in the United States.

In addition to athletic excellence, the AAU Sullivan Award aims to recognize the qualities of leadership, citizenship, character, and sportsmanship on and off the field.

The one-week voting period to determine the six finalists opens to the public today at <a href="https://bit.ly/93rdSullivanSemiFinalists">https://bit.ly/93rdSullivanSemiFinalists</a>

This year's group of semi-finalists, each nominated by their respective school or national governing body, includes:

- Amit Elor, Wrestling, USA Wrestling
- Anastasija Zolotic, Taekwondo, USA Taekwondo
- Angel Reese, Basketball, LSU
- Aria Fischer, Water Polo, USA Water Polo / Stanford
- Brock Bowers, Football, University of Georgia
- Caitlin Clark, Basketball, University of Iowa
- Caleb Williams, Football, University of Southern California
- Devon Witherspoon, Football, University of Illinois
- Dylan Crews, Baseball, USA Baseball / LSU
- Gordon Sargent, Golf, Vanderbilt University
- Jessie Diggins, Cross-Country Skiing, U.S. Ski and Snowboard
- Jordan Chiles, Gymnastics, USA Gymnastics / UCLA
- Jordan Crooks, Swimming, University of Tennessee
- Jordan Stolz, Speed Skating, U.S. Speed Skating
- Kate Douglass, Swimming, USA Swimming / University of Virginia
- Logan Eggleston, Volleyball, University of Texas
- Madison Chock and Evan Bates, Figure Skating, U.S. Figure Skating
- Maya Brady, Softball, UCLA
- Mykolas Alekna, Track and Field, University of California, Berkeley

- Rose Zhang, Golf, Stanford
- Sakura Kokumai, Karate, USA Karate
- Sydney McLaughlin-Levrone, Track and Field, USA Track and Field
- Ta'Niya Latson, Basketball, Florida State University
- Zach Edey, Basketball, Purdue University

"We're excited to have such a diverse group of athletes and sports represented this year," said Jo Mirza, AAU President. "Each of our semi-finalists deserves to move on to the next round and we're proud to include them in the AAU Sullivan Award's storied history."

This year's winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, September 19 at the historic New York Athletic Club (NYAC) – the birthplace of the AAU.

The winner of the 93<sup>rd</sup> AAU Sullivan Award will join a renowned list of recipients. Last year, Olympian Carissa Moore won, becoming the first surfer to take home the honor. Other prior winners include Michael Phelps (swimming), Michelle Kwan (figure skating), Carl Lewis (track & field), Shawn Johnson (gymnastics), Peyton Manning (football), and Breanna Stewart (basketball).

Voting opens to the public today, Wednesday, July 12, and closes at 11:59 p.m. ET on Wednesday, July 19. The public can vote once a day for their choice, up until the voting closes.

###

## ABOUT THE AAU:

The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) is one of the largest, non-profit, volunteer sports organizations in the country. As a multi-sport organization, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the promotion and development of amateur sports programs. Founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in sports, the AAU philosophy of "*Sports For All, Forever*" is now shared by more than 720,000 members and 150,000 volunteers across 45 sports programs and 55 U.S. districts. For more information, visit www.aausports.org.