

Inaugural Council *Kaunihera* OPEN MINUTES

Minutes of a meeting of the Council held in Te Kōpū Mānia o Kirikiriroa Marae and the Council Chamber, Municipal Building, Garden Place, Hamilton on Thursday 20 October 2022 at 10.32am.

PRESENT

Chairperson <i>Heamana</i>	Mayor P Southgate
Members	Cr A O'Leary Cr A Bydder Cr A Casey-Cox Cr M Donovan Cr R Hamilton Cr M Huaki Cr L Hutt Cr K Naidoo-Rauf Cr E Pike Cr M Tauariki Cr S Thomson Cr M van Oosten Cr E Wilson
In Attendance	Lance Vervoort – Chief Executive Sean Murray – General Manager Venues, Tourism, and Events Blair Bowcott – General Manager Growth Sean Hickey – General Manager Strategy and Communication Helen Paki – General Manager Community Eeva-Liisa Wright – General Manager Infrastructure Operations Murray Heke – General Manager Customer, Technology Transformation Michelle Hawthorne – Governance and Assurance Manager
Governance Staff	Amy Viggers – Governance Lead Carmen Fookes – Senior Government Advisor Tyler Gaukrodger – Governance Advisor

SWEARING IN CEREMONY

The Official Party and Elected Members entered the meeting. A karakia was given by Hamilton City Council Kaumatua Tame Pokaia followed by waiata by mana whenua.

The Inaugural Council meeting was then opened by Chief Executive Lance Vervoort. He welcomed everyone to the meeting and acknowledged the presence of mana whenua and those were able to be a part of the ceremony including the newly Elected Members, former Councillors, and family. He noted the importance of the new Kirikiriroa Maaori Ward, and the reflection of growth in the city in the increased number of Councillors around the Council table.

Installation of Mayor Paula Southgate

Mayor Paula Southgate read and signed the Statutory Declaration required by the Local Government Act 2002, which was witnessed by the Chief Executive Lance Vervoort. Following her declaration, the Mayor addressed the meeting.

Installation of the Councillors

The Deputy Mayor Angela O'Leary, Councillors Ryan Hamilton, Andrew Bydder, Anna Casey-Cox, Mark Donovan, Melaina Huaki, Louise Hutt, Kesh Naidoo-Rauf, Emma Pike, Moko Tauariki, Sarah Thomson, Maxine van Oosten, and Ewan Wilson read and signed the Statutory Declaration required by the Local Government Act 2002, which were witnessed by Mayor Paula Southgate. Following their declarations, each Councillor had the opportunity to address the meeting.

The Official Party, Elected Members, and all in attendance stood to sing the National Anthem.

Tame Pokaia and the Sonny Karena closed the ceremony with a karakia and prayer.

The meeting was adjourned from 12.09pm to 2.01pm.

- 1. Apologies – Tono aroha **Resolved:** (Cr Wilson/Deputy Mayor O'Leary) That the apologies for absence from Cr Taylor were accepted.
- 2. Confirmation of Agenda – Whakatau raarangi take **Resolved:** (Cr Wilson/Deputy Mayor O'Leary) That the agenda is confirmed.
- 3. Declarations of Interest – Tauaakii whaipaanga No members of the Council declared a Conflict of Interest.

Inaugural and First Meeting Requirements

- 4. Public Forum – AAtea koorero No members of the public wished to speak.
- 5.
 - The Governance and Assurance Manager introduced the report noting the appointment of Deputy Mayor O'Leary and that the governance structure will go to the 17 November 2022 Council meeting. Staff responded to questions from Members concerning remuneration authority and pay requirements, structure of working groups, and member interest in committees and working groups.

Resolved: (Mayor Southgate/Cr Wilson) That the Council:

- a) receives the report;
- b) notes that the first Council meeting will take place at 9:30am on Thursday, 17 November 2022; and
- c) notes that the Mayor will present the governance structure to the Council at the 17 November 2022 meeting.

6. Explanation of Statutory Matters Affecting Elected Members

The Governance and Assurance Manager introduced the report, noting the report is required by the Local Government Act 2002 and details some of the legislation which discusses personal and professional conduct. Staff responded to questions from Members concerning disqualification for non-attendance and process for formal apologies.

Resolved: (Mayor Southgate/Deputy Mayor O'Leary)

That the Council receives the report.

The meeting was declared closed at 2.16pm.