## Business of the Village Board Village of Saranac Lake

SUBJECT: Climate Smart Communities Task Force Date: 4/15/2024			
DEPT OF ORIGIN: Village Manager		Bill # _50-2024	
DATE SUBMITTED: <u>3/24/2024</u>		EXHIBITS:	
APPROVED AS TO FO	RM:		
Village Attorney		Village Administration	
EXPENDITURE REQUIRED:	AMOUNT BUDGETED: \$	APPROPRIATION REQUIRED: \$	
	SUMMARY	STATEMENT:	— <u>,</u> ,
Resolution to reappoint Communities Task Ford		appoint new members to the Climate S	mart
MOVED BY: Scolling	SECONDE	ED BY: White	
VOTE ON ROLL CALL:			
MAYOR WILLIAMS	yes_	_	
TRUSTEE BRUNETTE	<u>yes</u>	_	
TRUSTEE RYAN	yes_	_	
TRUSTEE SCOLLIN	_ges	_	
TRUSTEE WHITE	<u>yes</u>	_	

## RESOLUTION UPDATING THE MEMBERS OF THE SARANAC LAKE CLIMATE SMART COMMUNITIES TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, the Village of Saranac Lake is dedicated to achieving a Climate Smart Communities (CSC) certification; and

WHEREAS, the Village has established a CSC Task Force to facilitate certification of the Village as a Climate Smart Community; and

WHEREAS, the role of the CSC Task Force is to assess the status and/or feasibility of action items in the CSC certification program and will act as an advisory board that collaborates with Village elected officials and staff to accomplish plans, programs and activities that are part of the CSC certification program; and

WHEREAS, Katherine Glenn; Kristel Guimara, Tucker Jakobe, and Cedar Young have decided to resign from the CSC Task Force; and Erin Griffin has decided to step down as Coordinator; Rich Shapiro is no longer a Village Trustee and therefore no longer the Village Liaison; and

WHEREAS, individuals have expressed interested in joining the CSC Task Force; and

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of Trustees hereby appoints the following individuals to the CSC Task Force: Katrina Glynn (staff liaison), Jenna Audlin, Diana Strablow, Emmett Smith, Tom Collins, Garrett Marino; and

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED, the Board of Trustees renews the appointments of current CSC Task Force members, including Harry Gordon, Carolyn Koestner, Kristel Guimara, Becca Halter, Erin Griffin, Steve Dehond; and

BE IT FURTHER FURTHER RESOLVED that Garrett Marino and Tom Collins are appointed as CSC Co-Coordinators for (1) year due to their qualifications, experience and dedication to climate change adaptation and resiliency.

## Revised Membership List for CSC Task Force:

Garrett Marino

Climate Smart Community Co-Coordinator, Youth Climate Leadership Coordinator, The Wild Center

Tom Collins

Climate Smart Community Co-Coordinator, Education and Outreach Coordinator, Paul Smith's Adirondack Watershed Institute

> Katrina Glynn Village Staff Liaison

> > Erin Griffin

Community Stakeholder, Climate and Communities Coordinator, The Wild Center Chairperson

Steve Dehond
Community Stakeholder, Tri-Lakes 350.org

Jenna Audlin Saranac Lake High School Student

Kristel Guimara
Instructor, North Country Community College

Harry Gordon
Architect, US Green Building Council

Becca Halter
Community Stakeholder, Adirondack Land Trust

Carolyn Koestner

Community Stakeholder, Lake Placid Land Conservancy

Diana Strablow Community Stakeholder, Sierra Club Niagara Group

Emmett Smith

Northern Power and Light Founder & CEO