Notice of Partisan Primary and Sample Ballots August 13, 2024

Office of the Dane County Clerk

To the voters of Dane County:

Notice is hereby given of a partisan primary to be held in Dane County on August 13, 2024, at which the nominees for the offices named below shall be chosen. The names of the candidates for each office, whose nominations have been certified to or filed in this office, are given under the title of the office under the appropriate party, each in its proper column, together with the questions submitted to a vote, if any, in the sample ballot below.

Information to Voters

Upon entering the polling place and before being permitted to vote, a voter shall:

- state their name and address
- show an acceptable form of photo identification*
- sign the poll book**

*If a voter does not have acceptable photo identification, the voter may obtain a free photo ID for voting from the Division of Motor Vehicles.

**If the voter is unable to sign the poll book due to disability, a poll worker may write the word "exempt."

If a voter is not registered to vote, they may register to vote at the polling place serving their residence if the voter provides proof of residence.

Where ballots are distributed to voters, the initials of two inspectors must appear on the ballot.

Upon being permitted to vote, the voter shall enter a voting booth or go to a machine and cast their ballot. The vote should not be cast in any manner other than specified here. Sample ballots or other materials to assist the voter in marking their ballot may be taken into the booth and copied. The sample ballot shall not be shown to anyone so as to reveal how the ballot is marked.

A voter who is a parent or guardian may be accompanied by the voter's minor child or minor ward.

An election official may inform the voter of the proper manner for casting a vote but the official may not advise or indicate a particular voting choice.

Assistance for Voting

A voter may select an individual to assist in casting their vote if the voter declares to the presiding official that they are unable to read, have difficulty reading, writing, or understanding English, or that due to disability are unable to cast their ballot. The selected individual rendering assistance may not be the voter's employer or an agent of that employer or an officer or agent of a labor organization which represents the voter. If a voter is unable to state their name and address, an assistant may also do so for the voter.

At the partisan primary, the voter shall select the party of their choice. Voting for candidates of more than one party may invalidate the ballot. The voter must cast a vote for individual candidates.

Where Optical Scan Voting is used

- If a party preference <u>is designated</u>, and votes are cast for ballot candidates of another party or write-in votes are cast in another party, only votes cast in the designated party will count.
- If a party preference <u>is not designated</u>, and votes are cast for candidates (or write-in votes are cast) in more than one party, no votes will be counted

Within the party of their choice, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the name of the candidate of their choice for each office for which they intend to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall write in the name of the person of their choice in the space provided for a write-in vote and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the write-in line. On referendum questions, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "no" if opposed to the question.

When using an *electronic ballot marking device* ("Express Vote") to mark an optical scan ballot, the voter shall touch the screen or use the tactile pad to select the party of their choice. The voter shall then touch the screen at the name of the candidate of their choice for each office for which they intend to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall type in the name of the person of their choice in the space provided for a write-in vote. On referendum questions, the voter shall touch the screen at "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall touch the screen at "no" if opposed to the question.

Spoiled Ballots

If a voter spoils an optical scan ballot, they shall return it to an election official who shall issue another ballot in its place, but not more than three ballots shall be issued to any one voter. If the ballot has not been initialed by two inspectors or is defective in any other way, the voter shall return it to the election official, who shall issue a proper ballot in its place.

After Voting the Ballot

After an official optical scan ballot is marked, it may be inserted in the security sleeve, so the marks do not show. The voter shall then insert the ballot in the voting device and discard the sleeve or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. If a central count system is used, the

voter shall insert the ballot in the ballot box and discard the sleeve or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. The voter shall leave the polling place promptly.

-							
Ihhh	+0110	14/16/01	10 0	sample	0+ +h0	Ottioiol.	hallat:
	1()11()	VV II IC I	\rightarrow		()I II I	OHICIAL	1)/111()1

Scott McDonell, Dane County Clerk

The foregoing ballot contains candidates in Senate District 16 and Assembly District 47. The following is a complete list of candidates for all Senate and Assembly Districts in Dane County.

Democratic	Republican	Constitution	Libertarian	Wisconsin Green
14 th Senate	14th Senate	14th Senate	14th Senate	14 th Senate
Sarah Keyeski	Joan A. Ballweg	None	None	None
16 th Senate Samba Baldeh Melissa Ratcliff Jimmy Anderson	16 th Senate None	16 th Senate None	16 th Senate None	16 th Senate None
26th Senate Kelda Helen Roys	26th Senate None	26th Senate None	26th Senate None	26 th Senate None

42 nd Assembly Maureen McCarville	42 nd Assembly	42nd Assembly	42 nd Assembly	42 nd Assembly
	Rebecca Witherspoon	None	None	None
43 rd Assembly Brienne Brown	43rd Assembly Scott L. Johnson Dylan Kurtz	43 rd Assembly None	43 rd Assembly None	43 rd Assembly None
46 th Assembly Joan Fitzgerald	46 th Assembly	46 th Assembly	46th Assembly	46th Assembly
	Jenifer Quimby	None	None	None
47 th Assembly Randy Udell Joe Maldonado	47 th Assembly None	47 th Assembly None	47 th Assembly None	47 th Assembly None
48th Assembly Bill Connors Avery K. Renk Andrew Hysell Rick E. Rose Goodwill Chekwube Obieze	48 th Assembly	48 th Assembly	48 th Assembly	48 th Assembly
	Lisa Rubrich	None	None	None
50th Assembly	50 th Assembly	50th Assembly	50 th Assembly None	50 th Assembly
Jenna Jacobson	Rich Johnson	None		None
51 st Assembly Elizabeth Grabe	51 st Assembly	51 st Assembly	51 st Assembly	51 st Assembly
	Todd Novak	None	None	None
76th Assembly	76th Assembly	76th Assembly	76th Assembly	76th Assembly
Francesca Hong	None	None	None	None
77 th Assembly Chuck Erickson Thad Schumacher Renuka Mayadev	77th Assembly None	77 th Assembly None	77th Assembly None	77th Assembly None
78th Assembly Shelia Stubbs Maia Pearson	78 th Assembly None	78 th Assembly None	78th Assembly None	78th Assembly None
79 th Assembly	79th Assembly	79th Assembly	79 th Assembly	79 th Assembly
Lisa Subeck	None	None	None	None
80 th Assembly Mike Bare Nasra Wehelia	80 th Assembly Robert Relph	80 th Assembly None	80 th Assembly None	80 th Assembly None
81st Assembly	81st Assembly	81st Assembly	81 st Assembly	81 st Assembly
Alex Joers	None	None	None	None