How To Close Your Facebook Account
If it's been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information. This wikiHow article teaches you how to delete your Facebook account permanently.
If you just want to take a break without deleting all your information, deactivate it instead. Step-by-step instructions to delete your Facebook account permanently, how long it takes, how to cancel, and alternatives like deactivation. If youre done with Facebook, worried about privacy, or want a permanent reset, this guide shows the difference between deactivating (temporary) and deleting (permanent) your account, with step-by-step instructions on the web, iPhone, and Android.
If you aren't quite ready to delete your Facebook account altogether but want to take a break from social media, you can deactivate your account. Visit the Facebook website on your computer, click your profile icon in the top-right corner, and go to Settings and Privacy > Settings. If your considering deleting or deactivating your Facebook, read CR's guide on how to download your data, make sure you can still access other accounts, and more.
Learn the difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook account and how to do it step by step. Find out how to access the Accounts Center or Facebook Settings and what to expect from each option. Delete your Facebook account easily via the Accounts Center in just minutes.
Lose all data, including photos and Messenger access. Cancel within 30 days. Tired of Facebook? Here are the simple steps to permanently delete your Facebook account and all of your history or deactivate it so you can recover it later.
Downloading your data and deleting Facebook does take time, but we'll guide you through what to expect and how to save everything before you permanently delete your account.