## MINUTES - MAY 27, 2023 DISTRICT COUNCIL MEETING

Call to Onder	District Director Crystal Cohb, DTM called the receting to and an at
Call to Order	District Director Crystal Cobb, DTM,called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM ET/2:30 PM AT
	Recognize attending dignitaries.
	Chair will use protocols
	DC members recognized
	DC members recognized
Inspirational Opening	Joe Reid read the inspiration opening
Reading of District Mission Statement	Antoine LeGreasely
Welcome and Opening remarks	District 45 District Director Crystal Cobb welcomed all attendees and gave opening remarks.
Credentials Committee	Kelley Demers gave the credentials report. Kelly recognized Crystal Cobb achieving DTM.
Report	80 eligible clubs in district. Each club has 2 votes, totaling 160 potential votes. 53 is quorum. There are 55 clubs represented which means quorum is present. There are 17 members of the DC present. Kelley announced that the test which ended this morning, the winner of the most important person was Winnie the Pooh who received 55% of the votes.
Administration Manager's Report	Approval of minutes on Sept 17, 2022 minutes - District Director Crystal Cobb asked if there were any errors or additions to the minutes from the previous District Council meeting that was held on September 17, 2022. Hearing none, the minutes were approved and declared as posted.
Confirmation of Appointed Officers	Area 18 director Jane Osumwedgee – jim kokacki motioned to confirm appointment, 2 <sup>nd</sup> by Fred Jamal. Declared appointment confirmed.
Realignment Report	The report was included in the DC report posted to the website.  Welcome Realignment Committee Chari – Jim Kockaki. Summarized report (Rox – as Jim had sent for DC report) April 12, submitted, DEC approved proposed realignment on April 13 with one alignment change Labradour moving in D45, Area 17. Comes into July 1, 2023.

Realignment committee worked on changes geographic proximities, parameters there must be at least 3 areas per division (Rox – follow Jim's report). Focus is service to members. As clubs continue to evolve, some clubs suspended, some new clubs. There may be changes after the conference, TI has final ruling. Note some distance might seem greater, hybrid formats helps to reduce distances. While AD responsible to visit, can call for help. 4 Divisions can send 2 contestants to the district level speech contest.

## Realignment Report (Continued)

Motion to approve realignment report Kathi Zicker, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Sam Boduch. Sheila Oranch – provided a comment – like White Mountain TM going to Area 15 because only club who meets on a Wednesday night. That means can attend other clubs and support each other. Was that part of the consideration in the realignment? Jim answered identified that it was not a consideration.

Tom Macisso – strong objection to Blueberry Hill moving to a different area where fully entrenched in Portland ME, now in with NH in Area 10 – culture and geography are different.

Jonathan Bohm – prpose amendement to realignment – Toasting Cibizent of Portsmouth, NY be added to Area 10 – newly charter since rport was voted on in April, Sheila Oranch 2<sup>nd</sup>.

Vote on the amendment. In room – raised hands in favor online hands for nay and nay in person

Yays have it – the motion for the amendment is carried.

Vote to accept the motion – to accept realignment proposal with the addition of the amendment to add Toasting Citizines.

A concern was raised that there are only 3 clubs in Area 16. Area 16 has 6 clubs with none in suspension.

Vote to accept the realignment report with the addition of the club. In person and on line raised hands in favor; nays raise hand in person and online. Yays have it, the motion is carried.

## Election of 2023 – District Election Committee Chair, Patricia McNevin: 2024 District The District leadership committee had a turmultuoutout iem finding Officers candidates. Committee members worked diligenet Deb Kumpf, Bill Bruns, Ray Sevois, Karen Caldwell, ME Lawlor. They descrve a huge Thank You. The nominees of District Officers for the 2023 - 2024 are as follows: • District Director – Angela Chute, DTM Paul Coddington DTM Program Quality – Dawna-Jean Turchon DTM Club Growth – Sherry McDonald DTM Division A & G – no candidate Division B – Ivanoa Cookson Division C – Dave Stonehouse • D – Jenny Theiriault G – Elise Thorson There will be opportunity for nominations from the floor. Thank you to DD Cobb, District Leadership Committee for allowing service as Chair. Office of District Director – Angela Chute, Paul Coddington. Each will be given a 2 minute speech in alphabetical. Time is Anne Doucette. Angela Chute – 2 minute speech. Paul Coddington – 2 minute speech. Credentials Chair Kelley Demers instructed voters on how to cast ballots – in person and on line will receive an electronic email. There will be 10 minutes to cast ballot. Report of 2022 -Mid-year audit report presented by Ray Savoie shared highlights of 2023 Audit the mid-year 2022-2023 Audit Committee Report included the Committee Annual DC Report. Committee met in Feb. 2023. (Rox – see Sam's report). The committee confirmed that supporting documents and transactions were approved. The committee agreed that the District followed procedures. The DC accepted the report. Finance Manager Finance Manager Sam Boduch, presented a report on the state of Report the District 45 finances as of April 2023. This report and its highlights are on pages \_\_\_ and \_\_\_ of the Annual DC Report. Sam discussed the variances indicated on the report. Some information

has yet to be updated with TI and should be reflected in the end of

	year budget.
	This is an unaudited report and does not get voted on.
	Question as for clarification of travel. Question
	Finance manager report will be placed file as presented
Division Director Reports	Each of the Division Directors listed below presented a two-minute report, Anne Doucette is the Timer.
	<ul> <li>Marcia Rogowski – (credentials) Division A Director</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Jonathan Bohm, DTM – Division B Director</li> </ul>
	Antoine LeGreaslye (creditals) - Division C Director
	Michael Lawlor (credential) Division D
	<ul> <li>Susanne Melling (credentials) - Division G Director</li> </ul>
Senior District	The following SLT members delivered a two-minute report:
Leader Reports	PRM – Lesely Carter report
	Club Growth Director – Paul Coddington DTM report
	Program Quality Director – Crystal Cobb provided report
	District Director - Crystal Cobb report
Election Results	Angele Chute will be the next District Director
Election results	Program Quality Director – Dawna Jean Turchon gave a 2 minute speech, Paull Coddington self-nominated and gave a 2 minute speech. Paul Coddington won the election.
	Club Growth Director – Sherry McDonald – Administration Manager submits the vote for Sherry.  Division Directors:
	A – no candidates – Joe Reid nominates Elise Thorsen as Div A Dir, Elise accepted. Administration Manager cast single ballot for Elise Thorsen to be next Div A Dir.
	B – 1 nominated candidate – Ivona Cookson, Administration Manager to cast single ballot for Ivona Cookson to be the next Div B Dire
	C – 1 nominated candate Dave Stonehouse – AM cast single ballot for next Div C Dir
	D – 1 nominated – Jenny Theireault – AM cast single ballot for Jenny for Div D Dir
	Congratulations to the n2022-2023 District Leadership Team.
Unfinisheed Business	None
New Business	None

Announcements	The International Speech Contest is next on the conference agend
Date of Next DC Meeting	The meeting will be held online sometime in September as it needs to be held in September 2023
Adjournment	Meeting adjourned at 1:45 ET. Motion to adjourn and $2^{nd}$ at 3:42 PM ET/4:42 PM AT
Minutes Recorded	Minutes recorded by: Administration Manager Roxanne Benzel, MS3