The Nowhere Man

Things I'm reading. Things that fascinate me. Things that make me smile.

Wed, 21 Feb 24 16:21:50 -0700

Crooked Timber - Death, Lonely Death

"At the speed of light, the Moon is one and a half seconds away. The Sun is about 8 minutes away. Voyager is twenty-two hours away." #space #voyager #nasa

Wed, 21 Feb 24 12:56:56 -0700

Wired - Apple’s iMessage Is Getting Post-Quantum Encryption

#apple #imessage #pq3 #encryption #cryptography #security

Thu, 15 Feb 24 11:15:50 -0700

Daily Mail - Sir Paul McCartney is 'reunited' with treasured bass guitar he bought for £30 in 1961

"A representativ [sic] for McCartney said: 'Following the launch of last year's Lost Bass project, Paul's 1961 Höfner 500/1 bass guitar, which was stolen in 1972, has been returned. The guitar has been authenticated by Höfner and Paul is incredibly grateful to all those involved.'" #beatles #paulmccartney

Mon, 12 Feb 24 22:56:12 -0700

NPR - Bob Edwards, NPR's longtime 'Morning Edition' host, dies at 76 : NPR

#npr

Fri, 09 Feb 24 10:27:26 -0700

AV Club - 60 years ago today, The Beatles and Ed Sullivan changed, well, everything

"Devoid of context it’s just a historical fact, an anniversary of something that happened a long time ago. But through a cultural lens, it’s arguably one of the most significant events of the 20th century" #beatles #music

Thu, 25 Jan 24 11:23:13 -0700

Ars Technica - Wild Apples: The 12 weirdest and rarest Macs ever made

#apple #macintosh

Wed, 24 Jan 24 16:08:38 -0700

Fast Company - 40 years later, the original Mac is more amazing than ever

#apple #macintosh

Wed, 17 Jan 24 15:36:55 -0700

Prime Video - Northern Exposure

One of my all time favorite shows is finally streaming 🙌 "It's not the thing you fling. It's the fling itself." #NorthernExposure #tv #primevideo

Thu, 11 Jan 24 07:56:34 -0700

Variety - TV - ‘Julia’ Canceled After Two Seasons at Max

Bummer, I liked this one. #tv

Wed, 03 Jan 24 11:19:22 -0700

Roku - Introducing Roku Pro Series TVs

#roku #tv #smarttv #smarthome

Fri, 29 Dec 23 10:32:15 -0700

TechDirt - Every Major Pharmacy Chain Is Giving The Government Warrantless Access To Medical Records

"Three chains (CVS, Kroger, and Rite Aid) all told Congress they don’t even do a legal review of the subpoenas handed to them by government agencies" #privacy

Thu, 28 Dec 23 11:39:59 -0700

Interesting Engineering - New York Times sues OpenAI And Microsoft over AI copying its content

Thu, 21 Dec 23 13:34:32 -0700

TechCrunch - Beeper says it’s done trying to bring iMessage to Android

Well, that was entertaining even though the ending was entirely predictable. #apple #beepermini #imessage

Sat, 16 Dec 23 22:19:11 -0700

Variety- Mayim Bialik Leaving 'Jeopardy!'

You won’t hear any complaints from me. #jeopardy #tv

Wed, 06 Dec 23 15:14:34 -0700

Bleeping Computer - US senator: Govts spy on Apple, Google users via mobile notifications

"Data collection through this method helps link devices to Apple or Google accounts and may also allow access to unencrypted notification content, including text displayed on the receiving smartphone." #privacy

Sat, 18 Nov 23 10:52:09 -0700

Texts.com - Sunbird / ‘Nothing Chats’ is Not Secure

#security #privacy

Sun, 29 Oct 23 13:31:18 -0700

Variety - TV - ‘The Bear’ Star Matty Matheson Drops Free Digital Cookbook, ‘Cookin’ Somethin’ for Co

#food #cooking #thebear

Fri, 13 Oct 23 10:33:16 -0700

Variety - Kelsey Grammer’s ‘Frasier’ Reboot Is More Charming Than Expected

#tv #frasier

Sun, 08 Oct 23 19:26:50 -0700

Variety - Michael Chiarello Dead: Former Food Network Star Was 61

#food #cooking

Fri, 06 Oct 23 14:42:29 -0700

Bloomberg - The Moral Case for No Longer Engaging With Elon Musk’s X

Thu, 21 Sep 23 10:06:12 -0700

Recode - Gen Z falls for online scams more than their boomer grandparents do

"Gen Z Americans were three times more likely to get caught up in an online scam than boomers were (16 percent and 5 percent, respectively). Compared to boomers, Gen Z was also twice as likely to have a social media account hacked (17 percent and 8 percent). Fourteen percent of Gen Z-ers surveyed said they’d had their location information misused, more than any other generation"

Fri, 08 Sep 23 22:51:45 -0700

Ars Technica - Google gets its way, bakes a user-tracking ad platform directly into Chrome

#privacy #chrome

Thu, 07 Sep 23 17:36:38 -0700

Krebs on Security - Experts Fear Crooks are Cracking Keys Stolen in LastPass Breach

"a steady trickle of six-figure cryptocurrency heists targeting security-conscious people throughout the tech industry has led some security experts to conclude that crooks likely have succeeded at cracking open some of the stolen LastPass vaults" #lastpass #security

Tue, 29 Aug 23 18:55:17 -0700

Variety - TV - ‘Only Murders in the Building’: All the Meryl Streep Easter Eggs Inside Loretta’s Apa

#merylstreep #omitb #onlymurdersinthebuilding

Tue, 15 Aug 23 15:51:25 -0700

‘American Graffiti’ at 50: An oral history of ‘the quintessential hot rod movie’

#americangraffiti #movies

Tue, 15 Aug 23 07:28:02 -0700

Variety - Linear TV Viewing Drops Below 50% of U.S. Television Usage for First Time, Streaming Hits

#streaming #ott #tv

Fri, 11 Aug 23 17:24:21 -0700

Restore Privacy - Is Telegram Sharing User Data with Government Agencies?

#telegram #privacy

Thu, 03 Aug 23 13:15:46 -0700

Politico - If Trump Gets Convicted, Blame Ulysses S. Grant

"Grant works as an example in almost any situation. That's Grant's legacy." - CJ Cregg #thewestwing

Wed, 02 Aug 23 09:32:58 -0700

Why I’m switching to Home Assistant

#iot #homeassistant #staceyoniot #kevintofel

Thu, 27 Jul 23 12:30:03 -0700

Tesla created secret team to suppress thousands of driving range complaints

#tesla #elonmusk

Thu, 27 Jul 23 10:16:29 -0700

‘Righteous Gemstones’ Renewed for Season 4 at HBO

#righteousgemstones #tv #hbo

Mon, 24 Jul 23 08:43:58 -0700

How Signal Walks the Line Between Anarchism and Pragmatism

#signal #security #privacy #ee2e #MoxieMarlinspike

Thu, 20 Jul 23 08:51:18 -0700

Kevin Mitnick, hacker and fugitive turned security consultant, dies at 59

#kevinmitnick #ghostinthewires #security

Fri, 14 Jul 23 19:57:32 -0700

The Most Important Machine That Was Never Built

Fri, 30 Jun 23 09:03:22 -0700

Who killed Google Reader?

#rss #googlereader #killedbygoogle

Sat, 24 Jun 23 09:35:00 -0700

Why the Owner of the Shop That Inspired ‘The Bear’ Hasn’t Seen the Show: ‘Somebody’s Still Got to Ma

#tv #thebear

Mon, 19 Jun 23 17:36:52 -0700

Transfer your Google Domains to Namecheap today - Namecheap Blog

#namecheap #googledomains #killedbygoogle

Fri, 16 Jun 23 10:45:12 -0700

The US government is buying your data to spy on you

#privacy

Wed, 31 May 23 23:15:21 -0700

‘Sex and the City’ Shocker: Kim Cattrall to Return as Samantha Jones With ‘And Just Like That…’ Came

#sexandthecity #kimcattrall

Wed, 31 May 23 10:53:55 -0700

‘ER’ Writers Reunion on WGA Picket Line Puts Sharp Focus on What TV Has Lost Amid the Streaming Boom

#wga #wgastrike

Fri, 26 May 23 13:55:08 -0700

Goodbye, ‘Succession’: A Pre-Finale Ode to the Great Show of Our Time

#succession #tv

Fri, 26 May 23 09:33:19 -0700

‘Weird Al’ Yankovic on Outlasting the Stars He Parodies, Why He’s Not Making New Music and the Truth

#weirdal

Wed, 24 May 23 21:17:39 -0700

Bitwarden to launch passkey management | Bitwarden Blog

#security #passkeys #bitwarden

Tue, 09 May 23 18:45:18 -0700

From Netflix to HBO, the terrible design of streaming is ruining TV

#streaming #ott #ux #design

Tue, 09 May 23 15:34:31 -0700

Google Authenticator's Cloud Sync Security Not Up to the Task | RestorePrivacy

#security #privacy

Mon, 24 Apr 23 19:27:45 -0700

YouTube Music sends erroneous ‘preview ends soon’ notification

#youtubemusic

Tue, 18 Apr 23 16:36:24 -0700

TikTok may get banned, but our phones will still be fully loaded with Chinese apps

Wed, 05 Apr 23 17:07:24 -0700

Twitter singles NPR out with misleading state-backed media label

"NPR doesn’t meet Twitter’s own definition for a state-affiliated account" #deletetwitter

Sun, 02 Apr 23 22:18:09 -0700

The Home Assistant SkyConnect is a combination Zigbee and Thread dongle for better smart home contro

#iot #homeassistant

Fri, 31 Mar 23 10:35:43 -0700

Party over: Arizona chefs, restaurants shut out of James Beard Awards

"Last year, Chris Bianco of Phoenix’s Tratto, Pane Bianco and Pizzeria Bianco was honored for outstanding restaurateur, while Don Guerra of Tucson’s Barrio Bread was named outstanding baker. Bianco also won in 2003." #food #jamesbeardawards #az