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Quiz #6- 2015                                                                                                                                                 
Prepared by: Jerry Peters in association with                                                                                                       

Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer 

NFHS Rules 

1. A, 2/5 @ B’s 30 YL. A1’s pass is intercepted by B1. While A1’s pass was in flight B2 was flagged for 
defensive pass interference (DPI). After the interception the BJ blows his whistle inadvertently. 
Ruling: A will accept the DPI penalty. The accepted penalty takes precedence over the 
inadvertent whistle. The result is A, 1/10  @ B’s 15 YL.  Rule: 4-2-3(d) 

2. A1 scores a TD on a long pass. On the Try K’s ball boy hands another ball (“kicking ball”) to the LJ to 
bring in for the Try kick. Ruling: The request to change the ball shall be denied. A request 
from a team for a ball change can only be granted for a free kick or to start a new series. 
However, the officials may request a new ball in inclement weather conditions.  Rule: 
1-3-2 and Case play: 1.3.2 Sit. A. 

3. A, 1/10 @ A’s 20 YL. During a run play at A’s 40 YL the HL collides with one of B’s assistant coaches 
in the restricted area, the HL throws his flag. A1 is downed at B’s 35 YL. The R gives signal 38 
(personal foul) and signal 27 (UNS) and the crew marks the penalty off from the spot of the foul. 
Ruling: Incorrect. First, the R should give signal 38 (personal foul) and 29 (sideline 
interference). Since this was a contact foul it is never unsportsmanlike conduct. 
Secondly, the penalty is enforced from the succeeding spot. The result of the play will A, 
1/10 @ B’s 20 YL.  Rule: 9-4-8 and Case play: 9.4.8 Sit. A. 

    
4. A, 3/6 @ B’s 45 YL. B1’s helmet comes completely off during an attempt to tackle A2. B1 remains in 

contact with A2 and A2 drags B1 3 yards before going to the ground. The U throws a flag on B1 for 
illegal participation for continuing to participate after his helmet came off. Ruling: Incorrect, this is 
not a foul. Since B1 was engaged in the “immediate action” and never lost contact with 
A1 this is still legal. However after the play is over B1 must still leave the field for one 
play.  Rule: 9-6-4(g), 3-5-10(d) and Case play 9.6.4 Sit. G. 

5. A, 3/15 @ A’s 45 YL. A1 is involved in close line play with B1. A1’s helmet comes completely off as the 
play continues downfield without being caused by a foul by any B player. A1 continues downfield but 
does not touch anyone throughout the remainder of the play. The LJ sees A1 continue downfield 
without his helmet and doesn’t throw a flag since he did not participate in any contact.  Ruling: 
Incorrect, this is a foul for illegal participation on A1. Once his helmet came completely 
off he is to cease involvement with the play. He must also leave for one play. Rule: 9-6-4, 
3-5-10(g) and Case play: 9.6.4 Sit. F. 

6. After A1 crosses B’s GL. He immediately raises the ball in the air for a second. He stops and crosses 
his chest with one hand and points to the sky with the other hand briefly. He then looks into the 
stands and gives the “feed me” (like a spoon into his mouth motion) and pounds his chest. Ruling: 

The Rules Geek



The ball in the air, the crossing of the chest and the pointing to the sky are all legal acts. 
But when A1 gave the “feed me” motion and pounding his chest he must be penalized 
with UNS. Rule: Gold Book page. 47 #7-L. 

                                     
                                                       OHSAA Mechanics 

7. Two upright opposing players start to throw punches at each other. The U gets between them and 
pushes them away from each other. Ruling: Incorrect. When players are fighting standing 
upright do not get between them. It’s not until they go to the ground that we attempt to 
break it up. Gold book: Pg. 12 #9.B. 

8. After a penalty the calling official runs 10 steps to get closer to the R to yell the foul, give the signal 
and tell the number of the offending player. Ruling: Incorrect. Immediately give a preliminary 
signal from where you are standing after the ball becomes dead. To many officials are 
walking and/or running many steps before they give a hand signal to the R. Gold book: pg. 
18- #27.B. 

9. The passer is tackled, the R determines his passing arm was going forward at the time he was 
tackled and it’s ruled an incomplete pass. The R only gives the incomplete pass signal (2X).  Ruling: 
Incorrect. The R will signal incomplete pass (2X), however he additionally must give the 
pass signal (2X), (the pass signal 34 in rule book) Gold Book: Pg. 23- #32. DD 

                                                          OHSAA Regulations 

10. During a wet weather game A’s HC sends in his composite game balls to be checked before the game 
instead of his leather game balls. The U tells the host management the game balls must be leather 
and not a rubber composite ball. Ruling: Incorrect. Leather or composite balls can be used 
for the game as long as the ball conforms to all of the requirements of NFHS rule 1-3-1. 
In weeks 11-15 the official game ball is a Wilson GST but still the balls can be leather of 
composite. Gold Book:  Pg. 35 #9.A thru C. 


