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Quiz #3- 2019
Prepared by: Jerry Peters in association with
Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer

NFHS Rules

K, 4/14 @ K’'s 40 YL. K1 brings his “kicking” ball in and hands it to the U. The U switches the balls. Ruling: The request to
change the ball is denied. A request from a team for a ball change can only be granted for a free kick or to start a
new series. However, the officials may request a new ball in inclement weather conditions; this request may be
approved. Lastly, a ball change can be granted to K on a Try kick after a TD was scored and there was a COP during
the down in which the TD was scored. Rule: 1-3-2 and Case play: 1.3.2 Sit. A.

K, 4/13 @ K’s 30 YL. K1’s punt is low and strikes K2 in the helmet @ K's 32 YL. The ball continues in flight to K’'s 48 YL where it's
downed by K3. The R gives the RT the option of taking the ball @ K’s 32 YL or taking the result of the play. Ruling: Incorrect,
there has been no first touching by K2 because the low kick touched K2 in the expanded NZ. Therefore, the touching
is ignored. The result of the play is RT’s ball @ K's 48 YL. Rule: 6.2.6 and Case play 6-2-6. Sit.

A, 3/3 @ B’s 45 YL. 1:56 remaining in the 2Q with the GC running. A56 false starts. The U marks off the penalty and the R gives the
RFP and winds the GC. Ruling: Incorrect, with less than 2 minutes in the 2Q or 4Q team B can choose to have the GC
started on the snap. The R must work with his respective wing official on team B’s SL to ensure B understands their
options. Rule: 3.4.7 and Case play 3-4-7. Sit. A

:04 remaining in the 4Q with the RT trailing by 2 points. On the previous play K was penalized for a 15-yard penalty during a Try. RT
chose to have the accepted penalty enforced from the succeeding spot. The FK is being made from K’s 20 YL. K1's FK is short and R1
signals for a FC; however, R3 catches K1’s kick. RT’s HC states he will attempt a FK after FC. The crew lines up for the attempt and
informs B they must maintain a 10-yard distance like a FK. Ruling: Incorrect! RT does not have the choice to attempt a FK
after a FC. The ball became dead immediately when R3 caught the ball, but it is not a FC. Rule 6-5-3

K, 4/15 @ K’s 20 YL. K1's punt is short and grounded at K’s 28 YL. The kicked ball is muffed by R1 and rolls back to K’'s 18 YL. K2
picks up the ball and advances for a touchdown. Ruling: Correct. There was no recovery by the RT beyond the NZ, only a
muff. The recovery by K2 behind (or in) the NZ allows K2 to advance. Rule: 6-2-3 and Case play 6.2.3 Sit. A.

Team B leads by 5 points with: 02 remaining in the 4Q. As time expires A12 runs the ball beyond the LTG and throws a forward pass
to A81 in B's EZ. Team B’s HC accepts the illegal forward pass penalty and the R signals there will be an untimed down. On the
untimed down Team A scores a TD and wins the game by 1 point. Ruling: Incorrect. There should never have been an
untimed down. The accepted penalty for an illegal forward pass also includes a provision for a loss of down.
Therefore, the game should have been over as you cannot have an untimed down due to the loss of down. Rule: 3.3.4
and Case play: 3-3-4 Situation A.

K1 attempts to down a punt beyond the NZ, but his touching only slows it down. The bouncing ball is subsequently recovered by R1,
who advances 40 yards but then fumbles and K1 recovers. K1 is immediately tackled. Ruling: RT may either takes the result of
the play or retain possession by taking the ball at the spot of K1's first touching. RT can exercise this option, unless
after R1 touches the ball, R commits a foul, or the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down. Rule:
6-2-5 and Case play 6.2.5 Sit. A.

OHSAA Mechanics

After a foul the calling official runs 10 steps to get closer to the R to yell the foul, give the signal and tell the number of the offending
player. Ruling: Incorrect. Immediately give a preliminary signal from where you are standing after the ball becomes
dead. Too many officials are walking and/or running too many steps before they give a hand signal to the R. Gold
book: pg. 19- #27.B.

On a FK that’s kicked close to R’s GL. R10 catches the FK on the RT 1/2 YL. The R winds the GC and the HL blows his whistle and
signals a TB. Ruling: Incorrect. R is the only official on a FK to rule on a TB. If the R rules TB then both Wings will
signal TB along with the R. Reference: GB pg. 16, #21-D-#1, #3 & #7.

OHSAA Regulations
Team A is using 3 drones over the field to record the game. Team B’s HC asks the R to have the drones removed. Rule: The R

shall inform Team B’s HC that the officials have no jurisdiction on whether drones can be used during the regular
season. It is the decision of the home school. Reference: GB pg. 35, #6



