
      

Rules
1. A throws a long pass toward the end zone as time is running out for the half. A82 is 

called for OPI. The ball is intercepted by B27 and is returned for a TD. During the return 
the GC expires and there are two block-in-the-back fouls called. The crew offsets the 
penalties and replays the down.  Ruling: Incorrect. B will decline the OPI call because 
acceptance will result in a double foul and give A an untimed down. They get first 
choice because they were the last to have the ball (Rule 10-2-3) A will accept the most 
advantageous BIB call, but since the penalty was accepted, B will get one untimed 
down (Rule 3-3-3a)

2. K 4/9 on K30YL.  K is in scrimmage kick formation. At the snap, R79 immediately holds 
and takes down K55. The hold takes place in the neutral zone. R48 makes a fair catch at 
the R34. The HL rules that the hold on R should be enforced from the LOS, giving K a 
first down on its 40YL.  Ruling: Correct. This is not a PSK foul on R as it takes place in 
the neutral zone (Rule 2-16-h3) and is enforced from the previous spot (Rule 10-4-2b).

3.  A 3/10 on B15YL.  A12 runs to the B10 where he is tackled. A12 spikes the ball at the 
end of the play, drawing a UNS foul. Seconds later, B72 curses at the official and draws 
a UNS. The crew offset the two UNS fouls and mark it A 4/5 on the B10.   Ruling: 
Correct. (Rule 10-2-5b) the UNS fouls offset despite the difference in the order of 
occurrence. 

4. A 4/8 on A24YL.  A is in scrimmage kick formation. The snap goes over the punter’s 
head, where it is recovered at the A8. The punter manages to kick the ball, and is then 
roughed by B48. The kick rolls to the A14, where it is surrounded by players from both 
teams. K9 picks up the ball, stands for a second, and runs for a TD. The crew declines 
the RTK foul and awards the score.  Ruling: Incorrect. Everything is correct (Rule 5-1-4 
covers the advancement of the ball), except that the RTK foul can be enforced on the 
Try or on the subsequent KO as per Rule 8-2-2.

5. K 4/15 on A24YL.  K is in scrimmage kick formation. K27 and K87 both shift to their 
blocking positions just as the ball is snapped. R29 makes a fair catch at the R49. What 
are the options?  R 1st/10 @ K’s 46 YL.  R can accept the 5-yard penalty at the previous 
spot & replay the down or accept the penalty at the succeeding spot. (10-4-2 exception).

6. A 2/3 on A37.  A19 scrambles and throws a forward pass from the A46. The pass is 
incomplete. During the play, A60 is flagged for being illegally downfield. Ruling: 1/10 for 
A at the A41. The loss of down penalty does not apply since the enforcement of the 

Upon Further Review

OHSAA Officiating Quiz Week Seven

Eric Mauk



penalty takes the ball past the LTG (Rule 5-2-2c). Also, there is no foul for IED as the 
restrictions for lineman only exist on legal forward passes (Rule 7-5-12).

7. K 4/12 on K49.  K7 lines up four yards behind the LOS and after receiving the snap, 
executes a quick kick, punting the ball to the R12 where it is downed. The LJ throws a 
flag for kicking from fewer than seven yards behind the LOS. Ruling: Incorrect. It is not 
necessary to be in a scrimmage kick formation to execute a legal scrimmage kick. (Rule 
6-2-1). Kicking from that formation DOES remove the restrictions on roughing the 
snapper, as you can only have that foul if K is in a scrimmage kick formation (Rule 9-4-
6).

Mechanics

8. A 3/13, A47 YL.  A74 is called for holding at the B49. The run ends at the B47. Upon 
confirmation of the call, the U takes the ball and marches 10 yards from the spot of the 
foul and signals third down.  Ruling: The enforcement is correct, but the Crew should 
ALWAYS check with the HC or his designated representative and give the options for 
acceptance or declination of a penalty when there is any doubt about whether the 
penalty will be accepted or declined. (Gold Book PG 19, Sec 27F) The HC may want to 
decline and set up a fourth down play

9. A14, in an effort to avoid being sacked, throws a forward pass 30 yards downfield and 
10 yards OOB. The R, BJ and Wing on the side of the pass all throw their flags for 
intentional grounding. They get together and agree on the call prior to enforcement. 
Ruling: incorrect. One of the few calls that is the sole domain of the R (Gold Book PG 
17, Sec. 26C) Intentional Grounding is an R only flag thrown. When Crew members 
know there are no receivers in the area, get the info to the R ASAP.

Regulations

10.3/5 on B22.  A86 is lined up wide, with his mouthpiece hanging from his helmet. The HL 
does not see the mouthpiece until the play has started. He throws the flag for Failure to 
Wear Required Equipment.  Ruling: This is incorrect. While Rule 1 spells out what 
equipment is to be worn, there is no longer a penalty for not wearing it. Rule 1-5-5 
allows for calling an official’s time out if detected prior to the play.  The player shall be 
replaced for at least one down, unless halftime or OT intermission occurs.


