Upon Further Review

OHSAA Officiating Quiz Week Two 2022

Eric Mauk

Rules

. A1/100n A’s 20YL — At the snap, A65 blocks B78 between the shoulders and the waist.
Simultaneously, A59 blocks B78 below the waist but above the knees. The U penalizes

A for an illegal chop block. Ruling: Correct. The new definition of Rule 2-3-8 states that
A chop block is a combination block where contact is made above and below the waist.

. A 3/17 on B’s 39YL — Out of timeouts, A is trailing 7-6 with 17 seconds left in the 4th
quarter. A81 catches a pass on the B15 and is tackled there in bounds with 10 seconds
left. B58 is flagged for pass interference for restricting a potential receiver. A declines
the 15 yard penalty and tries to kick the game winning field goal but time expires prior
to the snap. Ruling: Incorrect. Rule 3-4-7 now states that when a foul is committed, the
offended team has the option to start the clock on the snap.

. A3/9 on B’s 26YL — A14 is a passer and has remained in the free blocking zone
throughout the play. Unable to find an open receiver, A14 throws the ball out of bounds
away from any Team A receiver and short of the LOS. While in the motion of throwing
the ball, B74 pulls A14’s jersey with enough force to alter his throwing motion. A14 is
called for intentional grounding. Ruling: Incorrect. As stated in the SRI meeting,
contact on the passer during the throwing motion negates a potential intentional
grounding foul.

. KFree Kick from the K’s 40YL — K’s kickoff comes down at the R7 and is muffed by R20.
Unable to secure the ball, he intentionally kicks it through the back of his/her own end
zone to prevent K from recovering it. Ruling: The result of the play is a touchback as the
kick had not ended, since no one secured possession. R7’s kick is illegal (Rule 9-7-1).
Since the kick had not ended, if accepted by K, the 10 yard penalty is enforced from the
previous spot.

. A3/9on A’s 24YL — A12 drops back to pass and is under pressure. He/she retreats to
the A5YL and being chased outside the nine yard marks when he/she throws the ball
out of bounds to avoid a loss of yardage. The ball crosses the sideline at the A15, but
does not reach the neutral zone extended beyond the sideline. A is penalized for
intentional grounding. Ruling: Correct. The 2022 rule change allows the QB to throw the
ball away to save a loss of yardage, but the ball must reach the neutral zone (Rule 7-5-
2d, Exception 2)

. A2/4on A’s 39YL — A39 is lined up as a slot back and is off the line and outside the
tackle box at the snap. A39 runs a jet sweep style motion and gets a handoff from A13



10.

in the tackle box. A39 is still in the tackle box when he/she is pressured and throws the
ball OOB well past the LOS. A39 is penalized for intentional grounding. Ruling: Correct.
A39 was not a passer until he/she had the football as throws a legal forward pass as per
2-32-11; therefore, A39 would need to leave the tackle box AFTER getting the ball to
satisfy the conditions of 7-5-2d, exception 2.

A2/9 on B’s 38 — A10 is under duress outside the tackle box and throws a pass into an
unoccupied area. The pass is headed toward the neutral zone when B 78 knocks it down
to the ground. The LJ throws a flag for intentional grounding. Ruling? Incorrect. When a
pass contacts a player prior to its crossing the NZ, it is considered to have reached the
NZ, if in the judgment of the officials it would have reached the neutral zone. Therefore,
there is no intentional grounding.

Mechanic

A passer is under duress outside of the tackle box and throws a pass very near the LOS
to avoid a loss of yardage. How does the crew rule on whether or not the ball reached
the LOS? Ruling: The U will go to the spot where the ball lands and report his/her
finding to the R, who can then make the ruling. U will not make the ruling, as he/she has
no information as to whether or not the passer was out of the tackle box.

A3/2 on A’s 45YL — A12 is sacked at the A36. After ensuring there is no dead-ball action
to cover, the CJ spots the ball at the A36 for the fourth-down play. Ruling: Correct. A
2022 mechanics change now allows the CJ — when used — to spot the ball after a sack.
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Regulations

A team has petitioned the OHSAA to extend their team box to the 10YL. They have the
proper documentation to support. During a live-ball situation, the HC is in the team box
at the 15YL giving instruction to his team. This is the first instance of this during the
game. Ruling: Sideline warning. The extended team box does not pertain to the
coaching staff, who must stay between the 25 yard lines as per normal restriction. FB
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