
     The Whistle
                             Quiz #7 – September 22, 2022

                 Prepared By: Greg Bartemes in association with Beau Rugg and Bruce Maurer

_____________________________________________________________________________

NFHS Rules
1. K 4

th
/6 on K’s 28 YL.   K22’s punt is caught by R32 and returned 8 YDS where R32 is tackled.  During 

the kick, K is flagged for illegal formation, 5 players in the backfield.  R’s HC chose to move K back 5 

YDS from the previous spot and re-kick.  What is the status of the GC?  Does it start on the RFP whistle 

or the snap?  Ruling – The GC should start on the RFP whistle on any down beginning with a 
snap if the GC was stopped for any reason other than specified in rule 3-4-3 and since 
there was no change of position.  (3-4-2, 3-4-3)

2. K 4
th
/4 on K’s 28 YL. K22’s punt is caught by R32 and returned 8 YDS where R32 is tackled.  During the 

kick R55 is flagged for running into the kicker.  RT’s foul results in a 1
st
 down for K.  What is the status 

of the GC?  Does it start on the RFP whistle or the snap?   Ruling – The GC should start on the 
snap as K was awarded a new series following a legal kick.  (3-4-3c)

3. B32 intercepts A12’s pass at his own 3 YL and his momentum carries him into the EZ.  While trying to 

run the ball out of the EZ, B45 is called for holding in the EZ.  What is the result of the play?  Ruling – 
The enforcement spot for the foul is the spot of the foul using the All-But-One Principle.  
The result of the play is a safety since the spot of the foul is in the EZ which is behind the 
momentum spot (which should have a bean bag from the BJ at the B 2 YL) or any other 
spot of advancement. (10-6)

4. A 3
rd
/goal on B’s 7 YL.  A32 runs the ball off tackle for a TD.  During the run B51 is flagged for a 15 YD 

facemask foul.  What are the options which should be given to A?   Ruling –   This is Rule 8-2.  If 
the opponent of the scoring team fouls during a down where a TD is scored, the scoring 
team has the option of accepting the results of the play and choosing enforcement EITHER 
on the Try or on the subsequent KO.  (8-2-2,3,4,5)

5. A12 throws a forward pass to A42 toward the SL and behind the LOS.  A42 then throws a 20 YD pass 

downfield to A82 and B43 is flagged for DPI by the BJ.  After a brief Crew discussion, the R signals 

that the illegal forward pass foul and DPI foul offset and the down is to be replayed.  Ruling – 
Incorrect.  Pass interference restrictions only apply beyond the NZ, only to a legal forward 
pass, & untouched by B, which crosses the NZ.  Therefore, there is no DPI foul.  (7-5-7)



6. A 3
rd
/8 on A’s 35 YL.  A12’s pass is intercepted by B32 at B’s 45 YL.  B32 returns the 

interception up field where he is hit, then fumbles, and A45 recovers the fumble.  As a result, 

it is A, 1
st
/10.  What is the status of the GC?  What is the status of the PC?  Ruling – The GC 

should start with the RFP whistle and the 25s PC should start as well.  (3-4-2a, 3-4-4b, 3-
5-7c, 3-6-1a1e)

7. K45 is running down field to cover their punt and runs under the kick where the kick hits K45 in the 

back. R22 was in position to try to field the punt.  The BJ did not flag K45 telling the RT’s HC that R22 

would not be able to catch the kick since it hit K45 in the back.  Ruling – Incorrect, this is KCI, 
K45 must allow R22 an unobstructed opportunity to catch the ball.  (6-5-6, 6.5.6 sit C)

OHSAA Mechanics
8. A22 runs a sweep around the end, running OOB 12 YDS up field and into the opponent’s bench.  The 

BJ hustled over to the SL, found A22, and walked him back to the playing field and A’s side of the new 

LOS.  At halftime the R suggested to the BJ that he/she should stay at least 5 YDS from the SL and DB 

officiate noting the LOS officials can help those players back to the field.   Ruling – Incorrect.  The 
BJ is to go into the team box to escort players back to the field when they end up in the 
opponents’ bench.  (GB #6. DBM, E., pg. 11)

9. A 3
rd
/4 from the +8 YL.  A34 runs a sweep wide near the SL, the LJ moves to the +4 YL immediately 

after the snap and stops.  As the play continues that way the LJ holds the +4 YL but continues to just 

back up.  Ruling – Correct.  In this situation TFM takes priority over GLM and the LOS 
official should be at the LTG but ready to move to the GL, if required.  You should never 
“open the door” in TFM or GLM; simply back up.  (GB #33. TFM, A/B, pg. 24)

OHSAA Regulations

10.  Prior to a JH/MS game the officials asked both HC’s if they wanted to punt, one coach did not want to 

and the other coach did.  So as a result, the officials allowed one team to punt and the other team to 

move the ball 35 yards on a 4
th
 down.  Ruling – Incorrect.  First, I’m not asking the coaches if 

they want to punt or not; they need to initiate that discussion.  Second, per the GB both 
teams must agree not to punt in order to move the ball on 4th down.  Last, if they both 
choose not to punt then I will ask what do they both want to do from the +40 YL, ½ the 
distance or the full 35 yards,.  I will let them make that agreement. (GB, 21, I, Bulletin – 
Week 1 #7)


