
  

	 	 					The	Whistle	 	 	
                             Quiz #3 – August 23, 2024 

                 Prepared By: Greg Bartemes in association with Beau Rugg and Bruce Maurer 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

NFHS Rules 
1. QB drops back to pass, the defensive pressure forces him to roll right beyond the boundary of the free 

blocking zone.  To conserve yardage, the QB throws the ball OOB but the pass is clearly thrown on A’s 
side of the down box.  The R throws a flag for illegal forward pass.  Before reporting the foul, the LJ 
approached the R and informed him the pass landed OOB but way beyond the down box.  With this 
information should the R pick up the flag and wave off the penalty?  Ruling – Yes, part of the 
exception with the pass reaching the neutral zone, includes the extension beyond the 
sideline.  (7-5-2d exception 2b) 
 

2. 4th/7 at A’s 33YL.  R51 attempts to leave the field before the snap but does not get off in time.  K23’s 
punt is fair caught by R24 at R’s 40 YL.  The HL threw a flag at the snap for illegal substitution.  The R 
felt the penalty met the 5 requirements of a PSK and administered the penalty as a PSK foul.  Ruling – 
Incorrect, PSK is a foul by R other than an illegal substitution or illegal participation foul 
which occurs at the snap.  Therefore, K has the option of accepting the penalty to make it 
4th/2 or declining the penalty. (2-16-2h)  
 

3. 1st/10 at A’s 42 YL.  After making a fair catch, A snaps the ball and runs for a 13-yard gain, the LJ 
throws a flag for illegal formation (5 in the backfield).  After penalty enforcement the R blows the RFP 
whistle but does not wind the GC as the down which is being replayed had the GC starting on the snap.  
Ruling – Incorrect, the action which caused the down to end did not also cause the GC to 
be stopped.  The GC should have started on the RFP whistle. (3-4-2b3) 
 

4. K80 punts on 4th/6.  R52 blocks K’s punt behind the NZ.  K42 scoops up the blocked punt and advances 
beyond the LTG.  The R signals first down, blows the RFP whistle and does not wind the GC.  Ruling – 
Correct, the GC shall start with the snap if the GC is stopped to award either team a new 
series following a legal kick. (3-4-3c, 3.4.3 Situation E)  
 

5. 3rd/6 at A’s 36 YL.  A24 runs the ball for a 4 yard gain, is hit and fumbles, B42 scoops up the fumble 
and advances 4 yards where he is hit and fumbles.  A16 recovers the ball.  So, what is the status of the 
next down?  1st or 4th down for A?  Status of the PC?  25 or 40?  Status of the GC?  Wind on the RFP or 
on the snap?  Ruling – The status of the next play should be 1st/10 for A.   The PC will  be set 
at 25 seconds.  The GC will start on the RFP whistle. (5-1-3d, 3-6-1a2, 3-4-2)  

  



  
6. During a try kick, K’s kick is blocked by RT at the LOS.  The blocked kick ricochets back to the kicker 

who catches it in the air.  The kicker takes off running around the right end and scores. The Crew 
awards a 2-point conversation.  Ruling – Incorrect, a try-kick ends when it is apparent the kick 
will not score. (8-3-2b) 
 

7. 4th/5 at B’s 9 YL with 3 seconds remaining in a game, B is winning 21-18.  A/K attempts a FG which is 
good and ties the game but B42 is flagged for roughing the kicker.  The R gives the following options 
to K’s HC -- remove the points, and accept the penalty and run an untimed down from B’s 4.5 YL for 
the win or decline the penalty and play OT.   Ruling – Incorrect, the option to remove the points 
and run an untimed down for the win was correct, but the R was incorrect in not allowing 
A/K to carry the penalty into OT.  Since there is a succeeding spot in OT this penalty is 
allowed to be carried over and enforced accordingly based on wither A/K ends up on 
offense or defense according to the OT coin toss. (8-4-3)  
 

OHSAA Mechanics 
8. With 1:55 left in the 2Q.  A is running a hurry up offense.   With the next down being 2nd/8 on B’s 42 

YL the U hurried and spotted the ball a ball-length off the actual spot.  The LJ blew his whistle to stop 
the GC, ran in and corrected the spot.  Ruling – Incorrect.  The GC becomes more important 
than the exact DBS, unless it is close to a first down during Hurry-up Offensive Mechanics.  
(#20 HUM, GB, pg. 15, C) 
 

9. 3rd/8 at B’s 33 YL.  QB A12 rolls right looking for a receiver when B72 tackles A12 from behind just as 
A12 was getting ready to throw a pass.  The ball goes forward but toward the sideline.  The LJ comes 
in signaling incomplete pass by blowing the whistle and S10.   Ruling – Incorrect, the R only 
makes the call on pass/fumble when the passer is hit while attempting to pass.  Now the R 
may ask the LJ for his/her point of view, but the call is the R’s only.   (#26 PM, GB pg. 18, 
C3) 
 

OHSAA Regulations 

10. During the pregame meeting with the game clock operators (GCO), the R instructed the GCO to put 23 
minutes on the GC for halftime.  He said that way we can just let it all run through to 0:00 & it will 
include the warmup as well & keeps me from having to wind you twice & you reset twice. Ruling – 
Incorrect, the 20 minutes for halftime and the 3 minutes for warmup must appear 
separately.  (GB Regulations, pg. 37, #11B) 


