
                  
 

Quiz #2- 2024                                                                                                                                               
Prepared by: Jerry Peters in association with                                                                                                       

Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer 
 

NFHS Rules 

1. K, 4/G @ R’s 9 YL. K lines up for a FGA. The holder muffs the snap and while attempting to regain possession of the 
ball on the ground K8 kicks the ball and it goes through the uprights. The BJ and U signal that the FGA is good. 
Ruling: Incorrect. This is an illegal kick by K8. The result of the play is a TB. Rule: 9-7-1 and case play 9-7-1 
Situation A. 

 
2. A10’s pass is intercepted by B34 inside B’s EZ. B34 is attempting to run out of his EZ when B81 is flagged for holding at 

B’s 4 YL. B34 is tackled in his EZ after the holding flag. The officials signal TB. The R announces that the penalty will be 
enforced half the distance from B’s 20 YL. Ruling: Incorrect. This is a TB. However, the basic spot is the 20 YL 
and B fouled behind the basic spot. Therefore, the penalty is enforced half the distance from the spot of 
the foul, which is B’s 4 YL. B, 1/10 @ B’s 2 YL. Rule 10-4-7 and Case play 10-4-6 Situation A.  
 

3. A57 receives a UNS foul after a play on the field for cursing at a B player in the 1Q. During the 3Q A57 is on the SL and 
starts yelling obscenities to B players on the field. The official throws a second UNS on A57. The officials DQ A57. The 
coach argues A57 was not a player during the second UNS, so it doesn’t count toward the DQ. Ruling: Correct by the 
officials. Where A 57 is located doesn’t matter. A57 has received his second UNS and is DQ’d. Rule 9-5-1-b 
and Case play 9.5 Situation. Rule 9-8-1 
 

4. K, 4/15 @ K’s 10 YL. K9 is set to receive a long snap on K’s 3 YL. After the snap B57 roughs A60 (snapper). The R 
throws a flag for roughing the snapper and signals AFD for K. Ruling: Incorrect. K is not in a legal scrimmage 
kick formation; therefore A60 is not afforded protection. Rule 9-4-6, 2-14-2b and case play 9.4.6 Situation D.  

 
5. A34 is running through the line and B58 comes up quickly and drives his facemask into A34’s chest. B58 simultaneously 

wraps his arms around A34 and takes him to the ground. No flag is thrown. Ruling: Incorrect. This is face tackling 
by B58, personal foul 15 yards. Rule: 9-4-3-i and Case play 9.4.3 Situation L. 
 

6. A is winning by 50 points in the 4Q. A scores another TD. A’s HC tells the officials he does not wish to run a PAT play. 
The officials tell him OK. Ruling: Incorrect. A must still attempt a play or at least snap the ball. Rule: 8-3-1 
and Case play 8.3.1 Situation. 

 
7. A, 3/8 @ A’s 40 YL. A12 is scrambling and throws a pass and accidentally hits ineligible A74 in the back with the ball. 

Eligible A80 is near the area where A74 is hit. The officials throw a flag for illegal touching. Ruling: Incorrect. It is 
not illegal touching if the ball accidentally strikes A74 in the back. Rule: 7-5-13 and case play 7.5.13 Situation 
A. 

 
                                                      OHSAA Mechanics 

 
8. After a fumble recovery by Team B the LJ signals TO (2X) and then signals the new direction (1X).  Ruling: 

Incorrect. Signal new direction first (2X) and then TO (2X). Reference: Gold Book #3-A, pg. 10.  
 

9. Long FGA. The kick is obviously going to be short of the GL and the BJ and U stay under the uprights and signal no good (2X) 
when the ball hits inside the RT’s 5 YL. Ruling: Incorrect. When the kick is obviously going to be short of the GL the 
BJ and U should hustle to the GL and rule if/when kick breaks the GL. If the FGA then rolls across the GL the BJ 
and U will then signal No Score & TB.  Reference: Gold Book #8-C-4, pg. 12 



 
                                             OHSAA Regulations 

 
10. Week 4, VT HC is using a drone to record game footage. The officials tell the VT HC they can use a drone, but it cannot 

be flown over the officials on the field. Ruling: Incorrect. Officials have no jurisdiction on drones during the 
regular season. Gold Book: #6-A, pg. 36. 


