
                  
 

Quiz #2- 2025                                                                                                                                              
Prepared by: Jerry Peters in association with                                                                                                       

Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer 
 

NFHS Rules 

1. A Scrimmage Kick (SK) by K12 is partially blocked in the NZ by R56. The SK goes beyond the NZ where R80 is trying to 
gain possession but muffs the ball back behind the NZ. K34 picks up the ball behind the NZ and advances for a TD. 
Ruling: Correct. K34 picked up the ball behind the NZ. The muff by R80 is not possession so the SK had 
not ended. The spot where the recovery happened is the only thing that matters. Rule: 6-2-3 and Case play 
6.2.3 Sit. A. 

2. FG attempt. R88 is standing in R’s EZ near the EL. R88 jumps into the air and blocks the FGA knocking it down and 
falling in the EZ. Ruling: Touchback. Rule 6-3-1 and Case play 6.3.1 Sit. B. 

3. K14’s punt is partially blocked behind the NZ by R53. It travels airborne beyond the NZ. R65 is in position to catch the 
ball but the ball touches K55’s helmet first. R61 recovers the ball. Ruling: R 53’s touching is ignored. Since R65 
was in position to catch the ball it is KCI by K55. Rule 6-5-6 and Case play 6.5.6 Sit. A. 

4. After a high punt R32 catches the ball, runs 2 yards, stops, and gives a FC signal. The crew calls this an invalid FC 
signal and enforces the foul as a PSK foul. Ruling: Incorrect. This is an illegal FC signal. The foul occurred after 
the kick had ended (possession) therefore it cannot be a PSK foul. Rule 2-9-4, 6-5-8 and Case play 6.5.8 Sit. A. 

5. R87 and R80 are back to catch a punt. R80 catches a punt and starts to advance. After R80 starts to advance, R87 
gives a fair catch signal and R players stop playing around him. The BJ throws a flag for illegal fair catch signal. 
Ruling: This is not a foul. Only the runner can give an illegal fair catch signal. Play should continue. Rule: 
6-5-8 and 6.5.8 Sit B. 

6. K10’s punt is low and hits K60 in the shoulder in the NZ. The ball is blown dead and first touching is signaled by the U.  
Ruling: Incorrect. This touching of the punt is ignored as it occurred in the NZ. Rule: 6-2-6 

7. R81 and R83 are back to receive a punt. The kick is high. R81 gives a proper fair catch signal, yet R83 catches the ball 
and is immediately hit by K25. The BJ throws a flag for KCI on K25. Ruling: Incorrect! Once R83 catches the ball 
it is dead, and the BJ needs to blow his/her whistle. However, R83 is not afforded protection (unless a 
defensive player foul is ruled) as R81 was the player who signaled for the fair catch. Rule 6-5-3; Rule 9-4. 

 
                                                      OHSAA Mechanics 

 
8. When any A/K player goes OOB without being blocked OOB during a live ball play the covering official should drop 

his/her BB where the player went OOB. Ruling: Incorrect. The covering official should drop their hat, not their 
BB. Reference: Gold Book #19-A, pg. 16 

9. During a measurement, the R should face the PB to decide. Ruling: Correct. Reference: Gold Book #22-A, pg. 17 
 
 
                                             OHSAA Regulations 

 
10. The HT requests the halftime be extended to 25 minutes instead of 20 minutes. The R tells them this is fine. Ruling: 

Incorrect. Halftime is NOT extended at the HT’s re quest. Gold Book: #11-B, pg. 40 


