The Whistle

Quiz #3 — August 22, 2025

Prepared By: Greg Bartemes in association with Beau Rugg and Bruce Maurer

NFHS Rules

4™/9 on K’s 49YL. R22 makes a fair catch signal while the punt is in the air. The kick goes over his/her head,
lands on the - 8YL and is rolling toward the GL. R22 blocks K81 to prevent them from downing the ball near the
GL. The BJ flags R22 for illegal block. R22 recovers the punt. The crew administered the foul from the previous
spot since it is a loose ball foul and awarded K a 1%t down at R’s 36YL. Ruling — Incorrect, this is a PSK foul
and should be administered from the end of the kick. (10-4-3, 2-162h, 6.5.1 situation A)

4%/9 on K’s 49YL. R22 makes a fair catch signal while the punt is in the air. R22 muffs the ball into the air
where K81 pushes R22 in an attempt to reach the ball, R22 is able to catch and secure the muff in the air. The
BJ flags K81 for KCI, explaining to the coach the kick had not ended by rule when K81 made contact. Ruling —
Incorrect, the contact on R22 is legal because K81 may retain possession following the muff by
R22. (6-5-6 pg. 60, 6.5.2 situation A)

Home team just scored, losing by 4 points with 1:50 left in the game. Everyone is expecting on onside kick. K13
kicks the ball in the air from the middle of the field toward their SL and over the heads of R’s front line. K82 runs
under the ball, jumps and bats the ball back allowing K42 to recover. The crew awarded K the ball explaining to
the coach the kick crossed R’s FK line when it was touched. Ruling — Incorrect, this is KCI and illegal
batting. K cannot touch a free kick in flight prior to it touching a receiver and no player shall bat a
loose ball other than a pass or fumble in flight or to block a scrimmage kick. R would likely decline
the 10yd penalty for illegal batting and accept the 15yd KCI penalty either from the spot of the foul
or from the previous spot & rekick. (6-5-6, 9-7-2)

4%/7 from K’s 12YL. At the snap K is flagged for 5 players in the backfield-illegal formation. K47’s punt is
partially blocked and recovered by R on K’s 9YL. The crew administered the penalty half the distance to the goal,
1%/goal R from the 412YL. Ruling — Correct, the basic spot may be the succeeding spot for fouls by K
during a legal free or scrimmage kick when K will not be next to put the ball in play. (10-4-2
exception)

With 1:32 remaining in the game and A winning 21-20. A32 runs off tackle and B51 is flagged for a 15 yard
facemask. After the play A32 taunts B51 and is flagged for UNS. Does rule 3-4-7 apply in this situation when you
have a foul by both teams? Ruling — Yes, first both fouls are administered separately and in order of
occurrence since one is LB and the other DB. A is given the choice of starting the GC on the snap
and if they decline, which they likely will, then B is given the option of starting the GC on the snap,
which they will likely do since they are trailing. (10-1-3, 3-4-7, 3.4.7 situation C)

With 1:32 remaining in the game and B is winning 21-20. A12 is running the hurry up offense, muffs the snap,
picks up the ball and spikes it to stop the clock. The R flags A12 for illegal forward pass, enforced the 5yd
penalty and loss of down from the spot of the foul. HC for B asked for the status of the GC and the R stated it
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will start on the snap per rule 3-4-3e. Ruling — the R is correct that the GC is stopped and will be started
on the snap for an illegal forward incomplete pass but on this play Conserve/Consume rule 3-4-6
should take precedent. B can be given the choice to start the GC on the snap per rule 3-4-7 but that
is unlikely since they are winning the game. (3-4-6, 3-4-3e¢, 3-4-7, 3.4.7 situation A play c)

After administering a penalty for a 15t down and 24 secs left in the first half, A informs the officials they will let
the live clock run out by taking a knee. Everyone is informed of the situation; the R blows the RFP and winds the
clock. The clock operator does not start the clock right away and with 3 seconds remaining the HC for B calls
TO; the clock operator does not stop the clock and allows it to run to 0:00. The LJ informs the R they had a 4 sec
count prior to the clock operator starting the clock after the RFP whistle. What are your options in this situation?
Ruling — This can be a confusing mess especially if A is leaving the field thinking it is halftime. The
option, which should have been used, is to shut the play down, correct the GC to 20 secs, blow the
RFP whistle and wind the game clock making sure it now starts on time. Your other option, per the
rules, would be to inform the HC that a 4 sec correction will be made per rule, so for them to receive
a TO the request must be made prior to the 4 sec mark. Per rule 3-4-8 the window of opportunity to
correct the error, which is prior to the second live ball following the error, is still available. (3-4-8)

OHSAA Mechanics

A runs the option and is disciplined with this type of offense. A12 fakes the inside run and sweeps
right with A32 in position for the pitch. They run 3 yds beyond the LOS maintaining the formation with
A12 finally pitching back to A32. The LJ tosses a bean bag marking the YL for the backward pass.
Ruling — Correct mechanics, one of our requirements to toss a BB is on a backward passes
beyond the NZ. (#2 BBM, GB pg. 11, A)

15t/10 A on their own 3YL. The ball placement is close to the middle of the field. The crew lines up in
GLM being inside the 5YL. Ruling — Incorrect, Reverse Mechanics (RM) require different IP’s
than GLM. HL/LJ: 10 YDS wider than A players; always outside the Numbers, if A is near
the SL then OOB. (#30 RM, GB pg. 23, B4)

OHSAA Regulations

Prior to a JV game both coaches asked the officials if the 40/25 play clock can be used so their players
and the clock operator can “get practice for Friday nights”. Ruling — Incorrect, the 40/25 second
PC will NOT be used for sub varsity games. (GB Regulations, pg. 41, #21B)



