The Whistle

Quiz #6 — September 12, 2025

Prepared By: Greg Bartemes in association with Beau Rugg and Bruce Maurer

NFHS Rules

. A’s QB lines up under center for the first play of the game, the U notices the QB has a mouthpiece wedged in the
top bars of their facemask and one strapped to the bottom bar and in his mouth. The U stops play and informs
the QB to go to the SL for 1 play and remove the second mouthpiece. The R stepped in and said if the 2 were
not both dangling from the bottom of their facemask the one wedged in the top bar is OK. Ruling —

Incorrect, rule 1-5-1d5 states a single tooth and mouth protector, a second mouthpiece is legal
equipment improperly worn. (1-5-1d5, Simplified & Illustrated p. 39)

. 4th/12, K81's punt downfield is muffed by R32 and recovered by K65 resulting in 1st/10 for K. What is the status
of the play clock, 25 or 40? What is the status of the game clock, starts on the ready or snap?

Ruling — The PC should be set to 25 sec. and started on the ready. The GC will start on the snap.
(3-4-3c, 3-6-1a1f, 3.4.3 situation E)

K84's FK goes OOB at R's 12YL. R’s HC chooses the 35YL to start a new series with placement of the ball in the
middle. The U denies the request and spots the ball on the nearest HM to the OOB spot Ruling — Correct, this
is not one of the 7 situations which allows A to designate the spot to put the ball in play. The
inbounds spot is the intersection of the hash marks and the YL when a loose ball goes OOB.
(2-41-4b, 4-3-6, 6-1-9)

. After a COP punt, A took the field and lined up in formation while B stayed huddled on their SL. The wing
informed B's HC they need to take the field as no TO has been called. The HC ignored the warning and after
continued warnings the R blew the RFP whistle. B’s HC immediately called TO and strongly suggested there is a
1 minute intermission after a COP. Ruling —The Rule Book only allows a 1 minute intermission during
the dead ball between 1st/2nd and 3rd/4th periods, following a Try, a successful field goal or safety
and the succeeding KO and during a charged TO by either team. Officials, especially the Wings,
need to be vigilant during this DB period to be fair to both teams while keeping the game moving
along per the rules. (Table 3-1 p.42, 3-5-7I)

. 4t/8 at K's 48YL. The snap goes over the punter K32's head. K32 scoops up the ball and scrambles around the

left end where he/she is tackled by the face mask at K's 43YL. The Crew administered the foul from the end of
the run, 1st/10 at R's 42YL. Ruling — Incorrect, the basic spot is the previous spot for a foul by A or B



when the related run ends behind the LOS with no COP and the foul occurs behind the LOS. The
correct administration should be 1/10 on R’s 37YL (10-4-2d, Table 10-4, p.83)

6. 3rd/8 from A's 30YL. A23 is running a sweep around the left side where B54 grabs he/she by the facemask and
swings A23 around. Two officials throw flags as A23 maintains his/her balance and ran around the right side for
a 70 Yd TD run. The R informed A's HC to keep the points they need to decline the penalty. Ruling —
Incorrect, if an opponent of the scoring team commits a foul during a down in which a TD is scored,
A may accept the results of the play and choose enforcement of the penalty A) on the Try; or B) on
the subsequent KO. (8-2-2)

7. A breaks the huddle on a 3rd/15 and lines up with A2 as the snapper and the entire line in two-point stances. QB
A12 yells shift, the entire right side shifts to the left of snapper A2. A's line L to R is as follows; left end A81, A77,
A67, A64, A51, A78, A2. A2 was set to snap the ball back to A12 sideways when the B’s HC called TO. A) Was
A's formation legal? B) Was A’s shift legal? C) Can A2 snap the ball sideways and not through their legs? D) Is
A2 an eligible receiver? Ruling — A) A’s formation was legal since they were not in scrimmage kick
formation; if in scrimmage kick formation A2 would have to be between the ends on 1st,2nd gr 3rd
down (7-2-5b exception); B) A's shift was legal since no A player placed a hand on or near the
ground (7-1-7c); C) A can snap sideways if their feet are behind the NZ and no part of their person,
other than a hand is beyond the foremost point of the ball AND their shoulders are approximately
parallel to the opponents GL (7-1-1, 2-32-14) D). In this formation A2 is eligible both by position
and number. (7-5-6a)

OHSAA Mechanics

8. 4th/2, Team A runs the ball up the middle, at the whistle both LJ and HL pinch in mirroring at spot close to a 1st
down on a grass field. The LJ informs the R we should measure so the U tosses the ball to LOS official closest to
the end of the run to spot the ball at his/her feet for an accurate measurement. Ruling — Incorrect, the U
needs to hustle to that LOS official and hand him/her the ball for the spot. After the measurement
bring the ball back to the spot where the run ended as the new spot will be a 1st down one way or
the other. (GB, #11, FDM, D, pg. 14)

9. 4th/2, Team A runs the ball up the middle, at the whistle both L3 and HL pinch in mirroring at spot one yard
beyond a 1st down. The LJ signals the R 1st down so the R signals 1st down to the PB 2X using signal #8.
Ruling — Incorrect, R signals (signal #8) ASAP 1X only, no “chopping”. (GB, #32 SIM, M, pg. 24)

OHSAA Regulations

10. After a Safety in a JV game, which both teams chose not to free kick, K's HC asked if they can kick this time. The
crew informed that once the game started without kicks the game must continue under that format. The crew
spotted the ball on K's/B’s 45 YL which is 25 yds from K’s original FK line, the 20 YL. Ruling — Correct and
Incorrect, once the game starts with no FK’s, it must continue with that format. The spot after a



safety is the 50 YL and not the same distance as the standard FK starting spot. (OHSAA FB
Regulations, 21D, pg. 41)



