
        

 

 

 

Rules 
 

1. 4/7 K36 YL - K punts on fourth down. R39 catches the punt on the R26. He reverses field 
and R58 has a BIB foul on the R20. During the return, K58 commits a live-ball, five-yard 
face mask foul and K63 commits a tripping foul. R29 is downed on the R48. What are the 
options? Ruling: As per Rule 10-2-2, on a play where there is a change of possession 
with no PSK foul (which we do not have here because R’s foul is after the kick ends), 
the team may retain possession if it declines the opponent’s foul(s). If R declines the K 
fouls, K can then accept the R foul for BIB and start the series from its 10YL. OR, if the 
team does not wish to start on its own 10, they can accept one of the K fouls, creating a 
double foul, which will force a replay of the down. 
 

2. 4/9 K34 YL - K is in scrimmage kick formation but has five players in the backfield. K’s 
short punt is caught by R88 as a fair catch at the R41 YL. The officials offer R’s HC the 
opportunity to re-kick following a five yard penalty, which R declines due to the short 
punt. Ruling: Incorrect. The HC should have had the option to re-kick after a five yard 
penalty or have it enforced from the fair catch spot. Rule 10-4-2 Exception states that 
the basic spot may, at the option of the offended team, be the succeeding spot for fouls 
by K during a legal free or scrimmage kick down (other than KCI) prior to the end of the 
kick when K will not be the next to put the ball in play. (either/or hopper) 
 

3. 4/12 K26 YL - K is in scrimmage kick formation. K’s punt is long and goes over the 
returner’s head and is rolling free when K44 tackles R35 in an attempt to keep him/her 
from reaching the loose ball. R29 eventually recovers the ball at the R17 YL. The 
officials offer R’s HC the chance to re-kick after a 10 yard holding penalty or start its 
series 1/10 at the R27 YL.  Ruling: Correct. Rule 10-4-2 Exception states that the basic 
spot may, at the option of the offended team, be the succeeding spot for fouls by K 
during a legal free or scrimmage kick down (other than KCI) prior to the end of the kick 
with K will not be the next to put the ball in play. 

4. 3/3 B39 YL, Tie game, final play of Q4. A’s pass into the EZ is incomplete. A85 
repeatedly makes a gesture of pulling the flag from the belt, yelling for a foul. A85 is 
assessed a penalty for UNS. At the coin toss prior to OT, officials indicate that the 15 
yard foul against A will be enforced on the first play of OT.  Ruling: Correct. Remember 
that the spot that OT starts from is the succeeding spot from regulation play. Rule 10-4-
5a states that a UNS foul carries succeeding spot enforcement. GB P. 36 
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5. 1/10 B28 YL– A84 and A87 are running pass routes. A84 crosses in front of and makes 
contact with the defender covering A87 at the B23 YL, knocking him down. A87 then 
catches the ball and is tackled at the B19. The officials correctly call OPI and mark the 
15 yard penalty from the spot of the foul, making it 1/20 at the B38. Ruling: Incorrect.  All 
action prior to and during a legal pass is considered part of the pass play, which is a 
loose ball play, which means that the penalty is enforced from the previous spot. Table 
7-5 in the Rule Book reinforces that the correct result should be A, 1/25 from B43 YL. 

6. 1/10 A35 YL – A32 runs from scrimmage and is tackled after a 12 yard gain. A4 holds the 
defensive back at the A40 YL. The officials enforce the penalty from the spot of the foul, 
using the ‘beyond/beyond’ concept. Ruling: Correct. Rule 10-4-4e states that 
enforcement is the spot of the foul for runs that end beyond the line of scrimmage and 
the foul occurs past the line of scrimmage but behind the end of the run. 

7. 3/10 B27 YL – A12 completes a pass to A16 at the B1 YL. In trying to make the tackle, 
B42 contacts A16 with his helmet in the chest, drawing a penalty for illegal helmet 
contact. A16 recovers after the contact and scores a touchdown. The officials rule the A 
must decline the illegal helmet contact penalty to keep the score. Ruling: Incorrect. Rule 
8-2-2 states that if the opponent of the scoring team commits a foul (other than UNS or a 
nonplayer foul) during a play when a touchdown is scored and there was not a change 
in possession during the down, A may accept the results of the play and choose 
enforcement on the Try or the subsequent kickoff.  (either/or “hopper”) 

Mechanics 
8. 3/4 on A19 YL– A17 throws a backward pass from the A12 toward his wide receiver. The 

CJ throws a bean bag from the spot of the pass in case of a foul. Ruling: Incorrect. GB, 
P. 11, # 2A states that no bean bags should be thrown on interceptions or backward 
passes behind the neutral zone. 

 
9. 2/G on B7 YL – On a play starting from the seven-yard line, the U lines up eight yards off 

of the LOS instead of the seven yards that is his customary IP.  Ruling: Correct. GB, P. 
18, # 18, C2 says that the U should never start a play on the GL. Standing on the GL 
could block the vision of the Wings from seeing down the goal line on a close play. 

 
Regulations 

 
10. 4/8 on K15 YL – K wants to bring in a ‘kicking ball’ for a field goal attempt. Ruling – 

Denied. Rule 1-3-2 states that each team may use any approved ball for a free kick or to 
start a new series of downs. Any official may order the ball to be changed between 
downs.  


