PARISH OF SANDERSTEAD

VESTRY/ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

SUNDAY 22nd APRIL 2018

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

Note: the Impending Creation of the Parish of St Mary's, Sanderstead

The independent parish of St Mary's, Sanderstead, will be created within a very short time, following the end, on 3rd April, of the consultation period set by the Church Commissioners. However, as the existing Parish of Sanderstead is the legal entity in existence at the date of the Vestry Meeting (formally the "Meeting of Parishioners"), it was thought prudent to carry out the election of churchwardens at this meeting. There was not thought to be any requirement to note St Mary's elections to Deanery Synod and its new PCC, as is the practice for the churches in the on-going Parish of Sanderstead.

VESTRY MEETING

The following nominations have been received for the eight churchwarden posts: All Saints': Lynne Davison, Kevin Wright St Antony's: Linda Etheridge, Barbara Webster-Dudley St Edmund's: Gill Pates, Chris Babbs St Mary's: Deborah Rastall, Sylvia Keats

ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

Elections for Deanery, Synod, PCC and DCCs are now held at Church Annual General Meetings. Under current arrangements, one third of the elected members of PCC and DCCs retire each year. Synod representatives are elected for three year terms and an election was held in 2017. Elections may also be held to fill vacancies during the three year period.

In addition to these regular elections, AGMs may hold elections to fill vacancies arising for other reasons.

For convenience, a complete list of those elected, or continuing to serve, is set out below.

Members of Diocesan Synod are ex officio members of the relevant Deanery Synod/PCC/DCC. In our case Rosemary Kempsell was elected to Southwark Diocesan Synod in July 2015, and is consequently an ex officio member of Croydon South Deanery Synod, Sanderstead PCC & All Saints' DCC. Deanery Synods have to hold new elections to Diocesan Synod by 15th July 2018.

Deanery Synod members are ex officio members of their respective PCC and DCC. PCC members are ex officio members of their respective DCC. Churchwardens are ex officio members of PCC and of their respective DCC.

Readers are ex officio members of their respective DCC. There is also provision for a representative of the Readers to sit on PCC; this position is currently vacant.

DEANERY SYNOD

All Saints': Rosemary Kempsell (initially ex officio as member of Diocesan Synod, and then elected as a representative of All Saints' on completion of her term), Indrani Balachandran, Veronica de Grasse-Grant, Kevin Wright, two vacancies St Antony's: Linda Etheridge, Jeremy Dearden St Edmund's: Chris Babbs, Richard Wragg

ELECTED MEMBERS OF PCC

All Saints': Susan E Thomas, Piers Hubbard, Marc Smith, Michael Rowland (all continue)

St Antony's: Two vacancies

St Edmund's: Two vacancies

ELECTED MEMBERS OF DCCs

All Saints': Michael Turner, Katheryn Hewitt, Judith Robinson, Michael Fixter, Anne Rowland, Robin Gordon (all continue) St Antony's: Helen Howe, Sarah Deacon, Gill Tobin (continue), three vacancies St Edmund's: Liz Lomax, Don Hodgson, Kathleen Davies, Peter Banks (continue), two vacancies

CJB PCC Sec March/April 2018