



Swedish born Lars Skylling was fused to skiing long before emigrating to America. He had already served with the crack Swedish Army Mountain Troops.

Arriving on U.S. shores in 1955, Lars was soon drafted into the United States Army and returned to Europe. His job was to teach American troops in Germany the fine points of Alpine Skiing as a member of the army's Search and Rescue Mountain Unit. Today, Lars Skylling is a familiar figure at Pennsylvania's Seven Springs Mountain Resort where he finally retired from a lifelong career in the ski industry. His work on the snow began at Big Bromley in Vermont where he received his PSIA certification. While in Vermont, Lars' love of skiing grew and his contributions to PSIA helped enhance their programs and earned him an honorary lifetime membership gold card.

In 1960, he was asked to apply for the Director of Ski School position at Seven Springs. After two seasons of skiing there, he advanced to become Construction Superintendent at a resort in the midst of explosive growth. Lars was now an all-season employee. He played a major role in Seven Springs evolution to the status of a premier resort. He was an early advocate for the legendary Herman Dupre's new snow making equipment and was instrumental in raising the first CTEC lift in the United States.

Lars Skylling's interest extended into Ski Racing. He was a motivating figure in the organization of the Western Pennsylvania Race Club and worked tirelessly with local Pittsburgh area ski clubs. The WPRC recognized him with an annual race - the "Lars Skylling Classic." He became known as an avid cheerleader for the skiing lifestyle, giving speeches, sitting for interviews on TV and radio and working the ski show circuit. In 1979 he became the Director of Skiing Operations at Seven Springs. The Dupre family honored him by naming a ski slope and chairlift after him. Lars retired from Seven Springs in 1997 after 36 years of dedicated service.

His work and dedication have earned him a place in the Pennsylvania SnowSports Hall of Fame – Class of 2012.

