## MINUTES OF MEETING

## ST JOHNS COUNTY CIVIC ASSOCIATION ROUNDTABLE MEETING; Nov 12, 2018 TIME; 9:00 AM TO 11:00 AM Location:

**LOCATION**; St Augustine Airport Conference Center

## **READING AND APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING**

Motion to approve Bob Olsen, Second Mary Saunders

**FINANCIAL REPORT** 

Treasure Reports Balance of \$430.00

PROGRAM SPEAKER

**GAYE JONES** 

ART BREAKERS

Gaye Jones has been a member of the Art Breakers non-profit 501-C-3 association since its creation in 2007. Inspired by the original founders, Pier Fitts and Linda Brandt, The name Art Breakers represents "artists for the fight against cancer". The organization has been helping cancer patients with financial support for those costs not covered by insurance. For example a rent payment, a utility bill payment, assisting with transportation to doctor's appointments, grocery bills etc.. Besides the difficulty of dealing with the disease, the everyday costs of living can become overwhelming for a patient who is unable to earn a living while undergoing treatment. 88% of money raised goes directly to patients.

Contributions can be made by contacting;

info@artbreakers.org

or calling

## 907-599-2551

In other business;

- 1.The Chair, Rick Lofgren, requested that anyone interested in a position on the Board of the Roundtable to let him know.
- 2. A discussion was held with regard to re-developing committees, such as financial, water/conservation, zoning/development, police/fire services, etc. in the 2019. There seems to be considerable interest, further discussion will be held at next meeting.
  - 3. A recommendation was made to send an Open Letter to the Record to see if it would encourage additional membership from other communities.

Meeting adjourned at 11:00 am

The next meeting of the roundtable will be Monday, December 10, 2018, with

Guest speaker
Michael Wanchick
St. Johns County Administrator,

Roundtable monthly meetings begin at 9:00 a.m. in the St. Augustine Airport Conference Center, 4730 Casa Cola Way every second Monday of the month. All meetings are open to the public who are encouraged to attend and participate.

Officers:

Rick Lofgren, President, Tony Bosco, Vice President Dennis Frio, Secretary Mary Saunders, Treasurer

Respectfully submitted; Tony Bosco