ST JOHNS COUNTY CIVIC ROUNDTABLE June 11, 2018

9:00am – President Lofgren opened the meeting at the St Johns County Emergency Management Center.

Treasurer's Report – The current balance is \$697.18

Secretary's Report - The minutes of the May meeting were approved as read.

President Lofgren introduced Linda Stoughton, the Director of Emergency Management for St Johns County. Director Stoughton has been an St Johns County employee since 1985 in several positions prior to her current post. A graduate of Flagler college, Ms. Stoughton was selected 2017 Emergency Manager of the year by the Florida State Emergency Preparedness Association.

Prior to being given a tour of the high tech facility, Linda went over the challenge the county faced in dealing with back to back years with severe hurricanes. Matthew and Irma respectively dealt severe flooding and damage to the St Johns County area. The rapidly growing population of the county included many citizens with no prior experience in responding to a hurricane. During Hurricane Irma over 3 million Florida residents evacuated their homes that were not directed to do so.

This increased traffic considerably, but still effective evacuation occurred.

The tour of the facility was very interesting with banks of phones and computers clustered together to allow various the agencies involved in emergency management to coordinate their activities. A staff of five runs the center during normal times but can expand to 200 during an emergency. The strongly built building is fully self contained and can operate for at least 30 days without outside supplies. It contains conference rooms, sleeping quarters, cafeteria and a small medical facility. Large screens on the walls provide a constant update on the emergency and steps taken to deal with the challenge. The facility is truly remarkable and adds significantly to the safe management of emergencies in St Johns County.

Due to the unusual location and the facility tour, the usual roundtable discussion was not available.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dennis Froio, Secretary