AGENDA ARK-TEX COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING July 29, 2024 1:00 PM

Webinar/Conference Call Meeting

Use the following information to register for the meeting:

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZMlc-6rgD0uH9d3rZAJ8aACUgeOALS3NJOF

If you experience issues while registering or do not have access to a computer, please contact Marla Matthews no less than two (2) workdays prior to the meeting at 903.255.3555 or mmatthews@atcog.org.

- Item 1. Call to order.
- Item 2. Review and consider approval of minutes dated June 13, 2023. (See page 2)
- Item 3. Discussion/action on the recommendation of appointing the Executive Committee members, Executive Committee Officers, and subcommittee members (Page 4; To be presented by Mary Beth Rudel, Executive Director)

Item 4. Adjourn.

Pursuant to the Texas Open Meeting Act, Government Code Chapter 551 one or more of the above items may be considered in executive session closed to the public, including but not limited to consultation with attorney pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.071 and Section 551.074 arising out of the attorney's ethical duty to advise ATCOG concerning legal issues arising from an agenda item. Any decision held on such matter will be taken or conducted in open session following the conclusion of the executive session.

Persons with disabilities who plan to attend this meeting and who may need auxiliary aids or services are requested to contact Administration at 903-832-8636 two (2) work days prior to the meeting so that appropriate arrangements can be made.

All agendas are sent electronically and available at www.atcog.org. Should any Board Member need a copy printed and available at the meeting, please call 903.255.3555 or email mmatthews@atcog.or.

MINUTES ARK-TEX COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING June 13, 2023

The Ark-Tex Council of Governments (ATCOG) Nominating Committee met at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 13, 2023, via teleconference/webinar.

- Item 1. Bobby Howell, Judge, Bowie County, called the meeting to order.
- Item 2. The first order of business was to review and consider the approval of minutes dated March 23, 2023.

Motion to approve was made by Ann Rushing, Mayor, City of Clarksville, and seconded by Robert Newsom, Judge, Hopkins County. It was approved.

- Item 3. Chris Brown, Executive Director, presented for discussion and approval of a recommendation for appointing Board members to the Executive Committee.
 - Mr. Brown confirmed that Kent Cooper, Judge, Titus County, was appointed by County Commissioners to serve on the ATCOG Board of Directors.

Mayor Rushing made a motion to recommend the following Board member be appointed to the ATCOG Executive Committee:

• Kent Cooper, Judge, Titus County

Judge Newsom seconded the motion. It was approved.

Mr. Brown stated that the Executive Committee has a total of twenty-three (23) positions available with the following current vacancies:

- City Rep, Cass County
- City Rep, Delta County
- City Rep, Franklin County
- · City Rep, Morris County
- City Rep, Lamar County
- City Rep, Titus County
- Judge, Miller County
- City Rep, Miller County
- Rep, of a Community College/School District or a rep of NET Resource, Conservation, and Development Area District

Item 4. With no further business to discuss, Judge Newsom made a motion to adjourn, and Mayor Rushing seconded the motion. It was approved. The meeting was adjourned.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT Bobby Howell, Judge, Bowie County

Bobby Howell, Judge, Bowie County Robert Newsom, Judge, Hopkins County Ann Rushing, Mayor, City of Clarksville

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Chris Brown, Executive Director Mary Beth Rudel, Deputy Director Marla Matthews, Executive Assistant

	Bobby Howell, President
	Board of Directors
	Ark-Tex Council of Governments
ST:	

ATCOG Executive Committee		
	Current Representative	Proposed Representative
Bowie County	Bobby Howell	
City	Marc Reiter	
Cass County	Travis Ransom	
City	vacant	
Delta County	Tanner Crutcher	
City	vacant	
Franklin County	Scott Lee	
City	vacant	
Hopkins County	Robert Newsom	
City	John Sellers	
Lamar County	Brandon Bell	
City	vacant	
Miller County	vacant	
City	vacant	
Morris County	Doug Reeder	
City	vacant	
Red River County	Robert Bridges	
City	Ann Rushing	
Titus County	Kent Cooper	
City	vacant	
City Titus County	Ann Rushing Kent Cooper vacant	
College or School District		T
Special District	Stan Wyatt	
Authority	Scott Norton	
Associate Member	Cook Notion	_

ATCOG Executive Committee Officers		
Position	Current Officer	Proposed Officer
President	Bobby Howell	
Vice President	Scott Norton	
Treasurer	Scott Lee	
Secretary	Travis Ransom	

ATCOG Audit Committee		
Position	Current Member	Proposed Member
Chair	Bobby Howell	
Vice Chair	Scott Norton	
	Travis Ransom	
	Brandon Bell	
	Scott Lee	

ATCOG Budget/Personnel Committee		
Position	Current Member	Proposed Member
Chair	Bobby Howell	
	Doug Reeder	
	Robert Newsom	
	Ann Rushing	
	Stan Wyatt	

ATCOG Nominating Committee		
Position	Current Member	Proposed Member
Chair	Bobby Howell	
Vice Chair	Scott Norton	
	Robert Newsom	
	Ann Rushing	
	Doug Reeder	
	Scott Lee	

ATCOG Retirement Plan Trustees Committee		
Position	Current Member	Proposed Member
Chair	Bobby Howell	
Vice Chair	Scott Norton	
	Robert Newsom	
	Stan Wyatt	
	Mary Beth Rudel	permanent
	Leslie McBride	permanent
	Karon Khan	voted on by staff
	vacant	voted on by staff